Epic Quote Challenge | Amyr Klink Quote on Endless Sea (Mar sem Fim)

in #epicquote6 years ago

Heyho Readers! How are you? Let's share a picture of our favourite quotes and talk about books.

thumb
Image modified by me. Source: Pixabay under CC0 Creative Commons.

All righty, guys! It's incredibly cold here in southern Brazil, nothing better than a hot coffee and some reading to relax on this Saturday night.

Since my cycling today was frustrated by the weather, I've decided to put up my own favourite quote for my quote challenge. Don't worry, I'll not be competing, it's just to bring some enthusiasm and to share about one of my favourite book writters.

Don't know what challenge I'm talking about? Come on, you monster!

It's the one, the only Epic Quote Challenge, where we are supposed to share a little bit about our favourite quotes/books. Check it down below.

 Epic Quote Challenge | Share Your Quote/Book and Win SBD

My Contribution Will Be...

from a writter called Amyr Klink (how many times I've quoted him on my blogs?), he is a Brazilian navigator, speaker and writer. He was the first person in 1984 to cross the South Atlantic rowing aboard the IAT, and he inspires me a lot.

mar sem fim

Among all his travel stories, what I like about him the most is his planning; he usually says that he is not an adventurer, because an adventure means doing things without knowing what to expect, adventuring in the the Antarctic environment or in the middle of the Atlantic on a small rowing boat means death. Instead of being an adventurer, he's a great planner. For every trip there are countless hours of studying of every possibilities of something going wrong, hence, being prepared for when they happen.

He also says that he is not a great sailor, that's why he builds his boats the best way, paying attention to all the small details - He may not be a great sailor, which he is, but he's great at finding solutions; either to make things simpler, or to make them cheapper.

His sailboats, the Paratii and Paratii II are the dream of many sailors, they are like fortresses of cold waters and capable of going anywhere in this world, at any time.

Aboard the Paratii, Amyr sailed alone across Antarctica between 1998 and 1999. That trip aimed to travel around the world on its shortest, fastest and most difficult route. To meet the challenge, Paratii departed from a point on the map, the island of South Georgia, and continuously sailed straight until it hit that point again. With that, Amyr crossed the Atlantic, Indian and Pacific oceans alone at the helm of Paratii. After 88 days and 14,000 nautical miles, Amyr completed the voyage

This story is told in the book Endless Sea (Mar sem Fim), the one that features one of my favourite quotes.


"A man needs to travel. By his own means, not by stories, images, books or TV. By his own, with his eyes and feet, to understand what he is."


amyr klink
Quote from Amyr Klink on the book Endless Sea, pag. 76.

"To some day plant his own trees and give them some value. To know the cold to enjoy the heat. To feel the distance and lack of shelter to be well under his own ceiling. A man needs to travel to places he doesn't know to break this arrogance that makes us see the world as we imagine it, and not simply as it is or may be. That makes us teachers and doctors of what we have never seen, when we should just be learners, and simply go see it."


amyr klink
Quote from Amyr Klink on the book Endless Sea, pag. 76.

When I first saw this quote it impacted me so much, I realised that complaining about life was not going to take me anywhere. If I really wanted to visit all those amazing places I used to see on Discovery channel, I needed to find my way. I've realised then, that money was not the issue, my real desire was - I had to find the means. After that book I've travelled all over Patagonia alone, with just a backpack and little money.

I gotta say that it was not the quote, nor the whole book that launched my life into a better perspective, but it was for sure the powder. After traveling I gained so much energy and positivity, I learned to notice things and value what I have.

I think this book is worth reading because...

it is a lesson on the importance of planning, sailing, geography and it's also funny some times.


I hope that this post inspires you to attend the contest, or at least to share your books. Hope you have enjoyed.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Visiting Southern Brazil | Yerba-Mate | What is it, How to prepare & Benefits

Epic Quote Challenge | Share Your Quote/Book and Win SBD

Photo Series #68: Street Art | Photography | Colourful Photo

Road Trip Serie (Part I) - Visiting Rio Grande do Sul - Brazil

Mighty Steem Explorer Game! Discover the Location & Win the SBD

A proud member of the Steemit Travellers community:

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrprofessor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Woooho, thank you! Gonna check the contest, sounds like a fun idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55