My Travel Tales #2 : Visiting The Most Majestic Dzong Of Bhutan - Punakha Dzong [Photos]

in #travel7 years ago

Punakha Dzong is one of the oldest and most majestic structures in Bhutan and it also serves as an administrative centre.

The day I was scheduled to visit the Dzong was coincidently one of those very rare days when the sacred relics of ancient Buddhists are allowed to be shown to the public. Well, Lucky Me!

IMG_0629.jpg

There is something serene and peaceful about Buddhist monasteries and structures. The environment in and around not only calms you down but it also forces you into a pondering mode; at least I surely go into one, always!

IMG_0462.jpg

In my previous story, I mentioned how I overcame my fear and self-doubt after trekking to Tiger's Nest Monastery. You can read it here - https://steemit.com/travel/@marineman/my-travel-tales-1-a-trek-to-the-sacred-tiger-s-nest-of-bhutan-photos

But if there is one place in Bhutan that I have to pick when it comes to beauty and class, then I would surely pick this.

The Dzong is located at the confluence of two rivers, so techically it is surrounded by water and can be accessed through a beautiful wooden bridge.

IMG_0469.jpg

Meet some monks on the way.

IMG_0489.jpg

Considering it was rarest of the rare day, long queue was expected. (As in all sacred places in Bhutan, mobile phones/cameras are not allowed inside)

IMG_0502.jpg

The flowering trees around the Dzong enhance the beautify of the place 10 times.

IMG_0516.jpg

Thanks to the weather, the perfect mist and dark clouds made the Dzong look like a place out of a fairy tale.

IMG_0609.jpg

My favourite pic.

IMG_0608.jpg

The mountains surrounding the valley compliment the picturesque scene that makes the Dzong stand out as a treat to the eyes..
IMG_0578.jpg

From a distance. This is where I sat for more than an hour, just staring at the beautiful scenery.

IMG_0629.jpg

As peacefulness started overcoming my restless heart, I became more in sync with the place and the tranquile vibrations. Clarity of thoughts took a front seat as the sound of the flowing riverwater calmed down my nerves.

This place surely left a lasting effect on me!

Until next story...

If you want me to post photos of the my Bhutan trip, let me know and I will make more posts.

About me - I am a merchant navy officer. I have travelled the world extensively because of my work. I am here to take you on a journey, one tale at a time!!

If you want details on how to visit Bhutan, drop me a message.

Note: I hold the copyrights to all the images and content in my posts. Please be kind not to copy or share them without permission.

Sort:  

Head offs to you.

Enjoy the ride and thanks for sharing and looking forward to see more from your trip.

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43