Austria - Don't Mess With the Mannequins

in #travel6 years ago

Thanks for joining me in my adventures. This blog is dedicated to travels off the beaten path. You won't find my review of Disney World here, but you might just discover a new way to explore your world. If you're a fan of the road less traveled, I think you'll like what we have in store today.

Today is a holiday weekend here in the States, so I wanted to write a real quick post just so you all know I'm thinking of you. Looking through my photos, I found the perfect image to commemorate Labor Day weekend.

20180805_041543.jpg

Labor Day is known as the working man's holiday because it was formed as a result of the labor unions and their efforts to secure more and better rights for their workers. The earliest unions were viewed almost like strong men and had a macho, tough reputation.

This mannequin in a children's clothing store in Austria looks like she would have been one of the original labor union activists. I wouldn't mess with them, and I don't recommend messing with her either.

20180805_131821.jpg

This stack of books was also seen in the town square in Radstadt, Austria. Perhaps the workers at the library were all on strike? Striking, in the US, is when all the members of a union stop working at the same time in order to secure better working conditions of higher wages. Today's holiday celebrates our right to strike.

What holidays do you celebrate that are unique to your country? Drop me a note in the comments below. And when you are ready to travel for your next holiday, find me at Travel Life Services.

TLS_Logo_transparent-background-256x130.png

Happy Travels!

Jennifer

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Awwww shucks, thanks! I'm loving this community. 🤩🤩🤩

Congratulations @mattifer! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

i just realized we don't have labor day in September! I could use an extra day for sure besides May day. By the way, that stack of books in my favorite photo

I think August is the only month without a nationally recognized holiday here in the States. Maybe we should add one...?

As for the books, I wanted to go in that shop and see what it was all about, but they were closed. I think it's either a library or a travel agency.

Oh yes!!! I wouldn't mess with her either .. haha
I would say Thaipusam, celebrated here is definitely one to look our for. Hindus from around the world including India would come to the Batu Caves Temple. This year it was something like 1.5 million patrons...
It really is quite something 😊

Oooooh, I'm going to get Google right on that one. Any holiday celebrated primarily in a cave has got to be a good one. What is the festival of colors celebrated in India? That one looks like a good time too.

That’s Holi
Also a good one
But if is not a holiday for us, just fun haha

That's even better! The closest we have to that is what we call a color run. Basically, we run for 5k while wearing white clothing. Along the way, people spray us with dyed water. Your festival seems more exciting.

You know, someone has brought that run here
Actually we have all kinds from the music run, to the night run haha
Have you ever been in Malaysia?

I have not, but it's on my list of places to go. What time of year do you recommend? And what is one thing I can't miss that's a little unusual?

If you like to hang out at the beach then do come between March and September (no guarantees though since it can rain anytime) but the other half is Monsoon Season

Not to miss? haha... you can come at anytime for that...
It is the food
Do let me know if you do get to our shores... we should definitely meet up 😊

Mmmmm, I sure do love food! I'll do that. I was looking at a trip to Vietnam in February, but I believe that has been postponed. Maybe next summer then. :-)

That mannequin looks so angry hahaha
Last August 27 we celebrated National Heroes Day here in the Philippines. This was to commemorate all our Heroes in our country.

National Heroes Day sounds like a great idea. We have something similar here when we observe Veteran's day, but that is really designed to honor military service members only. Maybe we should add Heroes Day to our calendar.

Thanks for visiting!

Enjoying the day off despite the rain, I hope you are as well.

I am, thanks! It's super hot here; a little rain would be welcome today. I'm trying to decide if I want to go outside and play or stay in and enjoy a/c all day.

Get out and play for sure, then soak up some AC, you will feel really good knowing you didn't waste the day away. Those days are reserved for when it is raining,

Congratulations @mattifer! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Labor day in our country is celebrated during May 1 and is double pay for the the working folks. She looks pretty pissed about something and best not to mess with her lol. Cheers!

Whoa! Double pay sounds awesome! Our workers don't get any pay when they don't work. Well, I guess some of them do, but the average person doesn't. Some professions also get time and a half for working on holidays.

I'm moving in with you for the double pay.

I'm genuinely scared of the mannequins! :) And she really looks SCARY!! :)

She's tough, that's for sure...but don't be frightened - she can't get you through the glass. :-)

Hahaha, that's good point! :)

That is pretty cool to see. Never have I seen a mannequin look like that, nor any with a facial expression for that matter...Aside from pictures that is. Curious to see how a statue of books like that would be made..

I wonder if it was an antique mannequin. That might account for the expression and posture.

Thanks for coming by!

I wonder if it was an antique mannequin. That might account for the expression and posture.

Thanks for coming by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82