Exploring Japan - A Look Around the Grounds of Ninna-ji Temple in Kyoto

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

temple12.jpg

Today I wanted to highlight some more photos from inside the grounds of Ninna-ji Temple situated on the south side of Kyoto. Previously I highlighted the Ninna-ji Temple Garden, a garden I thought was really worth visiting as it's both peaceful and spacious. The temple grounds themselves are really nice too and, in my opinion, highly underrated. I'm glad another commenter also agreed with me in the previous post I wrote, so I will showcase some photos of the main structures scattered around the property here on Steemit.

I suppose one of the main buildings that people want to see is the five storied pagoda that sits on the right side of the grounds. Most of the buildings here at Ninna-ji date back to the Edo period, which means early 1600's, so compared to other buildings in Kyoto they are not that old. Saying that, I think they are all built very sympathetically and work well as a grouping. You can walk around the grounds in a loop and see everything as you walk in a circular fashion, but I do reccomend viewing the garden first as this is the special part of this temple. Later you can take a great picture looking back towards the front gate if you're interested in that kind of thing.

As a fan of architecture I always look at these wooden temples to see what modern elements exist and if I can see any references to modern architecture now. I suppose that's partly due to the fact that I know architects of the past, Le Corbusier etc, took elements of traditional Japanese architecture and created a whole new modern style. Open plan and using the geometry of traditional tatami mats, so it's interesting to discover any other elements that might exist. I hope you like these photos and will check out Ninna-ji in more detail if you're ever in Kyoto.

temple8.jpg

temple1.jpg

temple6.jpg

temple7.jpg

temple5.jpg

temple10.jpg

temple9.jpg

temple11.jpg

temple13.jpg

temple15.jpg

temple14.jpg

temple2.jpg


More from my Travels:

Exploring Japan - A Visit to the Kyoto Concert Hall
Exploring Japan - A Walk Through Toji Market in Kyoto
Exploring Japan - Tadao Ando's Garden of Fine Arts in Kyoto
Exploring Japan - A Visit to Kyoto Botanical Gardens
Exploring Japan - Yuzuruha Shrine in Kobe
Exploring Japan - A Visit to Kosetsu Museum of Art Garden
Exploring Darwin - A Trip to Crocodylus Park


All photos captured by Mark Robinson.

Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-japan-a-look-around-the-grounds-of-ninna-ji-temple-in-kyoto


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This temple is beautiful! It was for sure a good inspiration for you. Nice shots!

Looks absolutely beautiful. I'm planning a trip to Japan in the coming years and may need to incorporate this into my travels

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93