Trip up the Nile

in #travel7 years ago

This past Christmas in lieu of exchanging gifts we decided to take a vacation and cruise the Nile River in Egypt.

I looked into a number of cruise companies, and ultimately went with the Sonesta Cruise Company and was really happy. There were around 16 of us in the group and we went on the sailboat Dahabyia Amirat.

This is a picture of the boat that we took to get to our sailboat Dahabyia.

1.jpg

That little boat took us upstream to the Dahabyia shown below.

2.jpg

I love early mornings, and took a number of photos of the river. Below are a couple of pictures of the Nile at Sunrise from the boat.

3.jpg

4.jpg

We began our cruise in Luxor, and sailed up river with stops in Edfu, Komo Omo, and ending in Aswan. Then we took a bus ride down to Abu Simbel. I'll do individual posts for each of these stops later.

The food was terrific. They had a chef and team of servers. I suppose they would have cooked what ever we asked. But we ate mostly traditional Arabic food which was my preference. Here is a photo at dinner.

5.jpg

Since the dam was built in Aswan, all the crocodiles are now on the south side of the Aswan in the resevoir. There is a cruise that goes around the Aswan lake that looked interesting. You can’t swim in the water, and it takes you almost to the border with Sudan. It is probably good for animal watchers and relaxing on the boat.

6.jpg

Above is a picture of Aswan. There was a temple called Philae which I'll blog about later. I want to focus on the beauty of the river in this post. Aswan, is a bit more developed than Edfu or Komo Ombo. From a natural beauty standpoint, Aswan was my favorite. I was blown away at the beauty of this part of the Nile.

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

We came across this camel caravan and I had to take a picture.

11.jpg

Here I am in Aswan.

12.jpg

If I had to do it over again, I would have started in the south in Aswan, gone to Abu Simbel and then cruised north with the river. (As is widely known, the Nile river is a bit unique in that it flows south to north). This would have saved me a day on the river and given me more time in Luxor to explore. If you like to sun bath and watch birds then the extra day on the river might be up your alley. I will blog about Luxor next as this was a real highlight historically and I would have preferred to spend more time there.

I hope you enjoyed this post.

Sort:  

Great photos.

Hi @nikkistravels, I'm your @minnowmentor. It's nice to meet you.

So as this is only the second post you've made, I'm going to give you my feedback on this if that's ok.

Firstly, nice length. You've ovbiously put some thought into this and spent some time with it.

Kinda makes me want to go out on a boat trip down the Nile now!

So here's some stretches for you.

Firstly, who is "we"? I don't think it says anywhere who "we" are. Also, I'd be tempted to just consider your images a bit, as they are quite hard to see. Especially the one of you, which is just too far away. Maybe do a little bit of editing on your photos.

If you look at the really successful travel bloggers, such as @sweetsssj you'll notice that she is the centrepiece of the blog...it's all about her, and it really makes you want to sit across from her in some exotic land and have dinner with her. I'd really like to see YOU being the centrepiece of this. Tell us what inspired and led you there.

The other thing I would suggest to consider is a heading which invites us in. Maybe something which asks a question which you can only answer YES to....something like "Wouldn't you like to spend the day on the Nile too?"

Also consider your image sizes, as they are a little challenging to see the detail. It might be you need to use a graphics package to resize. And whilst we are on it, I really think it;s a good idea to get yourself a great avatar.

I think with a few of these things in here, you might increase your engagement.

If you want to have a chat, come along to the @minnowmentor discord channel where you will find me.

Looking forward to your next post.

Congratulations @nikkistravels! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52760.21
ETH 2328.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12