Part 2. Montefiascone

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

After our holiday in Rome we headed to a little town called Montefiascone. It's located in the countryside, about 100 km North from Rome. We stayed there for a month or so, and worked in the garden as well as in the kitchen helping with a catering business. The family, who we worked for, was very warm and welcoming. We are super grateful for all that they taught us and will never forget them and the whole experience. They also had four lovely dogs: two little ones who liked to cuddle a lot, called Otto and Tana, and two big dogs named Nonu and Pepper. They surely stole our hearts. We got to know amazing people, got new friends and learned so much about Italian culture, cuisine and life in the countryside.

I chose these photos as the first pics of this post,  because that's what it mainly looked like in there, and we didn't have more attractive ones in our phones/camera.

Our job consisted of gardening and cooking, and we worked for more or less 25 hours/week. Gardening was super fun job, because we got to work on our own and enjoy the sunny weather at the same time. We got to harvest grapes and other fruits like apples and figs. We also picked raspberries and strawberries and did some weeding around the garden. One task was to pile some firewoods for them to use in the winter. The work was simple and just enough physically demanding for us. We are not afraid of getting our hands dirty or muscles sore, but we didn't have to work like slaves either. Very enjoyable all in all!

That's me working hard with the grapes. 

It was super funny when at first we were so afraid of all those little lizards, frogs and other bugs. We kept flinching every time we saw and yelled "Watch out the gecko!" or something, to warn the other. But as the time went on, we got used to them and they didn't bother us anymore. The dogs were also a big help because they wanted to stay outside with us all the time and chase the lizards.

All the grapes we picked were for used for wine and grape juice.

The lady (our host) had a catering business, so we also got to cook with her as a part of our job. She was a very good cook and taught us many recipes for traditional Italian dishes. Now, thanks to her, we can start our own Italian restaurant if we want to, since my girlfriend (who is a chef) wrote all of the recipes down! It turned out that I'm not so talented in the kitchen (I for example ruined one pie by flipping it in the oven), so my tasks weren't too challenging while Jonna got some more responsibility there. She memorized some recipes and cooked them by herself, meanwhile I polished some apples… LOL!!! It was nice anyways, although I didn't feel myself very important at that moment.

One day we spent the entire day making Sicilian tomato sauce (with their Sicilian friends). I was also taking part in this process as an equal. xD We washed and chopped and boiled tons of tomatoes, and as the end result we had something like 200 (500ml) bottles of sauce. That's helluva lot I think! But it's their tradition to cook it every year for the winter, and it has to be done at the end of the summer, when the tomatoes are best. So if you think that all that sauce was divided between two families and it should last for one winter, it's not that much.

One of the best experiences was to cook and cater in an Italian wedding. The atmosphere was amazing, all the people were so warm and the day was full of love, sweat (us in the kitchen) and tears of happiness. We were blown away by the fact that Italians eat like horses in wedding! They finished every singe dish 'till the last drop in nano seconds. And we really had tons of food: billion different antipastis, salad, bread, pasta, meat, potatoes, risotto, strudels, Sicilian aubergine cakes andandand, which we started to prepare like a week in advance. On top of eating, they also drank gallons of wine. I can't understand how they were still standing and even dancing until the small hours after all that feasting.

We also had quite a lot of freetime during our stay, so we had the opportunity to travel to other cities and little towns. I will post about these trips later.

These pictures are from the backyard of the house where we lived. The views were amazing and we got to relax by the pool in our free time, during the lunch breaks and in the evenings.

But let's get back to Montefiascone. As I probably already said, it's a small, old and adorable village in the country-side. It's mostly inhabited by old people now, since there's basically nothing (jobs, leisure time activities or entertainment) in there. Most of the shops have closed their doors permanently in the old part of the city/ the main street and there aren't too many bars/cafes/restaurants etc in other parts of the town either. It's cozy and beautiful place nevertheless, and the Lake Bolsena with all the black volcanic sand is stunning. If I lived in Montefiascone, I would probably have to have a farm or some other business of my own, to earn a living and keep myself busy and entertained. Otherwise I would get bored quite soon. Unless I was super rich and could just travel around to other cities nearby and spoil myself with long lunches and uncountable amounts of glasses of wine.

We had a damn delicious pasta lunch  (tasted better than what it looks) by the lake enjoying these gorgeous views. If you look closely, you can see our hosts waving in one pic.

If you need a lot of activities and fuss around you, this might not be the best destination for your travel. But if you for example are recovering from burn out or some other sort of mental breakdown, and desperately want and need to stay in quiet surroundings in the middle of nowhere country-side, go for it! And if you get bored, there's always the option to take a train to some lively city like Rome or Florence.

I want to end this "travel report" by noting, that we have so many wonderful memories from our time there! As our first experience of working abroad, it couldn't have gone better. Grazie mille!

XXXX,

Sort:  

Igen?! Alla älskar dig! Fler fantastisk bilder. Tusen tack!
Nog svenska...

Another entry into the fabulous Pay it Forward Curation Contest for you this week! Because your posts are so awesome! This time, it was @matkodurko who sent me. Keep up the fantastic work!

Kiitos!

(BTW, @awakentolife - another possible @curie here.)

Yayyy thanks!🤗🤗 that cheered me up a lot!! I have been sick for two days now and when I opened Steemit to see this comment I really felt instantly better

Big hugs!
I do have to admit to using Google Translate a bit, but most of the time, it's to check my spelling and make sure I'm writing Swedish, not Norwegian.

Most of the time when I check out my cousins' posts on Facebook, I've got it translated before I get there - or the word I'm stuck on doesn't translate correctly! (In fact, another friend posted a birth announcement and the only word I couldn't decipher didn't translate - great help, Google!) I think that when I came to a weird one with "hail" ("hard rain") - I actually submitted a better translation for the first time, ever, lol.

We were supposed to get the leading edge of the massive snowstorm that's marched across our plains, but all that energy went to the east of us - we've had nothing at all... Disappointed.

Hey guys, I liked your story altho I'm not a reader from the beginning so felt kinda lost in the bigger picture :D But traveling and working with locals for shelter/food was alsways on my bucket list. Still unchecked tho..I guess you get to know the culture that way the most. How did you find that family? Workaway.com?

Anyway, I shared your post HERE in the @pifc league, hopefully some more people will come over and give u some support :)

Good to hear you enjoyed reading this anyways! :) The big picture in summary is, that we traveled around Italy and worked through Workaway (you guessed right! Or did I write it there, can't remember anymore and I'm too lazy to check?). Our first job was in Montefiascone and really was an educative experience in many ways (culture-wise aswell). Some cities we just visited during our freetime and after we finished working with them.
I can highly recommend trying workaway or some similar organization (btw there's also some sites for house sitting)! It's much easier to find a job through some of these organizations as a foreigner. Especially if you don't know the language or don't have any contacts with locals at first.

Hah I guessed it! Don't take my success away from me haha :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Read and upvoted ;-)

Italy is a fabulous country... and Italians sure can drink until they drop. I've been in that situation myself.

Thanks for your post and interesting photos.

PS: I've found your post after @matkodurko featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Haha, I know! And as a Finn I should be used to that (heavy drinking) also! :D But still... It amazed me.
Thanks for the compliments. :)

Really stunning looking photos!

Were the grapes better than they are around here? :)

Oh thank you @apsu! The place (and natural light) was beautiful, so it would have been possible to get even more amazing photos from there if we would have carried the camera with us all the time.
And the grapes as well as all the other fruits were super duper delicious, juicy and sooooo sweet there! <3<3

Congratulations @meandyou! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 comments. Your next target is to reach 600 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33