Backcountry Wallowas hike : short photo log

in #travel6 years ago

Getting out there in the wild

I thought I'd show ya'll a few photos of my hike last week in the Wallowas of eastern Oregon, where a friend and I went to look at plants and get some time off grid to collect our thoughts about the coming year. The Wallowas are a mountain range that traditionally is Nez Perce territory, also important to other native folks in the area. They are super rugged and remote and if you see anyone out there, they are likely on horseback or packing with goats. I used an app called HUJI on my phone to capture the trip from the lens of an 'old throw away camera,' hence the random light leaks and sometimes interesting colors.

2018-08-30 12:46:59.697.jpg

me! out there.

2018-08-30 11:21:36.324.jpg

(rabbitbrush, mugwort, yarrow)

2018-08-29 14:13:11.636.jpg

Our walking sticks by a bridge over Eagle Creek. We followed the Main Eagle trail up about 4 miles or so for the first night and camped by a creek in an open meadow surrounded by Spruce trees.

2018-08-30 12:46:21.979.jpg

The next day, we walked up a more rugged side trail to get to a high elevation lake, and camp. The view kept getting more epic as we went up, as did the plant life. The bottom part of the valley actually felt colder, even though it was more protected, from the dew settling down there. The area up to the lake was more exposed and more alpine-like, but actually was a perfect temperature during the day and night. We didn't get any rain, either. I went swimming in the creek and the lake.

2018-08-30 12:11:00.270.jpg

Blue Spruce by our first campsite. I collected some and then made a cordial with brown sugar and vodka back at camp. I love conifer medicine!

2018-08-31 07:30:40.550.jpg

View across the lake where we camped the second night. It was amazing. I camped here last year when I did a walking artist residency with an organization called "Signal Fire." It was nice to go back in a slightly different season.

2018-08-30 15:57:44.518.jpg

Erin at camp with our cooking gear out. We had so many dehydrated vegetables, fruits and even meats that we could have been out there a week!

2018-08-31 12:48:35.455.jpg
Gentian, the plant used in a lot of traditional bitters recipes, was in full bloom up at the high elevation meadow, by the alpine lake we camped along. They are so beautiful.

2018-08-31 12:48:49.398.jpg
Wild onions going to seed. We ate some with our dinner one night. I collected seeds from plants that had gone to seed and sent some to my land capsule patrons on patreon ( http://www.patreon.com/ofsedgeandsalt ) where I send some packages every month from the road.

2018-08-30 19:10:37.049.jpg

taking in a place by drawing and painting- i do this sometimes. It really helps me focus on observing plants, the land and place.

2018-08-31 12:49:59.470.jpg

some kind of plant in the heath (blueberry) family from up by the lake, not sure which!

2018-08-30 15:57:53.923.jpg

When I get a chance, I'll be posting a more extensive photo log of our trip on my blog ( http://www.ofsedgeandsalt.com) where I'll put together a plant list, too. I have over 75 photos from the hike. I usually like to use my fancy DSLR camera but I didn't want to carry it into the woods with me this time. It weighs a lot! I have also worked with film in the past, and a lot this summer, but didn't feel compelled to carry that heavy thing out there. I carried art supplies and books, and extra food instead..

Sort:  

That's awesome. It has been a long time I haven't picked up my tent and give it some use... You're making my camping bug start to itch! :-D

Great post, thanks for all this information and great photos!

PS: I've found your post after @zorank suggested it on his entry for The Pay It Forward Contest

thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I hope you get out there camping sometime! It's got to be one of my favorite activities.

From the photos alone, I can say that was an exciting adventure. Aren't there any wild animals that visited you during your camping?

I wonder what you are doing with the plants. You take them home for the back or front yard?

I came across your article through @zorank who featured it on his post as an entry to Pay It Forward Curation Contest. The contest is open to everyone so feel free to join us.

Hey- so I don't usually take many of the plants during my backpacking trips. I harvested some Osha, a few Spruce needles, and a couple small leaves for drawing or making prints later. Right now, I don't have a home or a yard, so I couldn't replant them even if I wanted to!

Oh, I see. They are for art. That is good. Maybe you can also post those arts here. 😊

Maybe I will sometime!!! I'll have to gather the best ones. :)

That sounds exciting! :)

Hola @ofsedgeandsalt! bellas fotos, te felicito, llegue a tu post por @zorank, te presento en su entrada al concurso, Pay it Forward Curation Contest, estas invitado a participar.

looks and sounds like a really awesome trip @ofsedgeandsalt

it was indeed!!!

Dropping by and supporting your post @ofsedgeandsalt, due to the entry of it, by @zorank, into our Pay It Forward Community's weekly curation contest. As part of the @pifc community, we would encourage you to check into it.

With very limited time, I wanted to be sure and take the first step in showing support, prior to the expiration of Steem’s 7-day limit for payouts. As time allows, I will try to get back to provide you more personalized input into what you have written.

Thank you for your effort here to add value to our Steem blockchain!

thanks so much for stopping by and checking out my work!

Had the opportunity to drop in briefly again this evening @ofsedgeandsalt. I really enjoyed reading through this post. I am familiar with the Eagle Cap wilderness a little bit. I actually was with family on Wallowa Lake earlier this summer. Many years ago, I traveled around on the other side of the mountains through Halfway and that to be a very interesting place to live.

I admire the skill you have obviously developed in identifying and making good use of many of the plants you found. As a youth, I earned Scouting merit badges for doing something along the same line, but you are far more advanced.

Until we "meet" again, all the best to you and yours. Keep up the great work!

Hi, @ofsedgeandsalt as you know @zorank featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

Very nicely combined post with pictures. It seemed you had a nice time. I have been wanting to have a weekend or even an overnight trip like that for a while now, just to recharge the batteries. Looks like you really enjoyed yourselves. Nice write up of the greenery around the area. Keep up the great work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58