Don't Forget To Bring This With You If You Plan On Living Overseas

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Packing to travel somewhere for a week and packing to travel somewhere for 8 months are two totally different things. Am-I-riigght??

But packing for a super long trip doesn’t have to be scary (am I the only one who gets scared of baggage?)

No matter how much you start to overanalyze and worry that you won’t be able to find something, I’m telling you, you can find almost anything you need while traveling (unless you plan on living in the Amazon jungle for a month).

If you're not planning on living on the jungle, most of your fears are just illogical scarcity thoughts that cause you to WAY overpack in your feeble attempts to be prepared. But it's just FOMO.

Kick FOMO in the butt.

Trust me.

If you’re going for long-term travel, your baggage will weigh you down emotionally and literally. You’ll get stressed out because of it.

Plus, not to mention, if you pack too much, then there’s…dun dun dun…

...The dreaded baggage fees!


Source

My attempt at packing lightly for this Asia trip still failed because turns out, even though AirAsia has the standard 21-inch bag is allowed to be carried on rule...I didn't know about the 7kg weight limit rule!!!

I weighed my suitcase, and even though it's 20 inches or something, the empty suitcase itself weighs 6 kgs!

No way could I EVER get by without paying the baggage fee. Well, okay, I maybe got by ONCE. But I was wearing almost everything I owned and next time I'll take a picture for evidence.

I have a hiking backpack but talked myself out of bringing it for some reason. Guess I thought the suitcase would be easier since I'm basing up at places for a minimum of a month at a time.

Well, if you're debating and you're going to fly low budget airlines, just take the backpack if your back can handle it. Or, purchase the lightest weight suitcase you can find so that you save those precious kilograms.

Anyway, there are a FEW things that ARE hard to find while traveling. And that's not the fomo talking. This is real life.

So here's a list of things you should probably bring with you if you're staying somewhere for a long time.

Warning: This list is slightly biased towards girls because well... I've never traveled as a guy, before ;) Guys feel free to share your list!

1. Shower filter

This is because some places in Asia have hard water. Bali, hard as rocks. Hanoi- made my friend's scalp bleed. Trust me. You're going to want this with you in a bad way, ESPECIALLY if you're a girl with long hair. I didn't think about this before coming, and my hair was getting SO dry that a horse would confuse it for straw and start chomping on it if it saw me walking down the road.

The water will cause your hair to feel tangle into a knot the size of Mount Kilimanjaro. Your hair will fall out a lot. It will break off. Your skin will be dry. The chlorine in the water will cause health problems.

Heck, if you live in parts of the US and are having hair issues, check out what kind of water you have and think bout getting a filter!

You should get a a filter with Calcium sulfite (chlorine removal) KDF-55 (heavy metals and bacteria) AND activated carbon.

2. Shower filter replacement

For after 6 months when your filter needs replaced. Just like you would need to for a Brita or something.

3. Silicone/sulfate free hair products

This is especially for people with wavy hair like me. You probably know these things make your hair frizz and the tangles.

Also, do you know what porosity your hair is?!?? This is a whole different topic, but let's just say I wish I had even heard of this before I started traveling. I have low porosity, which means my hair doesn't absorb a lot of products without heat, and protein in hair products basically kills it.

Coconut oil is a no go, which makes sense. It didn't work that well for me anyway. Just saying, maybe bring some hair products. You can find some silicone/sulfate free stuff in Vietnam at the Lotte center.

You can also find some at Watsons in Kuala Lumpur. You also have more product choices in Singapore.

But if you're going to Bali for awhile without planning on leaving, stock up a little because I went to every store in Canggu and didn't find anything. A hair salon might have some overpriced stuff, but I'd rather just bring some extra at the beginning of the trip to last as long as possible.

4. Sunscreen

Everywhere I go, this shiz is expensive. Crazy prices like $20 USD for a small bottle. I bring extra of this with me because I'm a cheap-o and also very prone to sunburn.

5. Any special natural health supplements you take

I have a few supplements that I take which have REALLY helped with several things. I choose to bring them even though it's crazy. I can get most of them in Thailand if I need because there is a guy outside of Chiang Mai who imports my exact brand of supplements from the US, but you can bring some too if you think you'll need them.

Mine have helped keep me from getting sick a lot.

6. Clothes- But only if you're really tall or you're not an Asian size

I did see some big-sized shoes for women in Bali. I've heard tall people saying they have a hard time finding clothes that fit in Asia.

If you don't end up bringing everything you need, you can definitely get them made for cheap in Thailand and Vietnam!! Probably Bali, too, I'd bet. But for sure you can get them made for cheap in Warorot market in Chiang Mai, and also in Hanoi or Hoi An as well in Vietnam.

Plus you'd have the fun of designing them. You could get a casual dress for about $10-20 USD custom made, depending on what you want.

7. Cheap Waterproof Phone Case

This depends on where you're going. Going in and out of humidity can kill your phone. And buying a phone outside the US is typically way expensive. People are selling used iphone 7's for what could pay for an 8, for example.

So, you want to protect it as much as possible. If you're going to be living somewhere humid, or near an ocean, just go ahead and get it.

There are other options thatn Lifeproof so no, you don't have to spend $90 on a phone case. I got one for $15 that was highly rated on Amazon and has worked great.

Now I just need one for my computer because the humidity apparently made some stuff go bad. Luckily I could get it fixed in Hanoi, no problem (other than my wallet was a little sad).

If you're not sure if the country you're going to has what you need, check their local e-commerce site that everyone uses.

For example, you can go on lazada.vn to see if they sell what you're looking for in Vietnam!

Or lazada.co.id if you're shopping in Indonesia!

That's it. You can find pretty much anything else. Bug spray is easy to find in Asia. You can even get travel sizes of it for super cheap!!!

So much win.

For some reason, I assumed it would be difficult like it apparently was in Mexico way back when I had to paint weird designs on my bug bites.

What are some things YOU pack that you think you need to bring and are hard to find overseas?

Sort:  

Don't forget to check my blog for your Woman Crush Wednesday post, dedicated to you. 😂😂😂

Oh my goodness! I saw that actually and thought you re-steemed emjoes post because it had the same picture!!! Hahahaha so I didn't read it because I thought I already read it.

Oh my goodness, I can't believe this! haha wow!!!! I will read it now!

Hahahahaha don't worry about it dear. I am really glad you love it. Delights me to really hear that and see your amazing comment too. Wowed me. Thanks a lot, beautiful.

Will you please comment so I can upvote you! Sheesh!! What’s a guy gotta do to upvote someone around here :):)

haha me? on my own post?

My discord is 4703 Goldmatters :)

A passport and some nice tickets are always a good thing to bring, and without them it can be hard to travel (also a photo-copy of the passport some where in case your passport gets stolen)...


Also the charger of your laptop and phone, ipad (or whatever you use for your steeming) those things are easy to forget (when one is in a state of panic and heading/running for the airport or train station).

Other then that it is all depending on your trip, I never heard of a shower-filter before but that sounds convenient...

For a trip with camping involved: bungee-cord, string, head-light, camping-knife (don't put that last one in your hand-luggage).

If you are suffering from any medical condition like ADHD or epilepsy or a condition that requires "strong medication", bring papers from your doctor and such so you don't get arrested (it can happen) and also if you loose your medication having some kind of papers from your doctor should help you a bit if you have to obtain a new recipe (in most countries)... =/

Oh yeah, copies of passports are great! Good tips about the ADHD or epilepsy medication! I had actually heard that, and wouldn't have known if I hadn't read it on facebook or something.

I have ADHD but I don't take my meds...it lets the crazy come out more haha.

Good tips!

There might be a connection in between nomadic behaviour and ADHD? (there is no harm in bringing medical information just incase, maybe scanned documents uploaded somewhere could be a good idea).

Also if you want to get married, buy land or become citizen somewhere you should have your birth certificate with an "apostille"... It is this stamp you can get from your government to verify these documents...

Additional authentication required for international acceptance of notarized documents including (but not limited to) adoption papers, affidavits, birth certificates, contracts, death certificates, deeds, diplomas and degrees, divorce decrees, incorporation papers, marriage certificates, patent applications, powers of attorney, and school transcripts.

Read more: http://www.businessdictionary.com/definition/apostille.html

wow thanks for all of that info! Yeah, it probably does have something to do with the perpetual need to travel lol

Maybe, some people get sick if I they stay too long in the same place.

I would want to bring everything in the room to go with me... ideally speaking... :D

hahaha I wish I could be like Mary Poppins and pull everything I own out of a teeny tiny purse

That's exactly what I was thinking, but more like Hermione Granger's bag... lol

I feel these are nice tips for ladies. I have not tried traveling as a lady before 😁.

Meanwhile, I saw some nice tips in this:

But I was wearing almost everything I owned and next time I'll take a picture

Since one doesn't pay for body weight, I can easily wear all my clothes on me. 😀😁🙌

haha you do what you gotta do

That is why everyone hate flying with Air Asia.. Too much hassle and can be very expensive (financially & emotionally)

I think your title should emphasise more on Asia (specifically South East Asia).

As guys, we have less worry... just need money, time and trusted brand of condoms.. hahahahahahaha

haha yeah I wish vietjet flew everywhere around Asia!

haha yeah I wish vietjet flew everywhere around Asia!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wow really nice please give me a follow or upvote me... I've got stuff to help you

Congratulations @nomadicsoul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50