Monday Morning Quote: "For every minute the future is becoming past"

in #travel6 years ago

Goooood morning readers! How are you? Monday is here: Head up and let's work!


Monday Morning Quotes: A place where, each Monday, I'll bring my favourite quotes to send you a bit of my positivity to start the week on full power! Hope you enjoy it.

Thor Heyerdahl quote

Source: Thor Heyerdahl was a Norwegian adventurer and ethnographer with a background in zoology, botany, and geography. He became notable for his Kon-Tiki expedition in 1947, in which he sailed 8,000 km (5,000 mi) across the Pacific Ocean in a hand-built raft from South America to the Tuamotu Islands


I remember reading the book Kon-Tiki Expedition by Thor Heyerdahl and thinking that his idea seemed nuts; not his thesis that ancient people could have made long sea voyages, creating contacts between separate cultures; but the way he proved it.

In 1947, Heyerdahl and five fellow adventurers sailed from Peru to the Tuamotu Islands, French Polynesia in a pae-pae raft that they had constructed from balsa wood and other native materials, christened the Kon-Tiki. The Kon-Tiki expedition was inspired by old reports and drawings made by the Spanish Conquistadors of Inca rafts, and by native legends and archaeological evidence suggesting contact between South America and Polynesia. The Kon-Tiki smashed into the reef at Raroia in the Tuamotus on August 7, 1947, after a 101-day, 4,300-nautical-mile (5,000-mile or 8,000 km)[11] journey across the Pacific Ocean. Source: Wikipedia

After reading about such journey I couldn't help but think that sailing could, indeed, be done only by following common sense and loads of sailing readings - if the Kon-Tiki didn't kill them, a good sailboat will not kill me. But this is not the subject of this post, the quote is.

This quote impacts me everytime I feel lazy early in the morning because it's cold; or when I procrastinate something; or when I leave for tomorrow something that could be done now; or when I decide to stay one more semester at my work, instead of travelling.

I realise that one minute counts, because once it's gone... it's gone.

I would love to hear from you. What's your interpretation of this quote? Feel free to 'philosophize' on the comments down bellow.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Mighty Steem Explorer Game! Discover the Location & Win the SBD

Epic Quote Challenge | Amyr Klink Quote on Endless Sea (Mar sem Fim)

Visiting Southern Brazil | Yerba-Mate | What is it, How to prepare & Benefits

Epic Quote Challenge | Share Your Quote/Book and Win SBD

Photo Series #68: Street Art | Photography | Colourful Photo

A proud member of the Steemit Travellers community:

Sort:  

Get a free Bible for your phone, tablet, and computer. http://bible.com

Hi! im not a robot! Ha! Your post actually made me smile and thinking about how luxury traveling became with all the conveniend possibilitys of transportation. Let's build up an wooden pae-pae raft!

Uff thanks god a human here! haha thanks for the comment @worldcapture!

Did you see? If that thing didn't kill them... you have to read that book, it's amazing what they did. I'm sure you'll like it. I don't sen you mine because it's in portuguese.

i did not see it yet, but i will have a look to find the book :))

That is so true - funny, as my yoga teacher said that same thing this morning - referenced Buddha who said that the trouble is, that we think we have more time - but we don't!!!! xxx

I love how you are living your life with this positivity in your head, it's awesome. I love how you've quit your job to go travelling... xxx

Oeeeee lovely comment @riverflows! We don't at all! that's why I get so frustrated if I waste time.
People say that It'm nuts for doing what I do, that's I'll regret not having a carrer in the future... well.. in the future we see what happens.

Nice one.. Love to get more such information..
Followed you in case you like to know more abot the amazing Blockchain Technology do follow us and leave your valuable comments..

Awesome @wsmart, thanks a bunch for the support, I'm glad you like it. Love ya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99