VIETNAM: EXPLORING HANOI AND HA LONG BAY

in #travel6 years ago

img034 LR (2).jpg

Finally, I and my wife’s long-awaited trip to Vietnam happened! As promised form the recent post of my 5 Day Must Bring Checklist, I’ll be giving you an update on how our tour to Vietnam went. Here's one clue, I'm stoked

Through the streets of Hanoi

img004 LR.jpg

The car that fetched us from the airport run onto something causing one flat tire.

With only 5 days in Vietnam, my wife and I decided we go to only 2 places. 1st is Hanoi, 2nd is the famed Ha Long Bay. Hanoi, the country’s capital city, is estimated to have about 7.7 million in population and that was just around the year 2015.

img008 LR.jpg

The city is pretty intense with all the motorcycles zooming in the busy streets and crossing the street is a skill you have to learn when you visit the country. A tour guide told us that almost all the residents of Hanoi own a motorcycle. Now imagine how many is that!

img016 LR.jpg

img028 LR.jpg

Walking through the street of Hanoi is such a pleasure for me. People here are very nice and friendly. Hands down one of the nicest we’ve met traveling in Asia.

img006 LR.jpg

Old Quarter in which we stayed for the first few days was a bustling community characterized by shops, street foods, restaurants, and it’s busy motorcycle filled streets. It’s a great place to be a tourist and a perfect opportunity to do my street photography.

img015 LR.jpg

Makeshift baby crib in the streets of Hanoi. Cute, happy baby.

img010 LR.jpg

One of the most interesting sites to go in the Old Quarter is the Hoàn Kiếm Lake. In the morning people go there to walk around the lake, exercise or just simply sit, relax and enjoy the day.

img012 LR (3).jpg

img029 LR.jpg

These girls holding and turning the ropes seems to be just there waiting for random people to play the skipping rope. Cool huh!

And by night, the streets around the lake turns into a huge community area where people are free to walk at the middle of the road to mingle with friends, enjoy some family quality time and eat the most delicious food I’ve tasted.

img032 LR.jpg

img034 LR.jpg

Seeing the community having fun and enjoying the company of each other makes me miss my hometown so much.

img031 LR.jpg

Viet people serve dog meat as a local delicacy. I honestly have not tried and I probably would never eat one. This is frowned upon in most countries, but I do respect the culture of them serving them as dishes. Heck, people of my country eat dog meat as well! Although it’s done very discreetly nowadays.

One of the freshest and tastiest meals I’ve eaten is in Vietnam. The best one is the Bun Cha. It’s a grilled pork served with rice noodles, fish sauce, and some fresh herbs. Hmmmm tasty. Unfortunately, I ate it all before I was able to grab some photos.

A View of Ha Long Bay

The Ha Long Bay is probably the most famous tourist destination in Vietnam. And I sure do understand why! I meant the place is just gorgeous!

img034 LR (2).jpg

My wife and I booked an overnight stay in one of the cruises that will tour you around the bay. It was fun overall and the experience shared with the people onboard was priceless.

img017 LR.jpg

img003 LR.jpg

The view is magnificent and enchanting. It’s just amazing how this beautiful landscape is formed! I simply have no words to describe it. Do not miss this out when you come to visit Vietnam.

img013 LR (3).jpg

Probably the boat captain or an attendant of the ship waiting for their passengers

img026 LR.jpg

img025 LR.jpg

Part of the cruise’s package is to bring you to the huge caves found in the bay. And by huge, I mean HUGE. My jaw dropped in awe knowing that these enormous caves were formed naturally.

img018 LR.jpg

img013 LR.jpg

img030 LR.jpg

And after exploring the cave, we are given a little more time to enjoy the beach and the scenery. And you know what I'll do, take more photos!

Relaxing and fun indeed.

img024 LR.jpg

That’s it! I wish I could show you more photos of our trip but unfortunately, about 3 rolls of films I brought with me were expired (as concluded by the lab where I had it developed) and since I was not aware of it, I basically wasn’t able to expose the shots properly and ending up with a super underexposed images.

But aside from that, Everything was a bliss. A breath of fresh air for me and my wife. I honestly enjoyed the experience of being there than taking street photographs. I hope you enjoyed this post and more places to travel for all of us!

See you on the street!

RELATED ARTICLE: Traveling to Vietnam: My 5 day must bring checklist

Don't forget to upvote and follow me for more street photography
and photography related contents. Cheers everybody!
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@mostvulnerable
Website: https://www.themostvulnerable.com/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/themostvulnerable/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/dmostvulnerable

Sort:  

Hi @mostvulnerable. I love how you documented everything. Great choice to have it in black and white. It really matches the rich history of the place. Hanoi has a special place in my heart. It's a place evry photographer should go. There are interesting subjects everywhere and the locals are really nice.

Thanks man, Me and my wife really enjoyed our stay in Vietnam. People are nice, food is great, and the landscape is very photogenic. Definitely, a place to return to.

I'd love to photograph in color but somehow I find it very hard to please myself with my own color photos. Haha. Anyway, thanks for dropping by!

WOW! I've been to Hanoi and I'm going back in a few days. I can almost smell the city when I look at your photos. Really good work!

After having problems with the film, are you wishing you had used digital? Or maybe you had both?

I felt bad but I learned to charge this to experience whenever these things happen. Probably bringing a digital camera along with my film camera and ONLY fresh films is the best option. Hahaha I enjoyed the trip on top of everything so it's still a win for me.

Hey, have fun when you're back to Hanoi!

love the way you frame your photographs! it sets the mood of the post.

Thank you! Glad you liked my post!
Hey! hope Zepp and the family is doing great!

Thank you. :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 02:08:27
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 75.55/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

thank you, your post ^^. Have a good day

Thank you so much! Hope you have a fine day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61265.20
ETH 3320.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48