From Malta to Gozo

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer, no people aren't literally freezing to death in Belgium. But it's too cold for my tastes, haha!

Waking up in Malta

When I arrived in Malta, it was late-evening already, and I still went for walk around the capital (Valetta)! I still had to do the #traveldigest that day, but when I finally arrived at the hostel at 1 AM, I pretty much fell asleep on top of my laptop and decided I would do it first thing in the morning.

The hostel I was staying in is called Inhawi Hostel and if you're going to Malta I would definitely recommend it. It's a medium sized hostel, so even during the off-season, it felt lively. The rooms are clean and have their own toilets and showers. There is an outdoor pool (granted I didn't jump in, but nice for a longer stay)! The staff is friendly and the WiFi is good. Oh and they include breakfast. I got all of this for 14 Euros, hard to complain there.

After waking up and snatching a cup of coffee from the breakfast buffet, I got to work and finished the #traveldigest of that day!

Just moments later @gypsybird walked in - she was staying with a couchsurfer not far from the hostel - and we decided to head out. The plan was to immediately go to the smaller island of Gozo and check out what's out there for us to do! Most of my footage is lost unfortunately (dropped my GoPro with sd-card in the sea and never found it again), but you can see the exploration of an abandoned discotheque in my second last post!

Before we started our trip by bus and ferry we decided to grab a nice little late breakfast or brunch (whatever you like to call it) in Cuban Bistro!

After returning back to Malta from Gozo, I would frequent this place a few more times. I really like the atmosphere with the Spanish music, giving you those good vibes! The food - most notably the Breakfast Bagel - is good and the view over the bay is just the finishing touch! All of this does come at a slightly more expensive rate, but still - in my opinion - very affordable for most.

Cost breakdown:

  • Americano: 2 Euros
  • Breakfast Bagel: 4,50 Euros

Standard Price:

  • Americano: 1,50 Euro
  • Breakfast Bagel: couldn't find this anywhere else in Malta (didn't actively search for it either), but I'd reckon between 3,50 to 4 Euros.

You can find the Cuban Bistro on the Steemitworldmap:

The trip to Gozo

I don't have a lot of footage from our trip by bus - we also jumped out on several locations to have a look around - but I do have a quite nice hyperlapse of the ferry trip from Malta to Gozo. If you're looking to skip to the most beautiful part; I'd skip on to the 2 minute mark as that's where you can start to see us getting close to Gozo!

The ferry is free to go to Gozo, but you're paying 4,50 Euro on your trip back to Malta. I personally love to be on the water, so I enjoyed it a lot even though it got pretty cold as there was a lot of wind. @gypsybird actually took out her sleeping bag to remain comfortable outside, haha!

EDIT: Better hyperlapse quality video!

Sort:  

malta and gozo, the islands on the Mediterranean see must be very beautiful!

They really are, I personally think I liked Gozo more! It's a bit more natural, local and laidback, but the architecture in Malta is incredible too though!

Hey Everyone :) I am very happy you talking about Malta. I am Maltese hehe. Yes, I agree with you Martibis about Gozo is more natural. :) I will soon upload a video of my three days in Gozo. I have visited places I never been before and I was surprised!!!

Hey, I just saw your video on hiking in Malta, it's beautiful! You should definitely start adding those to the worldmap!

  • http://www.steemitworldmap.com
  • Click code at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be
  • Copy the generated tag and paste it in your post!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=martibis
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=from-malta-to-gozo


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

What a view from that hostel/cafe, whichever it is.

That one is from the cafe, and it's not bad at all indeed, haha!

POST for Thanks Bro

I'm following back and I'm sharing the content of followers organically. My account for following back is:@followback

How was the weather? I really want to visit Malta this year, asap! cheers @martibis

The weather was okay - not great though! The days it was sunny it was nice, but when it's windy and / or rainy, you really feel that cold somehow! Most locals not having central heating, probably didn't help either! Still miles better than weather in Belgium and the scenery is a lot better too, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83