You Can't Leave Saigon Without Seeing This

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

"I've got an idea! Let's go to a really boring, ugly coffee shop and spend the entire day there!" -said no one ever.

People like fun things. They like pretty things. If you need proof, just read this really old but funny post I stumbled upon the other day by @trafalgar.

Sorry you had to find out that you're shallow this way. And all you were trying to do was just innocently browse steemit.

I would like to say that I gracefully came across the post, but I definitely stumbled upon it like the clumsy buffoon that I am, tripping over everything in my path. I'm so clumsy, that I even trip over things in my virtual path, like blog posts. I'm proud to say that I have the ability to do this completely sober.

Anyway.

Another cool thing I stumbled upon was this NOT boring apartment-complex-turned-tons of coffee shops-mango dessert place-restaurant-dance club place.

And since it wasn't a boring, ugly coffee shop, I went inside and explored the whole thing.

It kind of reminds me of something you'd see in Portland, Oregon. In Portland, there's an old elementary school and each room is now a restaurant or bar or spa or hotel room.

I LOVE the idea of giving something a unique purpose.

Plus if it's raining outside, you can just go to the next place without going outside and melting or whatever.

Here's the view from across the street. Seeing it, I almost felt like I was in the states again (minus the Emirates sign).

Okay, that was fun. Now forget looking across the street. Time to go inside.

I told my friends to go down there and pose for the picture. Jk. How cute… you thought I suddenly had friends!

Looks like somebody worked hard at making an anti-boring hallway between cafes and restaurants! Good job!

Hallways are cool. I wonder what one of the cafes is like inside!

The first place I went into was a donut shop called Dosh. I haven't eaten a donut in years...

...but I mean, I'd do it for the steemit post.

Especially this one, because it has a syringe in it and it has matcha green tea, which is an anti-oxidant, which officially makes this donut healthy, right? Doctors and nurses use syringes, so it HAS to be good for you.

See this picture? --->

No?

Of course you don't, because there's no donut to photograph anymore. I gobbled it up!

After gobbling the donut like a baby t-rex dinosaur, I found a cool mirror on the balcony at Dosh.

"Mirror, mirror on the wall, who's the fairest fattest of them all?" - Me

"You are, if you keep eating donuts like that. They're not healthy, okay? So stop trying to convince people that they are!" - Mirror

"" - Me

If you want to see the rest of this place, you're going to have to go to the city with an apparent identity crisis and two names, Ho Chi Minh/Saigon, and see it for yourself. I can't just hand everything over to you on a silver platter.

Also, I have to go exercise, anyway. I can't continue to sit on the computer and post about apartment cafes after the mirror just called me a fatty like that!

So, time to go bust a really bad dance move!

<3, @nomadicsoul

Sort:  

Man that’s one insensitive mirror! I’ll tell you one thing you have the anti boring thing down to a science!! Can we see more dance blog posts??

Haha I know, right? When the mirror said that I was just like

And yes, definitely more dancing soon!

Got me laughing all the way! I love those halls as well! I love to see what's inside to! That doughnut looks yum but not much of matcha fan so am not sure if I like it.

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

20 SBD Up For Grabs in the TF Cup! - learn more about the contest here 👈

I think the best of all from this post is the dancing in the end. It is not even a contest. Saigon tour was nice but the happy dance, in the end, takes the cake. lolol :)

The second has to be the mirror talk. We all do it.. lol And, yes, donuts are incredibly healthy to you says the bad mirror. lol

Thank you for the laugh, have an amazing day, :)

haha thank you! Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for coming by and commenting!

You are more than welcome. :)

That was one of the first things we did arrive - We peeked in so many different coffee shops in that building OMG and the stares we got from people in return. I found it also hilarious that they charged for using the elevator. So we walked all the way up!

Oh man I didn't even try to use the elevator, so I didn't notice! I always walk if I can. That IS hilarious though! Kind of like some places charge to use the toilet, or just for toilet paper depending on the country. Sometimes you can get out of it if you bring your own lol

i love your moves. specially the hand moving at last moments seems like poke to someone ;) . and i like to taste the coco matcha

Miss @nomadicsoul, wearer of mismatched socks (shouldn't that just be 'odd socks' - is there a difference?). I'd like to try those donuts and check out this hangout. Last time I was in Saigon I don't think those skyscrapers were quite built yet either....
Love the dance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43