The Badlands National Park Collected | Longread w/ 18 Pics

in #travel6 years ago

Goats of the Badlands

Within minutes of entering the Badlands on the West end there were incredible views and wildlife grazing on the side of the road. Honestly, the entirety of western South Dakota is quite photogenic.

Incredible! Very much recommend visiting this park.

Look for this series of pics to be released over the following days as I process them and write about visiting the park.

The Landscapes of The Badlands

[Striated Mountains w/single tree]

The Badlands are an epic landscape, vibrant and alive for the right types of eyes. While there are more than 240k acres in the boundaries of the park, many features are accessible from the main road that passes through the park. You can deter off I-90 for a drive through the park and connect back up to the highway on the other end.

There is color in the hills and valleys that is so rich, I barely had to edit these photos to bring out the depth of the various shades.

Deeper into The Badlands

There are landscapes so dynamic that capturing them properly requires photos of multiple orientations. The Badlands are in that category. There are incredible views within incredible views. Bring your lenses.

Here are a few new scenes that needed to be photographed vertically to really illustrate the depth and distances. I think the park feels distinctly alive, at least while I was there in the summer. This is not a desert, it is the great plains. While they can seem desolate from behind the eyes of a passing glance, the park was full of animals the day I visited.

Resilient Terrain

Photo Jun 16, 8 39 03 AM.jpg

I have additional views of The Badlands to show you over the next few days. I'm always surprised by the numbers of photos I've taken in one location as I head down the road to the next stop.

Photo Dec 30, 10 39 21 PM.jpg

My photos catalog the views along the main road through the park. There are plenty of features I’m sure I missed the day I went but that just leaves images to capture on the next visit. There are a few parks that I have been fortunate to make a return visit and familiarity really helps to evaluate what sort of activities you'd like to accomplish while in the park.

Photo Dec 30, 10 39 31 PM.jpg

Prairie Dogs of The Badlands

Photo Dec 30, 11 34 54 PM.jpg

The wildlife in The Badlands was more prevalent than I would have assumed, though the gatekeeper told me that prairie dogs were a feature attraction in one section. I suppose that I was thinking they would be averse to interacting with humans.

Photo Dec 30, 11 36 27 PM.jpg

These first few pictures are actually from a managed site where visitors can feed them and get some very close-up pics.

Photo Dec 30, 11 34 42 PM.jpg

As it turned out, even the rabbit I photographed really wasn’t afraid of the people on the trails.

Photo Dec 30, 11 15 34 PM.jpg

Rounding Out the Visit

Photo Dec 30, 9 57 07 PM.jpg

Badlands National Park in South Dakota is a vast area with a few different predominant terrain types.

Like texture packs of a high budget video game, they are detailed and intricately woven together across the landscape.

Photo Dec 30, 10 37 43 PM.jpg

These are the last two static pictures I’ll be posting from the park. However, I do have one more remaining to post to share tomorrow from the Badlands that is a new experiment for me regarding this platform and content type.

Down in the Valley

Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 2.10.42 PM.png

These canyons and the valley shown in the opening of the panoramic shot were my last stop within The Badlands.

If you squint really hard, you’ll see a herd of bison in the valley in the upper right quadrant of the shot.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

It looks completely opposite of what the name suggests! Sandstones and the rock formations look phenomenal!

Greetings from Cape Town :)

Definitely a great landscape - was surprised to find so many creatures out there in the middle of summer

Love this post so much ! What a beautiful collection of photos and the text accompanying them are well written and gorgeously descriptive :) Really lovely post <3 It took me away from my dull office day :D

Thanks for taking a look - it's beautiful park. Recommend the entire black hills area of the SW Dakotas

Very nice post @mdf-365. I haven't been to the Badlands, the closet I got was the Crazy Horse Monument. That whole area is some of the most amazing scenery in the country. Your pictures are beautiful. Keep up the great work.

As you may know @mmunited featured you in week 29 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. Take a look at some of the other posters and think about joining in from time to time.

I was aware but haven't tracked down the article yet - will take a look. Thanks for also checking out my article. Much appreciated.

Is there Discord group for PIFC?

Here you go. https://discord.gg/3VQVnZw If you have any issues let me know. DM when you get logged in and I'll upgrade you to member status.

Such an amazing landscape and I want to feed one of those little guys! So cute!

There's a maintained colony on the east of the park where they are very interactive. Definitely a lot of great views through the Badlands. Recommend checking it out if you haven't before

We will, it looks amazing!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest, curated by @itchyfeetdonica. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Sounds good, thank you for selecting my piece.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for sharing my post with your community. I joined the Discord channel. Look forward to seeing more good content

very nice trip I think. I will feature your post in pifc contest. Thanks for featuring your journey.

Thank you for sharing my post with your group - Look for more travel posts and well as videos in the future.

amazing photos thanks for sharing

glad you liked them

I've been to USA quite a few times and never been to The Badlands before. Looks like another quite unique National Park I need to visit if I ever go back to the US again! Some great pictures and the landscape looks so diverse, thanks for sharing them :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mdf-365
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-badlands-national-park-collected-or-longread-w-18-pics


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67350.62
ETH 2656.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69