My journey in Greece (Thessaloniki) day 10

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_20190217_172155.jpg

Let's start today with a sunset that is not seen directly, but through the medium of a statue. This one is very close to the sea and I still have to translate what it says on the plaque, but his name is N.Votsis. I'll probably make some separate posts of what those monuments are about as soon as I get some time to go through a translation. I wouldn't like to live it at this.

Another interesting statue is of this woman carrying guns. I would love to find her story out. I won't let you guys hanging and I will share those stories as I find them :)

IMG_20190217_171337.jpg

The light showed me something beautiful yesterday. This little church window has a very intricate design and also a sign that I find familiar. I've seen the P on the top side used in another similar way by the band Powerwolf, but instead of an X on the bottom they have a W (pretty obvious why). Apparently, the religious meaning of X and P comes from the Greek alphabet, X being pronounced Chi and P is pronounced Rho. Therefore you have CR, which are the first two letters of Christ's name. I'd love to look more into it :)

IMG_20190220_091757.jpg

As you might expect and to lighten up the mood a bit, here comes a photo of some cats in a ruin :))

IMG_20190220_154903.jpg

"But something is missing" you might add. Of course, the graffiti! Have no fear, I have them here!

IMG_20190219_131508.jpg

IMG_20190219_131512.jpg

IMG_20190219_131514.jpg

IMG_20190219_131545.jpg

IMG_20190219_131612.jpg

I spend a little bit of time outside and I got the opportunity to look at people passing by. I tried to catch a glimpse of their face, so here is the result.

IMG_20190221_082037.jpg

Hope you've enjoyed my post! I will come soon with another one! :)

Have a great day friends!

Sort:  

I think that the easiest way to figure the story of these statues is to talk to someone local :) They should know the stories and it would save you some time.

I see that you're enjoying Greece and some nice weather :)

Are there many homeless cats on the streets? Do you also often see some dogs or is it mainly cats?

Yay to graffiti again! All of them are cool! And your sketches are very nice. Do you do portraits as well?

Have a nice day!

There are some dogs, but they are very lazy all day long and don't even move when you pet them :)) so mainly cats.

I enjoy to do portraits very much! I have a few as blog posts, but I am working all the time to improve :)

Congratulations @michael.dime! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81