Busy Bee Day In Sunny Belgium. Crupet>>>Brussels>>>Antwerp

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_3804 2.JPG

Hello my lovely Steemians!

Last Saturday I had a really amazing day full of sun and attractions in the fantastic country of Belgium.

It is not very often in my work that I have a lot of spare time, but this time luckily I had many free hours to enjoy myself and beautiful places. My first stop was an amazing Grotte Saint Antoine De Padoue, 80km South West from Brussels in little town called Crupet, where is a marvelous place devoted to Saint Anthony of Padua, patron of all lost people and things:

IMG_3695.jpg

IMG_3688.jpg

IMG_3700.jpg

IMG_3699.jpg

IMG_3703.jpg

Zrzut ekranu 2018-05-08 o 21.22.08.png

Second stop on my little tour of Belgium was the capital, Brussels. I think I was still under the impression of Christian art, and for sure the Holy Spirit too therefore I've chosen to visit Saint Boniface church, located in Ixelles Municipality of Brussels:

IMG_3746.jpg

IMG_3747.jpg

IMG_3749.jpg

IMG_3752.jpg

IMG_3754.jpg

Zrzut ekranu 2018-05-08 o 21.26.01.png

Last but not least on my list of attractions was Antwerp with an absolute explosion of very high quality street art spotted near Plantin en Moretuslei:

IMG_3778.jpg

IMG_3777.jpg

IMG_3775.jpg

IMG_3773.jpg

IMG_3770.jpg

IMG_3768.jpg

IMG_3765.jpg

IMG_3763.jpg
IMG_3762.jpg

IMG_3760.jpg

IMG_3756.jpg

At the end of such an active day, I've really deserved a proper grilled meal, which soon appeared on my horizon:

IMG_3672.jpg

I Hope that you've all enjoyed my post> Thanks for all upvotes. Let me know in comments which ones are your favorite photos and also what else would you like. to see here;) See you soon guys!

Peace!

fullsizeoutput_1a2.jpeg

IMG_3711.JPG

Sort:  

Loving the street art. thanks for posting.

So many photo's looks like you enjoyed your time in Belgium.
oh yeah..we resteemed and upvoted this post to our network.

Cool photo's!
you got a free resteem and upvote too.

Thanks hero! Very nice of you!

Hey Marczanto,

Great to hear that you're having a great time in our small country :).

I don't know if you have more spare time in Belgium but if you do you might want to check out Ghent, Leuven, Bruges and Liege as well. Ghent and Leuven are more student cities with often cultural happenings (Inbev's main seat is also in Leuven so if you are a beer lover you want to check that of your list I imagine). While Bruges and Liege, on the other hand, are more traditional. Bruges has still an authentic Medieval flair to it, while Liege has more of an old industrial feeling and you can walk through the old coalmines if you are into that sort of things. Here you'll see some beautiful pictures of the abandoned coal mines: https://rvgfotografie.nl/urbex-fotografie/hasard-cheratte-verlaten-kolenmijn-in-luik

I believe the street art in your pictures are made by Eva Cardon (BE) and Thijs Kelder (NL), at least a quick google search thought me that. Antwerp often has this tendency to hire (international) street artist to create a mural on places that otherwise are heavily targeted by "taggers". The reasoning being that taggers don't tag over such pieces and it is way more aesthetically pleasing and interesting than some random scribbles. I don't know if you traveled to Antwerp by train but if you did you would have seen other interesting pieces in the station Antwerp-Berchem made by various other artists over the years hired or invited by the Belgian Railway.

Hey foreveraverage, thanks for your comment full of interesting information and definitely above the average 😊 I work as a driver of antique and vintage furniture, so I am in Belgium almost every month but only for 1, 2 days max. Thanks for the info about coal mines, they look amazing and I want to go there soon too! Also thank you for googling the authors of the street art pieces that I’ve put in my post, they deserve a recognition and from now on I will try to add more info about the authors of streetart works that I post on Steemit. I travel in my van, but will visit Berchem for sure next time I’m in Antwerp.
All the best!

You're welcome glad you liked the little bit of information I was able to give you. Are you able to see all of Europe for your work or drive only between a few?

I didn't meant to criticize the lack of the artists but you're right they do deserve the credit, I can only imagine the work they put into one piece 😊 I am unsure if you can enter the mines in Liege or if it is considered trespassing, but if you can't enter for any reason, the surrounding area seems very interesting for photography as well. Let me know when you've found the time to shoot the mines and/or the street art after your next visit. I'd love to see them :)

My work can be very unpredictable, sometimes I only drive around UK for months and sometimes I visit the continent every other week. However I’ve used to drive much further distances before rather than now. I should be in Belgium again this month. Will let you know for sure. Have a lovely day!

Resteemed to over 18200 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

#resteembot #bestofresteembot #winwithresteembot

@resteem.bot

Feel free to join our partner crypto exchange: https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705.

@resteem.bot

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Good pictures

DQmXotZZBTDKdUY4LdU5iTe6DWYWZi2Z3hWXk5V9TXbvVPG.png

Steem schools welcomes you to the steem blockchain.
Please join us at Steem Schools and get to meet over 5,000 great steemians and learn from their experience the basics of excelling on steemit. You equally stand a chance to get 50sbd from the school as support for our students. Here's the link
https://discord.gg/GcS23Vf

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61155.34
ETH 2383.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56