My Amsterdam Vibes Journey

in #travel8 years ago

Hello, Steemians! 

My name is MrsGreen) and this is my first post here. Actually, I painted the design of First Steemit Matryoshka, but, I've never posted here anything by myself. So, as you might guessed, I'm fond of design, arts, calligraphy, and other creative stuff, so, here in my blog, I'll try to split it all together for you to enjoy, I hope)

I'm living in Moskow, Russia, but I always wanted not to be in the same place for a long time, be a traveller, to see and to be inspired by something new in other countries and apply this emotions in my further artworks and projects. Today I want to tell you about one of  my most inspirational journeys- a trip to Amsterdam!

Well, some say that this city has a kind of "contradictory" reputation, but, as for me, and I'm deeply convinced in my opinion, Amsterdam is a quintessence of freedom, comfort, lifestyle, the place, where one can feel                   himself the way he (or she) wants.

At the very first day, (having two shots of a "Jagermeister" in "brown caffe" ), I've made up my mind to have a walk around. In Amsterdam, if you want to feel the spirit of the city, you should go to the water, to the famous canals of Amsterdam. Depending on the district, there a lot of entertainments and kinds of occupation for everyone - temperate, cosy, and I'd say picturesque lifestyle of native-born inhabbitants, or noisy international parties, if you will turn at the nearest corner. Whether you will choose a bycicle ride or coffeeshop session, you will be satisfied anyway. I will not get into coffeeshop theme, but if you a music lover like me (and if you like "The Doors" especially), you should visit the caffeeshop named in their honour - the audience and music there are magnificent! But if you are a cinema lover (like my BF), you should get aqquiented with "Dampkring" coffeeshop where the "Ocean's twelve" episodes were shot.


Personally I like to explore the city trough architecture. And from this point, I felt in love with Amsterdam!!! From the very first second of me being there, I started  to imagine myself in those beatiful houses, windows, rooms.....  Talking about windows - I think, that was my beloved occupation there - to gaze at them, to watch the people of Amsterdam was cooking, talking with each other with the glass of wine, how they arrange their interiors. The windows there are without curtains so this is one of the best ways to know the culture and habits of Amsterdam's people. As an interior designer, I was always fond of russian avant-garde, german bauhaus, danish, swedish styles in design, which are demonstrates and states simplicity and functionality. Interiors and domestic life of Holland's people are exactly what I like - bright, cosy, with a strong nordic character, I'd say. Workshops - brutal, ascetic, and people who work there, on the contrary - very friendly and cheerful. When they saw me gazing on them, there was no any anger or aggression.


Sometimes I think that the Hollander and bycicle are the things which can not be separated from each other) And it is great! I was living in "Museum" district, and somehow I made up my mind to have a walk there at the time when most of tourists was sleeping. It was a wild delight for me when I saw Hollanders on their bycicles who was nearly "flying" away from  Rijks Museum Arch, heading to their works. I have noticed that a lot of them were tuned and upgraded, like cars in other countries. There were a lot of styles - from vintage to futuristic, from stock ones to designer's models. They even walk their dogs while riding bycicles!) And it is only there, in Amsterdam, one understands that bycicles for hollanders is their pholosophy and lifestyle. 


And  ofcourse, like an every girl, I like flowers) There is no other place in the world like Holland in april-may period. If you will be there in this period, make sure not to forget to visit flowers market (which crosses Signel canal), and buy black tulips (I bought Rembrandt sort of them). Also, tulips garden deserves the attention. It is situated little aside of the city, but it's definetly worth visiting. 


As a cheese lover, I should mention that "Old Amsterdam" sort is something delicious!!) Each day I was there, I was eating it with mustard in numerous cheese shops degustations) Hollanders are proud of theirs herring. There was at least 3 times I ate it. 2 times in the center of Amsterdam and once in Harlem district. Harlem's herring I liked mostly!

So, to conclude with, my personal "recipe" for Amsterdam is to buy some steak, (falafel, noodles) and make a trip to it's beatiful museums, galleries, parks and streets. Amsterdam's spirit is now forever in me!!!

Photo credit, calligraphy - me.

Thank you for your attention!

Sort:  

Very fine presentation of Amsterdam! I like your photos with calligraphy.

Upvoted @mrsgreen

Amsterdam is a quintessence of freedom, comfort, lifestyle, the place, where one can feel himself the way he (or she) wants.

I love how you put it all together - other writers write more on the touche - city of legal weed or the red light district.
Amsterdam is more than that and you've shown them. Thank you for giving Amsterdam it's rightful image. The pictures you took are so beautiful and the way you describe Amsterdamers are exactly how I experienced them as well.
I love that city - it has a different face day and night . There's one thing in constant - just like how you describe it in your post - colorful and alive.

Keep posting <3 !

appreciate your opinion!)

I like this post. I ran out of upvote juice (20 limit) so I can only comment. Great job by the way.

Wonderful Amsterdam I was lucky to visit for Kings Day earlier this year. Cant wait to be back for the SteemFest in November. Beautiful Presentation of this exciting city.

I'm do not able to go there unfortunately this year((

ohhh ....sad to hear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82