Positano, Italy: Renewing Our Vows in a Magical Land.

in #travel7 years ago

My wife and I will be celebrating our anniversary this month. I wanted to share our trip to Positano, Italy with you because it was probably the most unique place I've ever been. We were smart, in my opinion, and didn't sink tens of thousands of dollars into a "fairy tale" wedding when we got married. Instead, we saved up for a magical trip and renewed our vows four years later and did it like no other at a fraction of the cost.

Positano, Italy is located on the Amalfi Coast of Southern Italy. It is a hillside village which, you can see by the photos, all the houses, shops, and cafes are built into the hills. The streets are windy and narrow. Most of the city is accessible by a network of steep stairs. Our calves were huge by the end of the 10 day trip!

Every morning, we strolled into town and had a light breakfast with cappuccinos. It was amazing. The air was crisp and cool and intermittent clouds and sun. The people were very friendly and accommodating.

We decided on Positano because my wife's ancestors were from there. None of her family had been back in generations but she was always enchanted with this magical little city. It didn't take long until I was captured by it's breath taking beauty.

The food here is amazing. The seafood, caught fresh daily, was the best thing I've ever tasted. I wish I had pictures of the food, but they wouldn't do it justice. There is something about eating authentic Italian food that can't be replicated back in the United States. I think it's the one thing I miss the most.

Our photographer for our wedding was amazing. My wife found everything online and everyone was very professional. He had us walk through the city and didn't give us much direction. The entire day was amazing.

28477459205_bc59cf2d1b_o.jpg

The coast is wonderful. It's not sandy but instead covered in black rock. I would like to return when the weather was hot so that we could swim out into the water and really enjoy it.

28477485005_c15aa02f39_o.jpg

During our wedding photos, this really dark black cloud rode in which I thought looked amazing. I took it as a sign that despite the blackness in the world my wife and I would be a shining light in our families lives. It has held true for the last few years and I hope that it continues to do so.

28477341125_8fae7a66e9_o.jpg

We walked into the night and begin to get cheers from restaurant goers.

28476614585_5c862f0dda_o.jpg

I think I could retire here one day. The pace is super slow and everyone walks mostly. The shops are very small and quaint selling all sorts of goods. Everyone is friendly and I suppose if I learned how to speak Italian, I could fit right in.

28476645005_003cf57699_o.jpg
This is the view from our house. We found a very nice 2 bedroom "villa" on Airbnb which was more than enough room. We really enjoyed staying there. I like staying like a local rather than getting a hotel room.

28444002996_d11ebce90e_o.jpg
A flight of stairs we had to climb daily. Some were very very steep and we had to traverse several flights to make it all the way down. By the time you made it where you wanted to go, you were out of breath but happy to be there! The locals seemed to have no problem. I'm sure after years upon years of climbing the stairs, they become normal.

I hope you enjoy these pictures. If you've ever been to the Alalfi Coast, then you know how great this place is. I cannot wait to get back!

Sort:  

Enjoy your day mate.

Thanks for sharing your feelings with us.

Thanks for reading!

If you could please add a little bit, maybe a few travel guide tips, i could recommend you for a reward.

I appreciate that but that isn't my goal for this post. I wrote one about Lisbon, Portugal a few weeks ago. Feel free to check that one out.

I can submit only new post less than 24 hours old and maximum 52 reputation for curie reward. Happy anniversary. Maybe next time.

Awesome, I appreciate it!

I hope you will be still 52 reputation and i hope for a new awesome post.

Congratulations @narconaught! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @narconaught! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post needs to get way more votes and views! We went to Cinque Terra years ago and loved it there! We were on a little European trip and this brought back some great memories. Pistachio and Nutella flavored gelato, pesto pizza! Yum!! Great post! Love Positano - yes, the stairs are crazy. Aren't there a million feral cats around there too???

The gelato and pizza was crazy good! I forget the name of the shop, but there was one way down in the middle of the market area which had a huge glass window displaying all their goodies! We would go there everyday and just drool over all the pastries. I don't remember the cats, but it was cold so they may have been hiding.

The cats were mostly found on the trails in between the cities. Tons of them. People put a lot of food out for them...but that was...10 years ago. :) The pastries sound delicious!

what a wonderful and lovely way to renew your vows! amazing photos...


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


Thanks! I'm glad you think so!

Beautiful pictures! I really also like the one with the ocean and dark clouds in the background. Nice poetic interpretation too :). Congrats on ocd (where I came in from), best wishes on steemit!

thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90