Travel Diaries - #The Greenwich Meridian Line

in #travel6 years ago

I had studied about the The Greenwich Meridian Line in my school books and it was always something that interested me and wanted to see and experience what it would be like to be in this type of a place with so much significance to our world. When I was young there was no access to Internet and for me this seemed to be something of real fascination, so it was from that time that it had become one of the places to must see.

This sounds little geeky but when I was in school my favorite subject was Geography and if someone would ask me which are my favorite places to visit very instantly I would say Switzerland, Paris and London. To be very honest I never knew where on the map they were but it was like just that I wanted to be there some day and to my very good luck my first international trip was to Switzerland and London and then Paris happened much later. But the first trip happened within 2 years of me started working where in for 2 years I only saved money to visit to these places.

When I visited London for sure the Greenwich was something I did not want to miss and I did not. Then around 3 years back we again visited London with my Son and the Greenwich was on my list again as I was so excited to show this place to my son also.

The meridian line in Greenwich represents the Prime Meridian of the world, Longitude Zero (0° 0' 0"), the Line where the East meets West. The second time we visited we saw little changes in the place, there was a lot more beautification done but the other difference was the number of visitors. The place was crowded and there was an extraordinary long queue. There is a Royal Observatory also in this place. You can spend around half a day here, though for the Line there is nothing much to see but it is just about witnessing something significant.

You have to get this pose here :-)

The observatory is also interesting. These are few of the displays that got me attracted a lot.

Thank you for visiting my blog

My other blogs of Interest


EcoTrain QOTW - If I was to be elected as a president / prime minister of my country what would be the first executive orders I will make?
A collection of some of the Antic watches"
"The Impact of our Cell Phone use on Ourselves and Nature"

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

VOTE ENGINEWITTY FOR YOUR WITNESS


Enginewitty_1.gif

Sort:  

Such a cool place. Thanks for sharing your experience @nainaztengra

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

GMT the only thing I have learned while studying geography though not my favourite subject but was always wonders how it look like..and now you standing right over it.
For sure there would be greater beautification for attracting tourist....thanks for sharing GMT line with us...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @steemflow. Glad you liked it

good look, I can see this is new now, thanks for sharing, @nainaztengra,☺️

That's awesome :-)

You got a 75.83% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nainaztengra!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I remember going to see The Greenwich Meridian Line when I was at school. We went on a boat trip on Thames on the same trip ... I dropped my apple pie over the side accidentally 😃

Many, many thanks for your generous donation to A Dollar A Day.


The A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Dropping the apple pie makes you remember it clearly...hehehe.
You are most welcome for the donation and it's my duty 💚

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nainaz.tengra from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I never been in an observatory but I will be happy if I could spend some time into one @nainaztengra

May all your wishes come true my dear 💚

the place is worth of visiting by all means!
so happy family;) I like to look at your photos...so warm energy;)

Wow! That is the first time I've ever seen a picture of the Prime Meridian (or the monument to it, anyway). Maps, not so much geography, have been a fascination of mine for as long as I can remember. So much so that people bring me maps back when they go on vacation. You can see why a blog about the Prime Meridian delights me.

Also, your family is lovely :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61