myday #5 - I Climbed The Second Tallest Mountain in China with My Girlfriend and a Camera

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

China 055.jpg

I made it to the top!

Welcome to @myday!

Getting to the majestic Yellow Mountains in China was an adventure in itself. To get there Grace and I had to travel on a plane, followed by a long car journey and then a short bus trip. It was totally worth it in the end though!

For those who don't know the Yellow Mountains are always busy with tour groups. It can be quite difficult to find a spot of solitude with hundreds of people around you, but fortunately for us there weren't as many crazy people around at the time we went. A serious typhoon had just gone through the landscape and we knew we were going to get quite wet, but that didn't matter to us. The experience of climbing the mountains was all we wanted.

China 022.jpg

The never ending ride of the cable car

We were dropped off by a large coach bus at the bottom of the mountain next to the chairlift. Watching the cable car disappear into the clouds was quite exciting. We jumped onboard one of the capsules after purchasing a ticket and sat and observed the view from every direction until it became engulfed in cloud and thick fog.

China 024.jpg

Approaching the top in the cable car

China 025.jpg

Lone pines lined the edges of the cliffs

The first site we witnessed when we 'landed' at the top were the beautiful ancient pines dancing in the wind. Their thick roots anchored deep within the rock allowing them to almost leap from the cliff ever time the cold wind blew. Nature on the mountain was certainly graceful. I could really appreciate why Chinese artists had used these mountains in many of their famous paintings - the place was beautiful.

China 023.jpg

Entering the mountain

Moving on from the confines of the man made structure we started our trek along the neat mountain path. By now the chill of the cold wind was here to stay and fortunately at this point in time no rain had decided to leave the heavens. We had a two and a half hour journey up stairs with our luggage before we got to the hotel perched on a mountain top.

China 027.jpg

Our first long staircase with many more to come!

Walking with camera, three lenses, enough clothes for three days, wet weather gear, food and water was a bit tough at first, but in the end we got into a good walking rhythm and made some great time. Here a few shots from the walk.

China 026.jpg

The weathered rails had seen countless storms

China 044.jpg

The trees looked like they were straight out of a mystery novel

China 045.jpg

It was hard to see where the trees stopped and where the cliff ended

Arriving at the Jade Screen Hotel we were treated to the nearby site of the Greeting Guests Pine located on the east side of Jade Screen Peak. It was named Greeting Guests Pine because it looked like a host stretching out his arms welcoming people from China and abroad.

China 028.jpg

The famous Greeting Guests Pine

After unpacking our gear in the hotel and having a quick bite to eat we decided to walk some of the mountain to explore its surroundings. We had a number of days to explore so we decided to climb the tallest peak as we had plenty of energy.

China 029.jpg

A sign of someones love statement left on the mountain side

China 031.jpg

A tourist taking a quick shot of the view

At first we walked down hundreds of stairs for around an hour or so before we got to a building where we took a break from the wind. While resting before our next climb we notice a few older men, carrying weighted bags at the end of a bamboo pole on their shoulders. These men were strong - you could tell because their calves were bulging from carrying loads of food and rubbish up and down the mountain. The site of them made us feel weak and very unfit!

China 032.jpg

The strong porter carrying a heavy load

Climbing the next bit was certainly the most challenging. Fortunately we had a rope to hold on to because it really did feel like we were climbing a ladder vertically into the clouds. Each step was narrow and the designers of the track certainly didn't factor in my size 12 US shoes when they were carving the path. I had to walk like a crab up the side of the mountain for quite a bit so my shoes didn't slip on the slippery surface as falling at this point would have killed me.

While perched not even half way up the biggest elevation I looked back, zoomed in on my camera and took this shot. You can clearly see how far we walked as the hotel we were staying in was tucked away masterfully perched within the peaks of the mountain. It's just mind boggling to think they carried every part of the hotel up here!

China 035.jpg

A zoomed in look back to our hotel. If you look closely you can see all the stairs

We eventually pushed on and ended up at the highest peak of the Yellow Mountains. Unfortunately there wasn't a view to be seen as the clouds were still around, but that didn't stop me from pulling out my camera to photograph one of the world's most photographed trees.

China 056.jpg

The top of the mountain

Then we then did what every tourist had done before us and took a few selfies to mark the climbing accomplishment!

China 037.jpg

Grace

China 036.jpg

Myself and my girl

We eventually got back to our hotel just before dark and called it a night! The very next day we got up and went in the other direction, but that was another day you will have to wait for....

LeighandGrace002.png

I'm from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm exploring what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.

If you are interested in reading about myself and my beautiful partner Grace then have a read of myday #0 where everything is explained. If you enjoyed reading this post I welcome you to follow me. Drop me a comment I would love to hear from you.

Sort:  

This is a wonderful photo set. The misty fog makes everything look so magical. My favorite photo though is the one of the porter carrying his load. Very nice work.

Thank you @nathan. I was lucky to get that shot before he walked past. Glad you like it!

Followed & Upvoted
Follow back please :) and upvote one of my blogs thankyou ;)
@thecrytotrader

Really nice shots! I like your style. Followed! You can check out my travel photos as well, hope you enjoy them!

Thanks @flip-flops-only! I'll certainly check then out.

Whoa! Your monochrome post on the misty mountain amplifies its mystery and solitude even more! I really do love monochromes in such situation.
Never been to China, but this will definitely be one of the spots I will visit if I ever step my foot into the huge country.
upvoted!
ps: new Chinese character discovery posted today! :p @myday let me know what you think!

Thanks @littlenewthings. You are correct in saying it's a big country. I'm yet to explore much if it. I think the Yellow Mountains certainly fall into the bucket list of places to visit for many people. Definately recommended!

Very nice photos @myday. Many would forget their camera in the fog, but you have used it masterfully. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Wow, they are some kind words. Thank you @photo-trail. I originally shot the images in RAW with the aim to convert them into black and white. Glad I got them across the line :) Thanks for sharing.

Awesome post!!! Dropping a follow and look forward to reading more. We were in China about 4 years ago and couldn't believe the scenery out there. Unfortunately we didn't climb this mountain - looks like I will have to go back!

Thank you for those kind words @the-sassy-owl. I think you really have to live and travel in China to truly appreciate the place. Something I'm yet to do. I'm heading back there for Chinese New Year and I can't wait! Totally recommend you visit the Yellow Mountains on your next trip!

Beautiful and mystical! Love your photography! Upvoted. Mind checking my intro too?

Thank you @snailpath. I'll check out your intro for sure.

Very beautiful photos :)

Thank you @kadri :) Thank you for taking the time to comment.

nice one.Upvoted.Please resteem my introduction post if you can.Thanks.

These pictures are surreal. There are some beautiful ranges across various parts of India too, one day you should explore some ranges in the Northeastern part of India if not the northern most parts. :)

Thank you for the kind words @jonathankale. Grace and I were actually discussing that we did visit India late next year. I just might do some research on those ranges you mentioned. Thank you.

Followed! Wow, great post and wonderful, wonderful photos. You've got a great eye! Can't wait to see more from you!

Thank you for following @chrissymchavez and for your kind words. I hope you enjoy the future photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59027.47
ETH 2528.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47