MARCO'S STORIES - Four days walking in the Dolomites - Day 1: A matter of style…

in #travel8 years ago

August, 15th.

Rome is an empty town. OK, I've decided: at dawn I leave for the Dolomites.

I drive down the midtown. Night lights are still on. The first buses… a few lone passerby… Where are they going so early in the morning?

Among the buildings the sun is arising.

Six hours travel: highways, cars... But now I'm here. It 's crazy! This morning I was in town and now I'm at 1600 meters, ready to start this adventure!

The Val Sarentina is a lovely place.

It is no longer as it was forty years ago (I went there the first time in 1970!): now they have electricity, hot water,... there are roads,... but the valley has maintained its original beauty and the link with the customs and the local tradition is still very strong.

I start from here, to make a round trip on the surrounding peaks. Walking from hut to hut ...

I take the cable car and reach 2000 meters. 

I climb for one hour. The clouds have disappeared, the view opens and the show before my eyes is breathtaking!

Starting from the left I can see the Puez Peak and, a bit more to the right, in the foreground, the Odle Mountains. In the middle, behind them, I distinguish the Conturines Group. Then I have the Sella Massif, Sassolungo and Sassopiatto and among them, in the background, the Marmolada glacier. Then the green Seiser Alm Plateau and the first rocks of the Denti di Terrarossa. In lontananza, the silhouettes of the mountains are mixed together: Pelmo, Civetta, Pale di San Martino... And on the extreme right, but in the picture are not seen, Catenaccio and Latemar...

Still (but just!) a couple of hours and I will be to the hut. It's the first day and I don't want to overdo it.

I walk at a good pace and I continue to go up, to the pass. And when I finally reach it I can see the refuge and the near little church with its characteristic red roof.

And the evening comes...

It's cold outside and the door of the room where we are having dinner (at 6:30 p.m.!) is kept well closed. But the lady who brings food and drink comes in and goes out.

When she comes in, she pushes the door with the tray to enter. Then the springs pull the door and close it again. 

Now she is working in the room, and I think: "But when she leaves... How can she pull the door with that tray in her hands?".

There are three guys, my same age, seated at the table by the door. One of them sees the lady approaching the door to exit. Still with her hands occupied. And, remaining seated, gives a shot to the handle and pushes the door with strength, with the intention to do her a favor. 

The door opens suddenly, slamming against the wall. And starts closing again.

The lady rushes, trying to take advantage of the temporary passage and blankly, mechanically, thanks: Danke.

Slam! The door closes behind her. We are locked inside.

It was a good dinner. I go out to get some fresh air. To look at the moon.

Then, I return inside to ... eat a strudel (traditional apple pie) with whipped cream. And I sit by the door, since now the place is free.

Same scene: the lady enters in the room pushing the door with the tray, serves the customers, cleans the tables and goes back to exit.

I realize. I get up, open the door and, holding it open, I smile and say: “You’re welcome!".

She slows down, looks at me, smiles and replies: Danke. Danke schön. ...Thank you very much.

It 'a matter of style: …gentleman style.
Postscript: What you see in the last photo is not fruit juice, but it's grappa. Homemade brandy. A sip before going to sleep...

I'll be very happy to provide details about the tour, map, huts, paths, photographs, telephones, costs, ... to anyone interested.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks! Keep in touch!

Hi! I've just published the second episode... ;)

Ciao, thanks. Keep in touch!

Beautiful landscape. Looking forward to your next part.

I won't let you down... :)

Hi! I've just published the second episode... ;)

Great pictures! I just want to go there! Spending time in the Dolomites is actually on my to-do list.

And welcome to steemit! :)

Hi. Follow me, then!
Tomorrow the second episode and then the last two of this tour.
Soon other tours, with itineraries and many photos.
If you need more details, write me and I'll be happy to provide them.

Actually, I do not think I will be able to travel to Italy before some time. But I keep the offer in a corner of my mind! Thanks for proposing!

Keep in touch! ;)

Welcome to Steemit, great work, following!

Thank you! Tomorrow the second episode and then the last two of this tour.
Keep in touch!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thank you @holgermarkgraf! ...have a look to the 2nd and the 3rd episode, published yesterday and the day before yesterday!
Next Monday the last episode...
Keep in touch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28