My Trip to Roanoke VirginiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Well I am a week removed from my business trip to Roanoke, and I know you were all waiting on the edge of your seat to find out what this image I posted last Tuesday was all about.

Well just hold onto your britches! There's more on that to come. But we have to start back at the beginning.

My trip from Cincinnati to Roanoke is chronicled here: https://steemit.com/travel/@mikepm74/my-journey-from-cincinnati-to-roanoke. An entertaining read about the typical airport misery that we all go through.

Then you can go and visit the pictures of the Hotel Roanoke, built in 1882 and for sure haunted. I posted my pictures as part of Ricky's Photo Challenge, so you can check those out here: https://steemit.com/rickysphotochallenge/@mikepm74/rickysphotochallenge-week-11-entry-architecture-hotel-roanoke

So that brings us to what I was actually doing in Roanoke in the first place. I was attending a conference of Motorcoach Operators from North and South Carolina and Virginia. I work for a large attraction here in Tennessee, and we go to these shows where Tour Operators meet and give them the latest information on our attractions and let them know what we offer for Tour Groups who are thinking of Nashville as a Destination.

Part of the Conference is a City Tour. The city is selling itself to the Tour Operators too, but one of the perks of being a supplier is we still get to enjoy the city even though we aren't sending our clients there.

By the time I got signed up for the conference all of the regular tours had filled, so my options were a "Shop till you drop" tour, or the motorcoach Golf Tournament. Not being much of a shopper, and enjoying swinging clubs at small innocent balls, it sounded like golf was for me. So I signed up, and after my appointments on Monday Morning, I boarded a coach with 23 new friends and headed to Hidden Valley Country Club. This is a members only course that is typically closed on Monday.

20170918_124045.jpg

They opened just for us! There were 24 of us, with a Shotgun Start, puttering around the course.

20170918_160213.jpg

It is an absolutely gorgeous course with the Blue Ridge Mountains in the background. As a guy who normally plays pitch and putt with my son, it was a really challenging course, and I knew going in I would need some extra golf balls. I lost 7 of the 9 that I took with me. Even some that I was sure I knew where they had gone managed to elude me as I tried to find them in the rough.

20170918_141832.jpg

Unfortunately, I didn't win any prizes for being a crappy golfer. So that was unfortunate. But after a nice round of golf with some nice folks, we headed back to the hotel and got a shower before dinner.

Now we get to talk about the pinball machines. These were part of our dinner reception at "Center in the Square". Dinner itself was served on a rooftop veranda looking over downtown Roanoke, which was pretty cool. But the fun part of the evening was four floors down on the second floor, where there is a Pinball Machine Museum.

20170918_191259.jpg

There are probably close to 100 pinball machines in this place, spanning the ages. I really should have taken more pictures, but 80% of the machines were operational and in free play mode for us, so I spent my time playing! They had everything from the oldest of the old machines with barely any bumpers at all, to some newer stuff from the early 2000's with all the bells and whistles. I never imagined such a collection.

I suck at pinball as badly as I do at golf, but I had a blast going from machine to machine and trying to hit the specials and mystery prizes. I had a lot of fun with it. And of course, being a Doctor Who Fan, I had to spend some time with this one:

Tuesday it was back to work, with a day full of appointments and a nice closing reception, but we didn't leave the hotel, so no fun and exciting things to share from that. Wednesday was the same as my trip to Roanoke, but in reverse. Same tiny plane from Roanoke to Washington DC. In Fact, I am pretty sure I had the same flight crew for it.

I did capture a slightly better picture of the little prop plane I flew on this time.

20170920_142531.jpg

It did get me safely to DC and then a proper jet took me back to Nashville. So all was well.

Roanoke was certainly interesting. Probably not somewhere I am planning to take the family on vacation or anything, but interesting nonetheless. I do hope you enjoyed passing through it with me!

Have a wonderful day! Steem on!

Sort:  

dude! I loooooooove pinball! I wish you had more closeup pics of rows of machines! there's so many classics and awesome new pinball machines still being created today.

Here's the link to the site. There are some images here if you go looking for them!

https://www.roanokepinball.org/

On the about page is a cool picture of kids playing the REALLY old ones. I enjoyed those quite a bit!

Glad you enjoyed your visit to Roanoke. I definitely didn't know there was a pinball machine museum, so it looks like I'll be planning a trip there soon.

You can't really get away from the beautiful scenery no matter where you are in the city. It's a beautiful area, so thanks for sharing!

It's really pretty amazing. I don't know if the games are always on freeplay, or if that was just for us as part of the reception, but it was wicked. Games like Metallica, Ghostbusters, Terminator, KISS, AD&D. Just a slew of stuff! I know I'm forgetting some good names.

These are some incredible pictures and details! I loved your work! I hope you will continue to share more such posts in the days to come!

Thank you @firepower! I appreciate your work as well! Sending people to Steemfest is something else entirely! And with your current post, as someone who recently had to use the account recovery, you hit the nail on the head. Thank you for all of your work with steemit.chat and, well and everything else you do!

Thanks for visiting! Honored to have you here!

UPVOTE for Dr Who! :)

Everyone needs a little experience with the Doctor yeah? hahaha

Indian place, famous

Yeah. I would like to see some of the native aspects. Unfortunately, that wasn't something I was able to do.

The tour I really wanted to do though was a visit to Thomas Jefferson's Retreat and the WWII D-Day memorial. Roanoke was the highest casualty per capita area of origin from the invasion. I didn't know that before reading the tour description.

Man Roanoke is pretty beautiful, that pinball arcade is cool af.

Yeah it was pretty awesome. I should have just hung out in there and skipped the open bar upstairs.

Oh... who am I kidding. The open bar was where it was at! LOL

Hahaha don't gotta tell me that! I'll def check this place out if I do go to Roanoke which isn't far.

@mikepm74 what is mystery of Roanoke ?
When he finally arrived on Roanoke Island, on August 18, 1590, White found the colony abandoned and looted, with no trace of the settlers. Only two clues remained: The word “Croatoan” had been carved on a post and the letters “CRO” scratched into a tree trunk.

Nice reference, but a different Roanoke.

Here is the states we have a habit of having the same city names in a lot of different states. There are 11 Roanoke's in the US, none of which are the original Colony in North Carolina. haha

cool social studies reminder though!

so i have to study 11 Roanoke ...

Waw, amazing your post. I like its

Wow! I love those pinball machines. What fun. See you soon. 🐓🐓

Very nice @mikepm74 ...Bless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58058.49
ETH 2284.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51