Pioneertown, CA: Old West Experience

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

A couple of days after Christmas we took a drive to 29 Palms, California to visit my Great Aunt and family. While we were there, it was suggested that we all drive out to Pioneertown for a day out. I had never heard of it, but was certainly down for some local entertainment.

z4t1i0ahla.jpg

We filled up a few cars and headed down there. To start with, I thought that Pioneertown was some kind of shop or something, but it is an actual small town here in California.

y8sqc634ib.jpg

The bizarre thing about it is that the whole of the town seems to be a street with mostly tourist shops made out like the 1800s and then some random houses right there on the tourist strip. Here is the Wikipedia entry for it.

zpmr8rhvqg.jpg

Check out this sign that was posted along the road which pretty much explains it all:

ic7efprdrm.jpg

Apparently this mock old west town was used in the filming of quite a few Western movies back in the old days. It certainly does feel like you are going back in time!

c612xm0fh6.jpg

I mean, let's be honest. How many of you can honestly say that you knew that cactuses wore sunglasses back then. Not I!

kbhysgt3ie.jpg

I must be pretty gullible because I actually expected to see snakes inside of this barrel. But to be fair, the sign was not lying:

iv0ragzzv8.jpg

They have some animals that you can feed as well as pet. They were super cute and friendly. The kids were having a great time. This one particular kid was really making me laugh because he kept calling this one goat a weird dog.

58zc28pkik.jpg

I love how he just hangs out on the chair. He never moved a muscle the entire time I was there. Great acting skills, I suppose.

9ra1h204u0.jpg

I especially love that little guy above. He was super sweet. He would stand on his hind legs and take a piece of food from your hand.

pbn5icfh2g.jpg

They have a pretty good sense of humor at this place. The Town Haul is always occupied, though.

77igylmlq2.jpg

I had the guy in here cracking up. I was complaining because they advertise used cows but didn't have any in stock. His excuse for leaving the sign up was that if they take it down, it leaves an empty space on the wall.

zpmr8rhvqg.jpg

There are a lot of random old timey items decorating the landscape such as this coal car.

9srt60h7et.jpg

Bonus: 100% up-vote to the first person who can tell me very specifically what the below object is:

2t0xv4037v.jpg

We looked at it for a while but couldn't work it out. It seems to be some kind of press, but I have no idea for what! That platform on top was throwing me off.

nkhdkng1ra.jpg

My father-in-law was sure having a great time. I love that he has pretty much zero inhibition.

ghgisiddd8.jpg

76xkorvi9i.jpg

The above photo is me with my Great Aunt. She is turning 88 soon and still very active! She was having a great time.

cssqjzo6rf.jpg

There are so many bizarre looking mechanical contraptions in this place. This looks like some kind of ancient drill press. I've never seen anything like it.

iotznjkd7q.jpg

Oh, there are also selling really old rusted metal things for like $5 apiece. I don't know why I didn't buy the whole stock.

gdbkhhip2d.jpg

8gjtypp4fx.jpg

At the end of the road is the old Sheriff's station. You couldn't go inside but you could peak through the window. I couldn't really get a good picture, but it was kind of silly inside anyway. They had a tiny little caged area made of re-bar that could apparently fit one prisoner. It was mas more prop looking that some of the other stuff.

At the very end of the road, which you can see behind the Sheriff sign, is the famous OK Corral.

k1zmf2dh1g.jpg

The sign is quite faded but you can still just make out the letters OK CORRAL:

qool614rat.jpg

pbcn00acxz.jpg

The writing is also on the building next to the sign. The names of lots of famous people are stamped into the fence inside of the corral.

0d28nw3l7m.jpg

09ql47il0m.jpg

It seems that you can't really make out the names from the photos that I took, but there are a lot of them.

One day I'd like to go back on a Saturday. Apparently they do shows; like shootouts or something. Looks like fun! Overall I'd say if ever passing through the area it is a great place to stop for a break and look around.

Also, the restaurant there is fantastic! In fact, I am going to do a separate review post about it.

gcjc84aqv1.jpg

Y'all come back now, ya hear? We'll keep them lights on fer ya!

Sort:  

Oh not a Chariot it looks more like this🤔...😃

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah! That is definitely it. The one in my photo is also partially buried so you can't see the pedals at the bottom. Since my VP is recharging, I will give you 2 100% up-votes. :)

Ahhh Great!!!😁😃

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought the same thing, old printing press.

You are clever👍😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I love your great aunt!💖😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Isn't she awesome? I really love talking with her.

The town looks like a fun place to visit. My guess for the contraption is a printing press for wanted posters, but it looks like a pizza making machine.....lol Hope you have a prosperous new year.

You get a 100% vote for guessing printing press! I gave it to @jenina619 as well for finding the exact model. lol! Have a great New Year yourself!

It reminds me of Tombstone in AZ. It's been years since I visited it, but I see the similarities. They have mock up gunfights there too, it's all a bit cheesy, but it is the real place where the gunfight happened.

Yeah, there were no real gun fights happening in this place. Actually I haven't stopped in Tombstone while going through AZ. I shall have to remember that one!

There was a place like this in Seneca Kansas, not exactly a tourist location so it didn't fare as well. I never even went to it despite driving past it for years. These places are a lot of fun (to me) and it looked like you had some good weather. Looks like a win to me !

Yeah, this place was surprisingly packed for being so far out in the middle of nowhere. The scenery was really awesome and the people were really nice. Great day!

What a great place to visit ! :D A piece of old America, so to speak? :> So cool!

The baby rattlers actually made me laugh out loud XD

And your great aunt is AWESOME <3 Still up and about at 88 ! An inspiration to us all <3

A really wonderful post, @nuthman ! Very enjoyable !

Hehe, thanks! Yeah I got a good laugh with the rattlers. And my aunt is quite a trooper! Thanks for your comments. :)

What a fun place. It definitely has the California vibe. Take a look at @socalsteemit. They love this type of post.

The thing you are wondering about is an old timey satellite dish (for reals).

hehe ancient aliens satellite dish. Thanks for the visit! I'll check out @socalsteemit!

It looks like Pioneertown was fated to be an iconic place. Your photographs transmit very well the old western vibe, it's as if the town was frozen in time. What a lovely day you and your family must have had! Thanks for sharing and congrats on the Curie upvote.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@ Zoe Anavid#9686). This personal addition to my article can be of great value.

You can check out a previous Author Showcase I wrote to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.

Zoe (@curie curator)

Hey, thanks! You could say something like:

Rick Nuthman is a software developer, art enthusiast, audio engineer and frequent traveler who loves blogging about his adventures. He is currently living in Los Angeles, California.

That looks enough old stuff.
5$ per piece ,,you didnt buy anything.
By the way thank you for putting stuff for us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, it was all a bit overpriced. haha! I don't need any rusted metal in my house.

Very beautiful pictures man! I just amazed while seeing 3 downvotes on this post. How can someone downvote a curie awarded post 🙆

stay well and keep posting!

congratz for the curie!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, those down votes are from a person that I flagged on steemflagrewards. I guess they are retaliating. Oh well. They are down voting my comments as well.

I think you should report it to steemcleaners ! This is disgusting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, the person has really low SP on all of his accounts, so the flags are no big deal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32