My Steemfest2 week. BEFORE and AFTER. WHAT an experience! Part 2: FARO working up to our arrival to LISBOA and ultimately STEEMFEST2

in #travel7 years ago

From the moment we set foot on Portuguese soil, we felt welcome in this country.
The people were really helpful and nice and even the police were very approachable. My darling daughter Skye and I were happily shocked by all the handsomeness going on in this country. EVEN the cops ;)
Our bus was going past the beach before heading into the city so we decided to have stop off there and spend some time at the beach.

IMG_20171031_155026[1].jpg

My first 'selfie' at the beach in Faro

Of course, where we have me, there are always some back-roads to travel

I am not sure who it was, but earlier on someone in the family decided to use my phone extensively and this left me with 18% battery life on my phone by the time we were ready to get to the apartment.
We were supposed to meet our host Nuno at 5 pm.
Busses from the beach (and airport) usually go every 30 minutes or so, however, I didn't check this properly so when we got to the bus stop we could just see the tail lights of our bus disappear and after inspecting the time table, I came to the conclusion that we had to wait for 45 minutes for the next bus.
I managed to send Nuno a quick text to let him know we'd be late.
Stupid little me didn't write anything down, all the information was on my phone, including the address for our apartment and Nuno's number.
When we finally managed to catch the bus into the city, it was 5.30 pm!
I had spoken to Nuno for directions but didn't quite get that right either and the street name....well, let's say it was hard to remember. Our host mentioned a restaurant and terrace with white parasols and that's when my battery went dead.
We found a restaurant with white parasols, but guess what? There are more than one restaurants with white parasols!!!
Who would have thought?
We walked around aimlessly, dragging our bags around the place. I asked a few people if they knew the apartments but no one did.
I knew that the only right thing now was to find a charger that would fit these sockets. I ended up buying one in a shop and ordering coffee in a place so we could charge my phone.
Finally I spoke to Nuno again and he told us not to move, he would come and get us.
At last, we found each other. At this stage, we were more than one hour late!
Our host Nuno must have thought all kinds of things about us, but if he did, he didn't show it.
He greeted us with a big smile (another drool moment for Skye and I) and warmth and to be honest: I'm not sure if I could have mustered the same enthusiasm at this time.
Nuno packed us all into his car and drove us to our lovely apartment. After a lot of apologies and the promise that if he ever visits Ireland, we'd welcome him the same way, we finally said good bye to our awesome host Nuno.
Sigh....

Some views from our apartment balcony

DSC04197.JPG

DSC04199.JPG

DSC04200.JPG

Here a few more photos taken in Faro

Check out these sand statues at the airport! Definitely worth to go to the exhibition/competition when they have it on I think!!

IMG_20171031_132438.jpg

And our attempt to make a sand statue

IMG_20171031_154351.jpg

The lovely beach in Faro

beach faro2.jpg

more beach

faro edit.jpg

Conclusion: One day in Faro isn't enough! I'll be back!!

Unfortunately, besides the beach, we couldn't explore much of the city.
But from what I've seen so far, it is definitely worth a visit.
The beach alone was great, the little city centre was pretty cool. We were there on the 31st of October, so Halloween and the whole town was filled with witches, skeletons, werewolves, vampires and more.
It must have been a great party!

leaving faro.jpg

STEEMIEEE.jpg

Ho'oponopono

!steemitworldmap 37.019139 lat -7.930069 long Faro, Algarve, Portugal. d3scr

Sort:  

Loved your story. I can relate to the part about wandering the streets and being late and exhausted. We've done that in more than one place...
and I'll keep in mind the handsomness factor :))
Lovely daughter you got there...and yes, we do the sand statues, too.

The child in the photo is actually my youngest son :) I know the long hair can deceive, but he rocks the man-bun! :)

Oops! I know that's annoying...happened to me all the time when my son had long hair. Now he prefers a boyish haircut... although I loved the rocker style :)

It sounds like you really had an adventure and it looks like a lovely place, truly worth the visit (well, a trip to the beach is always worth it, ain't it?).
I'm glad you had this beautiful time together :)

thank you. It was great to have some time 'off' from our daily things. And steemfest was amazing.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=misslasvegas
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=4s1url-my-steemfest2-week-before-and-after-what-an-experience-part-2-faro-working-up-to-our-arrival-to-lisboa-and-ultimately-steemfest2


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51