A Hike into some Silvery Waterfalls!

in #travel6 years ago

635488DE-6F36-4E3D-9D39-A33F115F2536.GIF

standing behind Middle North Falls and looking through the curtain of water falling above

This past weekend was one of the more enjoyable in awhile and one of the highlights was a gorgeous hike we took in what I call the land of the waterfalls. Silver Falls State Park has 9 miles of trails with 10 waterfalls. We didn’t arrive early enough to hike the whole distance and didn’t know which the best falls were so took our chances and chose our trails by their length.

This post isn’t a tour of the park, but rather some of my favorite moments from what turned out to be a really happy and memorable day.

For nearly a year Rob has been suggesting this park as a destination almost every time we consider where to go for a day hike and every time I say “weeeellllll, sometime, but not today, instead let’s go to…..”. I resisted it because I had the idea that it would be a disappointing place and too crowded to enjoy. Well, I was completely wrong!

IMG_2899.JPG
some tiny mushrooms and fern babies

Saturday was Rob’s birthday and his long time friend from college, an artist living and teaching in Chicago, came to visit for a few days. The day was mostly cloudy with a few rain showers here and there and we arrived city worn and a little hung over. As the day progressed we found ourselves feeling better and better and neither the damp weather nor the steep switchbacks thwarted our improving spirits. We happily huffed and puffed up the steep inclines to the tops of the falls breathing in the fresh cleansing air.

IMG_8407.JPG

The water had a kind of opalescent color that seemed to light up the whole place and made it feel like magic was all around and we were a part of it. For real. And the falls were so incredible. Yes they were beautiful but the feeling of them went beyond what met the eye. I hope some of that luminescence is captured in our photos.

01IMG_2898.JPG
Upper North Falls and me at the lower right

We first walked to Upper North Falls which could only be seen at a distance and the creek flowing from it was just as lovely as the falls.

IMG_8404.JPG
such a verdant place with all kinds of moss everywhere

Next we went to the North Falls which is very hard to show fully in photos because of the scale but I just had to try. This place had a huge and deep overhanging rock that created a very large area behind the falls. The trail goes behind the falls and underneath this huge rock and it is unlike anything I’ve ever seen nor heard. As I walked back there alone, it was deafeningly loud and I found my heart pounding in primal fear. I had to decide to breath, be in my body and to believe that the giant rock overhead wouldn’t fall and crush me like an ant!

I'm looking out from underneath that huge rock overhang here, color is true to life, no filters
IMG_8413.JPG

This waterfall is about 170 Ft tall even though it looks small here…again, the scale is tricky here! If you look across to the other side of the falls you can see a person which helps understand how enormous this place is.

IMG_8423.JPG

Lastly the 134 Ft Middle North Waterfall that we could also walk behind. It's much more of a lacy veil of water. Here I am standing on the trail behind the falls with the thin veil of the waterfall behind me. All of these photos were taken with an iphone and mostly without filters, isn't the color amazing?

last IMG_2902.JPG

As I looked down into the basin where the waterfall lands:
IMG_8436.JPG

Well, if you haven't gotten your fill of water falling from this post, you may just have to get out to your local waterfall since every state seems to have at least a few or even better, take a trip to Oregon where there are hundreds!

Thanks for reading and looking, I hope this gave you some refreshment!
Your support of my blog is instrumental in enabling me to keep making art, thank you!!

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

What a gorgeous place! I really enjoyed the photos, what beautiful waterfalls. I too have had similar experiences; putting off going to places, only to be surprised with how nice it is. Looks like Rob had a lovely birthday. Thanks for sharing Ruth! Have a great day! -Dan

Oh by the way.....I'm still meditating every day, often twice a day, and working yoga into the mix as well. :)

SO great about your meditation and yoga, good for you!!!
Thanks for taking a look at my adventure ...isn't it so funny how we resist doing things that turn out to be amazing! Where are you now? Actually I'll pop over to your blog and find out :-)

Yeah I'm looking forward to being a bit more outgoing, even with my travel lifestyle I can spend a whole day in my hotel room on the computer or just being kind of a homebody, even in a hotel!

So I'm in Ecuador and I've been catching up on all sorts of business. I spent two week in the states with family and I fell behind on many responsibilities. With my blog earning $$$ now. I've had to spend a lot of time learning crypto currencies and various ways to actually access my earnings. I am powering up and investing in steemit, but I also want to diversify my earnings as a form of protection and insurance. Never good to have all your eggs in once basket ;) Even though steemit is a great basket to carry your eggs in! :)

Besides that I've been working hard on posting, editing photos, and trying to get post backlogged so I can start traveling South America and still post (cut and paste) when I literally won't have time to write.

I really enjoyed your adventure. I've got an adventure post of my own coming out soon. Kayaking through caves in Krabi Thailand. Hope you are well! Have a great day! -Dan

Please share what you've learned about crypto (even if basic) in posts...people like me eat that stuff up! I"m learning and reading everything I can but have so little time for it. I agree that it's important to diversify but I haven't found any really safe ways to do so, then again I haven't done a whole lot of searching.

So great to get ahead with posting, I would like to do that too....all in good time, right?!

Glad you enjoyed my afternoon at Silver Falls, I do one of these adventure posts a few times a year. Can't wait to see your kayaking through caves in Thailand - THAT sounds amazing!
Be well!!

I've been hiding in my hotel room here in Guayaquil for about 3 weeks now! Just working on steemit, my blog, and studying crptos and more. So I'm giving myself two more weeks with a goal to back log 100 post. I litereally just went through 1000 photos in the last couple days editing them. If I can write 10 posts a day for 10 days. I'll be able to travel and still make money. Being very active on steemit and traveling is not so easy. I like to to take my time here and do quality work like the post you just saw of mine, and respond well to comments and build relationships we have. So one of those 100 post before I head south towoard Argentina will be about what I've learned regarding the cryptos like you suggest.

Here is a move I'm making for diversification you may want to consider.

https://goldsilver.com/storage/

I believe it's wise to hold 10-25% of your net worth in gold and silver as the US is over 20 trillion in debt.

Since I don't have a home to store it in. I can use this company with Brinks Vaults in Toronto and Singapore. They accept bitcoin too! and offer a 3% discount when you buy with bitcoin. They only chard $6 a month for every 10k of metal you have stored with them, and you can sell it back to them and liquidate anytime on line. So there is another tip for you. I'll let you know when my caving post is up and I'll be in touch -Dan :)

firstly 10 posts a day...wowsa, that's quite an accomplishment especially of good quality. I can imagine it's very hard to keep up wtih steemit on the road with spotty internet and being busy most of the day.

Great tips about gold-silver, and storage and purchasing with btc....will add to the stew of learning going on in my tired brain....best of luck with the posting and I look forward to what's to come!

Thank you so much Ruth. So far today I got one post done! And I posted it! lol A tour of the Basilica Church, I took a bunch of photos there, that Gothic Cathedral was huge!

So much for 10 posts! lol May have been wishingfull thinking. But I'll keep you posted if I ever accomplish that goal. Tomorrow I'm not even leaving my room. I'm just going to write ALL day!

But that's what I've been saying for the past week! lol However I have been keeping up with the meditation.

So glad I've been of help with the money tips. This being so new for I'm surprised how much I've learned so quickly myself.

Monday I'll try to have my Kayaking Cave Post up. Here is a photo from that. Have a great weekend Ruth! I'll be in-touch! -Dan

c44.jpg

wow what an amazing place!!
I'm not sure anyone can do 10 posts a day so don't beat yourself up over it ;-)

I love the silver falls waterfalls! :) I would highly recommend doing the full loop! :) I too only made it to the first couple on my first visit, but was motivated to go back earlier! It is quite a trek from Portland, so you've gotta get a pretty early start.. It is sooooo worth it though! The further your go on the trail, the less people are around and the more you can connect with the nature around :) the creek is absolutely beautiful and there is waterfall after waterfall! Looks like a great trip though!

Hi @nickh725, it's really great to know that the full loop is worthwhile and in fact a better experience! I can imagine it because it really is such a magical place.

Wow, you just popped my lil bubbles in the pond... big time! Lol This looks like an amazing adventure that I would love to go on some day. I wonder if Mick Dodge was in the area keeping his eye on you? I love that ol' man lol. I hope you know who I'm talking about. If not, here ya go https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mick_Dodge

Your bubbles were awesome! And this is also quite the hike, in fact so many part of Oregon are majestic and extraordinarily beautiful so it's hard not to be wowed.

I did not know of Mick Dodge! What a cool phenomenon he is and it makes sense he would inhabit the fertile and extraordinary Olympic Peninsula - that is the only N American rain forest and such an amazing place! Thanks for introducing me to him.

If you ever get a chance to watch any of his reality TV shows, it would be worth your time; he's a really funny guy!

I finally wrote about the incident that happened to me right after our conversation we had before Christmas. I told you I was a magnet for poo poo :)
https://steemit.com/story/@bluelightbandit/the-night-that-my-jacket-possibly-saved-my-life-a-true-story-by-bluelightbandit

Looks amazing! Waterfalls are wonderful elements when hiking:-)
Cool to be able to stand behind a waterfall, never been able to try that. I can see why you had a great weekend, your favourite moments looks very enjoyable!

thanks so much @kerlund74! I hadn't ever been behind a waterfall and then 2 in one day and 2 really special ones...I felt very lucky :-)

Fabulous place. Such a pristine and beautiful forest. These little mushrooms look just magical! And the entire place is impregnated with some kind of magic of nature. So it seems that there may suddenly appear forest fairies or elves. A nice walk. Your photos through the waterfall is very original and good. I've been enjoying your posts.

Thank you so much @anna-mi, I appreciate your support and comments! And yes, it was definitely fairy and elf country.

Awesome pix! I don't think I've ever seem mushrooms like that. What the heck are those?

I don't know either but they were very cool looking! thanks @tekewin

What a great way to spend the day! And you took some awesome shots along the way ;)

thanks @appiepearl, really fun day and much needed!

wow so awesome photography keep it up

Nice that you have shared your experience ! I have also nearly same waterfall experience.

Water is perfect traveller because when it travels it becomes the path.

True, we wind up following the water!

Beautiful photos of the waterfalls. I enjoyed your post.

thank you, glad to hear it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88