Europe - 6 Odd Things You'll Encounter While Traveling

in #travel6 years ago

Traveling to different places always comes with surprises - some are expected, like the weird things that people eat in other countries, and some are a bit more unusual. Here are some of the oddities I encountered while traveling through Europe from the United States.

  • Easter Eggs are available all the time already dyed in the grocery store.

-- I understand this, but still was quite surprised by it. Do children in Europe dislike boiled eggs so much that their parents trick the kids into eating them by providing brightly colored shells instead of the boring white or brown?

  • Bubble Warp Outfits in Clothing Store Windows

-- I've heard of bubble wrap prom outfits designed to win a scholarship, but I've never seen them for sale in the windows of a clothing store. This jacket(?) was one of two outfits made entirely of bubble warp displayed for sale in a small town in Germany. It looks like it would certainly keep the rain off!

  • Working Phone Booths

-- These were all over the place in Europe. In the States, it's quite rare to see a pay phone, and almost unheard of to find one that still works. The phone booths scattered across Europe all looked like they are still used regularly. Maybe it's helpful for tourists, or maybe Europeans are just better at memorizing a phone number but forgetting their cell phone.

  • Unattended Flower Stands

-- Europeans must be more trusting than Americans. These flower stands were common all over Germany and Austria. The idea is simple - the farmer plants a whole bunch of sunflowers, dahlias, or a similar flower along the side of a heavily trafficked area along with a sign inviting patrons to cut their own blooms. Scissors are provided along with a little box to remit payment. It works on the honor system.

  • No Central Airconditioning

-- We stayed at several private homes during our trip, and not a single one of them offered central air conditioning. They all had huge windows which could be opened either from the top or the side, but that sure didn't help much when the temperature outside was well over 80 degrees Fahrenheit. Most of the places we stayed didn't even have a fan available. When asked, each person responded the same way, "It's not usually this hot here."

  • No Ice For Sale

-- Americans are used to drinking ice water and iced tea and having ice in our cocktails. In one town, we looked at 4 different gas stations and 3 different grocery stores for a bag of ice. Each time we were directed to the ice cream. It was even difficult to get a glass of ice water at a restaurant. The waitresses told us over and over, "No, sorry, we don't have that here." Perhaps it was a language barrier thing, or perhaps they just don't like ice cubes the way we do in the States.

What have been some of your biggest oddities when traveling to foreign countries? Let me know in the comments. And when you're ready to book an oddity-filled trip, find me at Travel Life Services.

Happy Travels!

Jennifer

TLS_Logo_transparent-background-256x130.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

All content is original to me, but was posted first on my WEKU page right here.

Sort:  

This honor system is used in Germany for a lot of things that are sold on the road side depending on the region and time of the year: cabbage, potatoes etc. In November they will start with fir sprigs.

I like that. Is it actually profitable for the people who do it? In the States, we have kids who set up things like lemonade stands on the side of the road, or stand on the street corner selling bottles of water...but I don't think most of those kids make any money at it.

Thanks for stopping by!

What country is this all from? I live in Europe and have traveled and visited most of it and this came as surprise to me as it did to you :D We have air conditioning almost in every house, you can buy ice in almost every store and in every gas station and I have never in my life seen colored eggs for sale :D :D :D

Surprises all around then! Well, the lack of a/c was in each of the homes we stayed in in Germany, as well as the hotel in Austria. We were in 3 different vacation homes in Germany. The Easter eggs were in Austria, although I think I also saw them in at least one other country while there, but I'm not sure which one. We had trouble finding ice cubes in Austria - but that was also the only place we tried to buy any. But we seriously looked at every grocery store and gas station in that town and they had none. :-( After that, we kept an eye out in the rest of the places we visited and still didn't see any, although we weren't searching for it after that point.

It's definitely possible that we just stayed at anomalous places. I"m glad to know this isn't the norm for Europe. I was thinking I'd have to come extra prepared next time!

I was just telling my husband about this and we both laughed :) You really had bad luck, or funny luck to be more precise. Europe is normal, at least we are trying to be lol, sometimes we fail but we are usually normal ;)

So no Easter eggs year round? I'm a little saddened by that one. :'(

You can buy these coloured eggs in Germany year round but only since a few years. They are hard boiled. I think they are offered for sale because Germans prefer brown eggs to white ones (don't ask me why) and so they boil + dye the white ones to get them sold.

Normal eggs aren't refrigerated in German stores (there's a long explanation for this, if you want to know let me know).

Interesting that they color them because the white version doesn't sell well. As for the hard boiled bit... I understand uncooked eggs not being refrigerated, but I guess I always thought that once they were cooked they need to stay chilled. I guess there's no more bacteria in the shell when it's boiled than before it was boiled, so it makes sense. :-) Kinda...

Thanks for sharing your idea on this one. It's nice to have answers.

Hey @mattifer

It's always fun to see the quirky differences in other cultures. Some of the english translations are hilarious. For instance Thai's write Crap instead of Crab in a menu. The immature side of me laughs every time I see it! 😁

Romanian's do the same for Carp.

Cheers, Gaz

Oh boy.... I might have a tough time ordering stuffed crap if I saw it on a menu. :-D

😂 Gets me every time!

I remember a few things like this when my mom and I went to Europe a few years back. We spent most of our time in London and it was really strange that the hotel didn't have AC but it wasn't such a big deal because we were there in the fall and didn't really need it. Same thing went for the ice though - the only place we could really get ice was at American places like BK or Starbucks, the traditional British places didn't have it.

The flower stand reminds me of a thing my dad and I used to see in Canada when we went up there to visit my stepmom's family. They had a similar thing, but for firewood. People would just have a box to deposit money, a sign stating how much to pay, and the piles of bundled wood sitting completely unattended and working on the honor system and I remember being very confused by that as a kid XD

Yup! It's interesting how things change from place to place. Most of the hotels we stayed in had AC, which was fortunate. I'm glad I'm not the only one who had the lack of ice experience either. :-)

I love the idea of the honor system...I just don't know that I trust people that much. I've been to State Parks where they ask you to pay a fee for day use. Just put your money in this envelope they say. Hmmm..... Maybe I should put little envelopes all over the place and see if people pay me! :-D

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

i love travel and love your post always. God bless you ❤😃❤

Many thanks my friend!

You would think that not having any ice would be in places a little less modernized.
The answer you received of 'usually not this hot' I can say is true for most places. This summer was unusually hot where I am as well, up north. A heat wave that was pleasant yet has me worried. Different times these years for sure.

Also to see hard boiled eggs being sold at a store that is not like pickled eggs are different for me to see. Can't say that I would trust it lol.

Hmmm... you know, I didn't even think of the not pickled aspect of the eggs. They were not being refrigerated....... hmmmm..... Maybe they were dyed without being cooked? Is that even a thing?

And yes, I expect impoverished places to not have ice, but everywhere else seems like they should have it. I guess it really is a luxury item though.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mattifer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78