Hiroshima in a Day

in #travel7 years ago


I was in Japan for the first time recently and I got myself a Japan Rail (JR) Pass for a week to get a round the country. Just going from Tokyo to Osaka and back I was saving money, but I made much more use of it than that. As you would.

While I was staying in Osaka, I thought about where I could go on a day trip and realized Hiroshima was pretty close on the Shinkansen Bullet Trains. The journey takes about 2 hours and 20 minutes. You can actually get the High Speed Bullet Train and do the journey in an hour or so less, but my JR Pass didn’t cover that, so I had to make do with just the Bullet Train.



On the journey you wonder what its like. Is it safe? Surely there’s still some radiation in the air? Will the locals think I’m a bit of a schadenfreude for wanting to visit such a horrific historical site?

Anyway, I got to Hiroshima early with the intention of spending a full day trying to enjoy the place. It was late April and as with everywhere in Japan at that time, the weather was perfect.



The greetings at the train station were second to none. I walked out, not really knowing where to go until a free tour guide came up to me and gave me excellent advice in English about where to go and what would be best for my amount of time. It was a sign of things to come, because Hiroshima is really trying its best to welcome visitors.

I didn’t have much time but my first stop was Hiroshima Castle. It’s actually a replica of the original castle because the original one was destroyed by the atomic bomb. The new one is a beautiful castle that overlooks the city.



It was constructed in 1958 and it looks exactly like it did before that fateful day. Going to the top of the castle gives you panoramic views of not just the city but way beyond. It’s a great way to spend an hour or two.

My next stop was the Genbaku Atomic Dome and the Peace Park and Memorial Museum. I decided to walk there as it was a beautiful day, and I wanted to experience the atmosphere of the city. It was a Sunday, and like most places on Sundays it was quiet, but there is something more peaceful about Hiroshima.



As I approached the Dome Tower, I felt emotional. I was here, right next to what is arguably the most devastating historical event of the 20th century, and maybe even history. To think that less than a century before I was there the devastation that occurred in a split second after the Atomic Bomb detonated some 600 metres above ground was really an indescribable feeling.

The Atomic Bomb actually detonated in the air to help cause maximum damage. It’s thought that an atomic bomb would waste a lot of energy exploding onto the ground, and so at 8:15am on 6th August 1945 Enola Gay dropped and detonated the most catastrophic piece of technological warfare ever known.



Eye witnesses said they saw an a brilliant flash of light followed by a mighty sonic boom, and followed by an immediate firestorm. Immediately, 70,000-80,000 people died. Almost everything in the 6km radius was disintegrated. Anybody who were ‘lucky’ enough to survive had massive burns and thousands more died as time went on. An estimate of about 150,000 died because of that fateful day.

Amazingly the Dome Tower that was right in the hypocentre of the Atomic blast, survived. Well some of it. Almost everything around it had been blasted to smithereens, but somehow the bell tower stood defiant against the bomb. It still stands today with some structural help and is a symbol of peace and its an emotional time spent viewing it.



I walked through the Peace Park to the museum, and as you might imagine it’s a very thorough introduction of what happened. There are burnt relics of things that survived that day, like melted steel, roof tiles, people’s clothes, but the thing that really struck me was a burnt out child’s tricycle.

Hiroshima deserves more than 10 hours; I had spent much more time in the hypocentre area than had planned and I didn’t get to see any more of the city as I was in a rush to get back to the train station.



When I left the museum, there were some peaceful protestors there, and there was one guy with a sign saying ‘FREE HUGS’. I looked at him and smiled and thought how nice. He looked at me and offered his arms for a hug and so I did. I went up to him and hugged him. The crazy thing is I actually felt a bit silly at first, but when I hugged him I felt like crying because I actually felt happy again.

Peace!

Sort:  

Really nice post,but feeling sad for the Hiroshima people

@mojorisin your article is making me wanna visit there too,
you indeed pictured it well and it's pretty sure you enjoyed your staying
🙌😊

I really enjoy reading your post about Hiroshima, great content and amazing photos
Thanks for sharing your experience @mojorisin

My pleasure @mojorisin , I hope to visit Hiroshima and go to those beautiful places

great capture, my friend. thank you for sharing with us.

No worries, my pleasure

Great topic. It brings painful memories for all humanity and not just for the Japanese!

I really like Japan but I had never been there, and I'll restart thinking about being there. Thank you @mojorisin for sharing this post, great pictures.
@hatimbenya

This post has received a 15.17 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @mojorisin

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Great article and coverage of the area. Nice photos also. I have always thought about traveling to Japan, but I will definitely add Hiroshima to the list of places to see. Must different than I had though. Its great to see that its thriving and seems to be a beautiful city once again. Hopefully the earth will never see another atomic bomb used in war again. Upvoted and Following you! Cheers! :-)

It's a real nice city. Like everywhere in japan it's very clean and quiet but with the unfortunate history, it's worth a visit for sure

Congratulations @mojorisin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65