My love for Waterfalls - Exploring waterfalls of Hawaii

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171024_183649.jpg

Hello fellow steemians! This is officially my first travel post and I couldn't think of writing about anything better than waterfalls and my un-dying love for it. Ever since I was a kid, I used to go on day hikes with my dad to the countless waterfalls that resides in Hawaii. Ever since then, the thing I enjoy doing the most is go exploring a waterfall. Because after a treacherous hike once you reach the waterfall ad take a dip in the water, there's no feeling better.

IMG_20171024_174215.jpg

Known as the Garden Island for its lush tropical landscape, Kauai is also home to countless waterfalls that complement other spectacular sites around the island including Waimea Canyon and the Na Pali Coast. A few of these gorgeous falls are easy to get to, and others take a bit of effort to experience

IMG_20171024_174255.jpg

Here in this blog I am sharing about two of my favorite waterfalls.

  1. Waliua waterfalls

Wailua Falls, a double-tiered waterfall, is located just north of Lihue and is the most easily accessible on Kauai. Head north from Lihue on Highway 56 and take a left on Maalo Road in Hanamaulu. After traveling uphill for approximately 3 miles, the road ends at the parking lot of the falls. You may recognize the prestige of these falls as they were used in the opening credits of the 80’s hit show, Fantasy Island. This adventure is definitely recommended for families with small children as there is no hiking involved. The views are just a short walk from the parking lot

IMG_20171024_133338.jpg

  1. Hanakoa Waterfalls-

Being situated well into the Na Pali Coast, this impressive falls is nestled within one of the cathedral-like wrinkles in the mountains backing Hanakoa Valley at the half way point of the Kalalau Trail. In order to get all the way to Hanakoa Falls, I had to obtain a hiking permit (or a camping permit) because it required me to hike beyond Hanakapi'ai Beach. I managed to pick it up in person from the Department of Land and Agriculture building in Lihu'e.

I struggled big time with the day hike because it was brutally narrow, hilly, and slow. It was wrought with hazards such as the nearly constant long drop-offs on the makai side along with nearly constant slippery and narrow sections of track almost forcing me to scratch myself against some of the overgrowth protruding onto the trail. But once I reached the waterfall and took a dip, it was all worth it

IMG_20171024_133526.jpg

Here are couple of more pictures from a few other waterfalls

IMG_20171024_174325.jpg

IMG_20171024_174345.jpg

Follow on for more adventure. I hope you liked my first blog!

Sort:  

Nice place! i like it!

The place is so calming and relaxing. Perfect to spent some tranquil moment

That's what nature had to offer! Utter peace and tranquillity

You have to see the Venezuelan waterfalls

Wow I never seen as beautiful waterfalls as those this is really incredible and it makes me want to travel. Thank you ;)

I know. These waterfalls are so tempting right?

👀I enjoyed this post! ❤️ It was very interesting and new. Looks like your new like me and this platform is so COOL!😊 I also went ahead and Upvoted and Followed. Thanks!

Thank you. Followed back!

Gorgeous photographs and the waterfall is surreal. Thank you for sharing with us, I really wish to visit Hawaii someday!

Thank you so much. Please visit our country someday. You'll fall in love with it surely.

Such a wonderful blog. Following!

Thank you so much.

Stunning! I think you would enjoy Ban Gioc I just came back from there :)

Interesting, I never been to hawaii before, as it seems to be in the other side of the planet. I am from Malaysia, there are many waterfalls here. I think the climate is similar as Hawaii & Malaysia is located at the ecuator. Heres my post on one of the many waterfalls from Malaysia. Igo for hiking almost everyweek, if not twice a week. I shall have more posts about my adventures. Feel free to checkout my posts:
https://steemit.com/travel/@chrislo2004/chilling-waterfalls-kkb-malaysia

Those are some amazing pictures with so much detail. Thanks for sharing.

oh wow.. i can't help but be amazed by the beauty of the waterfalls. gorgeous photos too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58776.30
ETH 2576.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44