My journey to the city of Eagle

in #travel5 years ago

Greetings, dear readers!

Having received an invitation from one of my friends, I quite unexpectedly even for myself, bought train tickets and went to "explore" a new space, see the sights of the city of Orel, which is located in the heart of the European part of our country.

Since my youth, I loved to travel around the cities, to see beautiful places and sights new to me, to learn something new and interesting for myself, about the history of these places, about how people used to live there and how people live there now, in General, about everything previously unknown to me.

I've been to a lot of places, but I've never been to Orel before.

I will begin my story by tradition with historical data.

When specifically formed a settlement at confluence of rivers Oka and Orlik, no exact data. Only according to archaeological excavations it is believed that it existed since 12th century. Beginning of history of city of Orel is considered to be 1566-th year, when to protect southern borders of Russian Kingdom by order of Ivan terrible was founded fortress Orel, and in Nikon chronicle of this event under 1566 year was recorded as follows:

"Same summer command of Tsar and Grand Duke Ivan Vasilyevich of all Russia put city on poli on river Orly".

Since 1719, city has become center of Orel province. Currently - center of Orel region.

It is also interesting origin of name of city, which is primarily associated with legend of events that took place at its Foundation in 1566.

During construction of fortress city, when they began to cut down oak growing on shore at confluence of two rivers Oka and Orlik, an eagle flew from its top. "And here is owner," said one of men, and Emperor Ivan Vasilyevich ordered to call city name of bird.

More plausible, however, it seems version according to which name of city proyshla from names of rivers, at confluence of which it was built.

According to same version, word "eagle" consists of two Tatar words: "or" - moat and "El" - road, and "Orlik" in turn means something (here-river), that is, eagle translated from Tatar - "road through moat".

Population of eagle is small, only 317 thousand people, and that's a shame, according to demographic data, last 10 years has been steadily decreasing.

City I came to met me at exit of station with a sculpture of a huge eagle and turned out to be very warm, green, which intertwines history of previous years and centuries with present, our time.


Photo

There are a lot of historical monuments, many monuments to famous people of our country.

IMG_1464.jpg

There are 3 museums - local history, military history and fine arts, in addition to which there are houses-museums of famous writers is Turgenev, Ln. Andreeva, N. S. Leskova, I. N. Bunina, T. N. Granovsky, writers orlovtsev (house Galakhov).

City of Orel can also be called a theatrical city - there are three theaters in city: state academic theater named after I. S. Turgenev, state theater for children and youth "Free space" and the regional puppet theater.

IMG_1463.JPG

Also in city there are quite a lot of cinemas, including a modern cinema complex, located in shopping and entertainment complex "Mega-Green", in which I went to premiere of film "Guardians of Galaxy".

There are a lot of objects related to religion here - churches, mostly Orthodox, but there is also a Catholic Church, a synagogue, and in plans and construction of a mosque.

IMG_1469.JPG

Quite a lot in city of Orel and modern buildings, as well as shopping and entertainment centers: "Turgenevsky", "rainbow", "Aquarius", "Rio", "Mega-Green" and others.

IMG_1561.jpg

Beautiful, nice city, clean and well-groomed city, which vegetation is almost no different from the southern cities, with beautifully decorated squares and parks, its unique appearance, with some comfort (sorry only enough benches in it and sidewalks would not hurt to repair), he left me the warmest impressions, memories of it will stay with me for a long time.

IMG_1423.JPG

Thank you for your attention, see you soon!

With respect to you, @mrfantastis.

Sort:  

What a beautiful city! Thank you for sharing your photos, experience and of course the history there; I really enjoyed it :)

I found your post because @macoolette featured you in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry; feel free to join us with an entry of your own anytime :)

What a nice City. Thank you for the tour. Beautiful City with culture and the Arts

I found your post because @macoolette featured you in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry; feel free to join us with an entry of your own anytime

Thank you for your feedback! Glad you liked my post!

amazing @mrfantastis, your city tour really awesome! by the way do you know what trees are there at the side of the brick path? really impressive clean and not so many people around too. If I didn't spot the cross and I knew that you're in RUssia, I would mistakenly thought the ortodox church as mosque... Thanks for sharing and taking us with your wonderful journey.

I found Your post through @macoolette entery post in the pay it forward contest (again) this week. Always love to read your post because you really know how to related the history behind the story.

Thank you very much for noticing my post!

You are most welcome.. and you can answer my question with your language as always 😉

Trees growing along the road, maples. Sooner along the road have been planted poplar, but with them in the spring flies fluff, and it is harmful to health.

Whoaa.. it must be a wonderful view when the fall season, I think. Thank you.. I never seen the real maple and poplar tree in my life😊

Yes, autumn maple is very beautiful. Here, look at this miracle!


Pixabay

Poplars aren't so beautiful.


Pixabay

i think both of those tress are amazing to me @mrfantastis.. because I never seen and touch them myself. there's nothing in the nature not beautiful..including the human being. Thanks for sharing me the beautiful color of the trees.

Nature is wise, and all its creations are beautiful, each in its own way. I like most trees in the spring, when they are in bloom, especially fruit. I will try to make their spring photos of flowering trees and compose a post.

Such an interesting place. I like how the old and new come together, also how the former things have been preserved. It's interesting to know the origin of names of places. It gives more meaning and reflects the past and history and culture.

Amazing article! I'm glad to see that C-squared picked you up - it's totally worth it. I love all the pictures - especially that eagle sculpture, just stunning. Another place I wish I could visit!

I found your post because @macoolette featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you liked my article!

Thanks for the sightseeing. I had to Google in which country the city of Orel could be find. So it is in Russia. (I could nowhere find back where "our country" was).

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry, somehow missed this moment! I'm glad you liked my post.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mrfantastis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42