Cordes-sur-Ciel

in #travel5 years ago

When traveling by car rather, than an airplane, it is easier to notice the gradual shift of culture along the way. For example: When driving around Bordeaux, I got the impression that everybody observes the speed limits and driving was more relaxed. As we approached Montpellier, driving started to resembled what I know from Italy: it turns into a sport 😃. And of course, the landscape changed significantly: olive trees and hills, and to the south, the impressive snowy mountains of the Pyrenees appeared.

ii6mxwa0j2.jpg

t26i9tdw91.jpg

We stopped at the Hostellerie du Vieux Cordes, a very old and beautiful hotel. Cordes-sur-ciel is a fortified town that has been mentioned as early as 1222. The French seem to be very talented at renovating their historic houses without destroying their original character. The following pictures show a few impressions.

u0g6lw9368.jpg

acn4q4s9on.jpg

vhi1gqwfph.jpg

2ktvpc4kh3.jpg

For the night we stopped at a 400 year old house called Mas de Capelou near Avignon.

k9wej4x7hy.jpg

Sort:  

Haha you observed well, I guess the road Terrain of Montpelier is the reason why it suddenly seem like all the drivers are doing formulae one racing. That's a beautiful hotel there Hostellerie du Vieux Cordes, but why are the French really into antiques?

Gorgeous little town. :)

Reminds me so much the beautiful small villages in Greece.

Those old houses...the olive trees...
I hope you had a nice trip Marius

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.74% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Lovely to have this vicarious excursion through the french countryside. Speaking of driving for sport, my wife just requested I fetch her. Living in SE Asia all drivers are in it for the sport but sometimes it seems like they are moreso in desperate need of a toilet. 🚽 🚗

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Great photos. This looks like an amazing place to visit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, you stayed at a 400-year-old house 😮

Traveling with Planes are so Boring, When I fly, I always read books. The only excitement is that when we take off and landing time.

"That's why I love road trips, @mariusfebruary. It's like doing something without actually doing anything"

I have voted on several occasions, but I had not had the opportunity to comment, I liked your photos, they remind me how nice it is to take pictures while we are on a trip which makes me happy. Your photos are great and I take the opportunity to share a little love.
Good vibes.

Very good pictures @mariusfebruary. The first one shows an enchanted castle traveling to heaven. It's the one I liked the most. Best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28