Mushroom Rock

in #travel7 years ago

The Scenic Drive through Little River Canyon National Preserve in Northern Alabama in the USA is an 11-mile drive on section of Highway 176 along the western rim of the canyon.

There are several beautiful scenic overlooks, picnic areas, and hiking trails, not to mention great rocks and a waterfall or two!

image

image

image

image

Mushroom Rock sits in the middle of the highway because a road crew refused to blast it and instead built the road around it.

image

image

image

There are lots of great rocks!

image

image

image

And waterfalls!

image

image

image

A lovely scenic drive!

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 9 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Love all the rocks!!! Especially the Mushroom Rock!!! Luckily the crew didn't blast it off... If not, we won't be able to see the beauty anymore... tip!

Love those waterfalls and white water rapids. The mushroom rock is very cool :)

Beautiful! I would love to visit!!

I love the beautiful waterfall photos! The water cascading over the edge always keeps me coming back for more.

Wonderful place!

I see a rock shadow :-) Now that is a cool rock! I've
never seen this mushroom rock till now, thank you
for showing these photos @melinda010100!
Very nice the road crew went around this beautiful
stone. The larger picture looks like can walk
under the mushroom? 🍄
The flat slick polished rock in the top photo looks
inviting to sit on by the waterfall, dangle the feet
over the side.

There is an opening at the bottom, but an adult would have to crawl. image
National Park service website photo

I think there are a lot of places to swim in the park. I agree that the rock looks like a great place to sit on a hot day!

Swimming sounds nice :-)
Thank you for posting this photo, it sure
reminds me of a dolmen especially after
seeing another one they referred to as a
mushroom shape dplmen in Korea.

I missed the Korean dolmen! How interesting!

You reminded me of some dolmen photos I have from Portugal and France. They are old though, and may not be good enough to post. I have a couple standing stone photos, too. I must go find them now!

Ooo glad I mentioned dolmens, hope you find them! :-)
Ancient stuff is so interesting, especially the stones.
The carvings on them and what all they were used
for. Astronomy, timekeeping, navigation.
I like when you said ''I must go find them now!'' ❤

Beautiful place

Thank you!💜

Nice road trip information. Beautiful place! Love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39