My Travel Tales #1 : A Trek To The Sacred Tiger's Nest Of Bhutan [PHOTOS]

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This is without doubt the most challenging and rewarding journey of my life!

I have never been a spiritual or religious person, or at least that's what I like to think about myself. However, it all changed after visiting one of the most sacred places on the earth, the Tiger's Nest Monastery of Bhutan.

IMG_0991.jpg

Eight months before the trip, I was bedridden as a result of a severe lower back injury at the gym. Doctors told me I might not be able to go to the gym again. I was depressed and heart-broken, and desperated needed some time to myself for self-introspection. Someone suggested me Bhutan and I booked a flight two weeks from then.

Here's a picture from the window just before landing. (It is one of the most interesting and scary flights I have ever taken )

IMG_0156.jpg

I arrived early morning at the foot of the mountain from where the trek starts. I told my guide about my back condition and he strictly adviced me to cancel the trip. However, he willingly agreed when I told him how important this climb was for me to gain back my confidence and get rid of the self-doubt, which was at its hightest peak at that time.

The road was tough but I was determined. I tightened by back-support belt, took a deep breath, and commenced the climb.

It was a long way to go!

IMG_0930.jpg

Note: Just to inform, I have always been into fitness and have decent stamina. If climbing is something you have not done for a while, you may take other means of transport as seen below. However, they go only half way. For the other half, you are still on your own. Well I never said, one of the most beautiful places on earth would be easy to reach.

IMG_0935.jpg

Also note that there are several steps on the way. Be prepared for that.

IMG_1184.jpg

Long stairs ahead.

IMG_1132.jpg

An hour in to the trek and I could feel fatigue creeping in my back. I was scared and frustrated, but the sight ahead of me was so beautiful that I just couldn't stop.

IMG_1128.jpg

Came across a beautiful waterfall as well.
IMG_1171.jpg

Finally the stairs to heaven!

IMG_1170.jpg

Cameras or mobile phones are not allowed inside the Monastery.

The Tiger's nest. I finally made it.

IMG_1128.jpg

I must tell you that there is something special about this place and the atmosphere around it. Once there, all my pain and fear was gone. The trek might not have healed my injury but it surely made me stonger than before to keep fighting.

IMG_1090.jpg

At the end, it was a journey worth taking, not only because it help me conquer my fears but also because it lit a flame of spirituality within me.

My best click.

IMG_1276.jpg

Guys, if you liked my first travel tale, do upvote, share, and comment.

If you want me to post photos of the my Bhutan trip, let me know and I will make more posts.

About me - I am a merchant navy officer. I have travelled the world extensively because of my work. I am here to take you on a journey, one tale at a time!!

If you want details on how to visit Bhutan, drop me a message.

Note: I hold the copyrights to all the images and content in my posts. Please be kind not to copy or share them without permission.

Sort:  

Congratulations @marineman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow...Tiger's Nest Monastery of Bhutan what a great sight.. Wonder how the edifice was erected at that height....thanks for sharing I really admire your resolve...

Thanks. Glad you liked it! :)

Loved it and hey....keep it flowing mate...you doing great...
Do check out my blog for a short family story. I know you will love it...thanks

Sure thing mate.. will do!

Awesome pictures! Upvoted ! Would you please upvote / resteem my trip to Basel Switzerland?
https://steemit.com/travel/@cryptomonitor/exploring-world-my-trip-to-basel-switzerland-swiss Thanks :)

Thanks. Upvoted and followed you. Looking forward to more awesome pics.

This is an incredible journey with some incredible photos. I'm very impressed! Thanks for sharing it!

Glad You liked it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77