My Trip Through Belgium (Day 1 of 5) [Ghent photo collection]

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians! I went on a holiday to Belgium for 5 days. This blog is about day 1.

Internship

It was 6:30 when I woke up. I had to take the train early in the morning. I was meeting my new boss in Terneuzen for my internship that starts in February. Since it was autumn break I planned to go to Belgium afterwards. After we had a good talk about the internship, the company and where he wants to put me in the team, we grabbed a bite to eat at a local deli. My travel buddy Ilya joined us there. We told my new boss about our travel plans for the week and as awesome as he was, he decided to drop us off in Ghent. Ilya had to get in the back of his van and sit on an office chair for an hour.

Ghent

William (a freerunner who studies in Ghent), told me a week before that he could host us. Just when we arrived at his place, he drove up on his bicycle. He told us he had a deadline, so he couldn’t show us around the city. He showed us his room real quick and told us to make ourselves at home. When he went to work on his school project we spread our whole backpack inventory around his small room, and went to explore the city.


Underexposed shot turned out nice.

Roof mission

Back at our temporary home, William was almost done with his project. He told us he wanted to show us a roof of a building that’s under construction. We made up our beds and were ready to go. When we got near the site, we walked around to check if there was no security. We hopped over the fence, found an entrance to a stairway and climbed up. After having to climb some scaffolds we reached the roof of the 22 floor tall library building (64 meters).

Book photo

When we got down from the building, William said he needed a photo for a book he’s writing, so we went into the city center to find a perfect spot for his photo.

Photo by @ilyapk

This was part 1 of 5
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4

Thanks for reading <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63718.61
ETH 3390.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62