Exploring the Southern Missouri Ozarks Part 4: Moss Rock Spring

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

About 5 minutes outside of my hometown is a popular river access spot called "Buck Hollow" It is a highly trafficked area for swimmers, floaters, and anglers. However, just a few yards south of the Buck Hollow parking lot is a hidden little gem we like to call Moss Rock Spring.

I'm actually not sure if the spring has an official name, and if so, what that name might be. My Dad used to take us hiking as kids, and appropriately titled this beautiful place as Moss Rock Spring. We've referred to it as such ever since :)

IMG_7176.jpg

Most of my photos are not in focus, whatsoever. But at a certain point, it was so humid and the hike was so steep that I gave up on adjusting my camera settings and resorted to "auto" option. I cared less about image quality and more about documenting the fact that we were there!

However, I think it really shows the intense amount of moss and other growth around the spring! (There's @kayla.denise checking out the scenery!)

IMG_7179.jpg

I've been going here for years, but it has been a very long time since I've made the effort to go out and hike this beautiful little spot again. Earlier this week, on the 4th of July, my good friend @kayla.denise and I went to visit the spring. You can check out her view of the hike here:

https://steemit.com/nature/@kayla.denise/exploring-the-ozarks

IMG_7184.jpg

IMG_7187.jpg

IMG_7209.jpg

IMG_7196.jpg

As always, thanks for looking! Follow me for more outdoor adventures in the Southern Missouri Ozarks! :)

follow melody.jpg

Sort:  

I was there last year. Really great place with a lot of beautiful scenery. Nice shots. :) Keep walking and posting ;) Have a good one . Resteem

Nice @margaretwise! Glad you were able to see it in person. It really is a beautiful place! Thanks for the resteem and thanks for looking !

Beautiful shots! Looks a lot like the Ozarks of Northern Arkansas ;) I will have to use that steemitozarks tag!

Steemit has actually allowed me to connect with several people from Arkansas and I cannot wait to go explore more there asap!!! My husband @jasonrussell and I took a little trip last year down to a few places along the Buffalo and it was gorgeous! I think the #steemitozarks tag is going to be a big thing on here very soon! Let's share our adventures!

Друзья , это очень красиво и необычайно интересно ! Спасибо за интересный рассказ , отличные фото высокого качества , удачи Вам !

Thank you for your kind words @dinar! :)

Such a fun day! I absolutely love thevlast photo!

Fun times @kayla.denise! Our adventures have just begun!!! Now just to decide where to go next! ;)

Hello melodyrussell.
I write a Steemit service project. You can participate in a beta test if you reply to this message with "@username". Replace "username" with any one steemer username and remove quotations and anythingelse from the reply. Thanks!

Looks amazing! I need to make a trip up there

I highly recommend it! There is an infinite amount of beauty here!!! Not to mention all of the neat places that surround us! Hope this inspires you to go exploring!!!

This place looks gorgeous @melodyrussel!

It really is :) I love it.

Absolutely gorgeous!!!! I would LOVE to go there some day. :) Thanks so much for sharing!!!!

Thank YOU for looking @sylviategan! Let us know if you come back down to visit one of these days and I can show you around the spring :)

That would be wonderful!!!!!!! Thank you!!!!!!

very nice shot.

Congratulations @melodyrussell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48