Exploring Borneo - a travel adventure by @mariandavp

in #travel7 years ago

I visit Brunei almost every year, but today I am going to share with you photos and videos from that special and amazing time when me and my brother explored the wild nature of Borneo - almost 3 years ago.

There is no sky like Borneo sky, and if you think I have manipulated photos watch the video in the end. Borneo is the largest island in Asia, divided among three countries; Malaysia, Indonesia and Brunei. Its rainforest is 140 million years old and is one of the oldest rainforests in the world.

Three years ago, after a few crazy days in the city of Bangkok, Thailand, me and my brother landed in Bandar, Brunei. I was complaining to him that I am not interested in clubbing and nightlife anymore and that we've been so many days in the area and we haven't done any exploring into the natural treasures of SE Asia. He took it personally.

First we went for a jungle run in the tropical rainforest, cooled down in a tropical rain and then we took a water taxi, a wooden boat that is OK only for some commuting along the coast, and went upriver. The driver was hesitant as it was already late (around 6pm) and he was afraid of crocodiles, but we gave him $50 and that is a lot of money in that area. Two days ago, a crocodile ate a shrimp fisherman and his 10 year old son, and Bruneian authorities were looking for the crocodile to retrieve the bodies. It is forbidden to kill a crocodile unless it is for a serious reason like this. I was scared to death too but I have been nagging to my brother for so long that I couldn't say much...

It was one of the most exciting, wonderful and frightening experiences of my life. We got to see many proboscis monkeys, which I had only seen in a statue in NY's natural history museum and MANY crocodiles. In the video I beg the driver to take us back home - ET hadn't called home as much as I did that day, but unfortunately you can only see the light reflecting on crocodile eyes rather than the crocodiles themselves so I sound "a bit" crazy!

Here are photos and videos from that crazy night.

And the videos! (mine and my bro's)

Sort:  

What an outstanding post! Beautiful photo's and an exceptionally beautiful lady. You are truly a gifted creator of artistic value. You bring so much to the Steemit community! 🐋🐋🐋🐋🐋♡♡♡♡♡🐳🐳🐳🐳🐳

❤❤❤❤ thank you so much Michael (I swear everyone will think I have you on a payroll)!!! I guess appreciation is mutual 😊

looks amazing. were the monkeys mean or nice?

It was... Proboscis monkeys were indifferent to our presence, the rainforest monkeys can be a menace but we threw them energy bars so they were busy fighting each other over the food :)

my parents live in Malaysia (though we're from the US) and I got to spend 6 months over there; I got to visit Singapore, Thailand, and Indonesia. There is a lot to like about SE Asia. I think if I could move to any of those places I would go to Thailand, the food is amazing and the people were great.

Well we do love Thai people, they are wonderful but I guess Bangkok can be a jungle although beautiful and vibrant. I've been to various cities in Malaysia, it is the most beautiful country but KL can be dangerous too, so I think I would live in Singapore. I just love Singapore.

I loved your comment about the crocodile in the first video: "Let's not bother him, I would say." Very kind of you, lol

The other videos won't load for me.
Great post.

Haha I was SO SCARED... Home, home! They won't?? They are crocodile close ups...😕

Amazing pictures! I never visited Borneo, thanks for posting this.

P.S: I love the monkey pics, I have some in my terrace come to visit from time to time :)

Alt Text

Wow that's an epic photo!!!! I got hundreds of monkey photos but none with a supermonkey caught on camera 😎

Haha it's just lucky timing :) Your monkeys look much cuter!

Well at least that time around. Last year I went running and they started throwing various things at me. It was a fast run.

Haha so mean, now they look less cute.

Or, let's hope they were motivating you to run faster ;)

They definately motivated me never to run out there again! A few mean monkeys won't throw me into the trap of becoming better.

Bragging with those again Adil? :P

Haha certainly not bragging. Just thought it was timely.

Amazing photos-- and it looks like an amazing place. It's nice to know that "wild places" like this still exist in our world. I have never been to South East Asia, but I see so many amazing photojournals from that part of the world. One day...

The beauty of Borneo is beyond comparison... but it's not that difficult to get there. Apart from the air tickets that can be expensive depending on where your departure city is, cost of living and travel expenses are really low. Maybe a few good Steemit posts... 😊

Greetings from a fellow greek, i like traveling a lot ( when i get the chance at least ) and i really like your post, i found out both about you and your mother at random while scrolling, anyway thanks again for that post keep it up i am looking forward for more

Hey there! It's always great to see more Greeks onboarding our platform! Thanks for reading! I will be following you too :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Important: Please See Our Very Important Post Below Regarding The Blockchain Witnesses:
https://steemit.com/witness/@iloveupvotes/witness-guide-suggestions-and-witness-warnings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49