Mwapona Buti? "Hi, how are you" from Maddie--an introduction

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit world!

Just thought I'd properly introduce myself. I'm Maddie, and I'll be writing most of my posts from a tiny community in the South of Zambia called Chikuni. I'll be working here for the next three months or so, so most of my posts will be about the people that I meet here and the work that I'm doing. I'm working at a place called Home Based Care that runs a health support network for people in the surrounding villages who are dying of HIV/AIDS. It also has Income Generating Programs, like a chicken run, a garden, a tailoring shop and a small grocery shop to bring in income for the community members. HBC also does community education and classes on child abuse prevention and HIV/AIDS prevention. I'm working mainly with the IGA's, transferring the records to online files.

A bit about me: I'm originally from Colorado, but I moved to Seattle about four years ago, and now I'm here in Chikuni. I try to focus my writing on cultural exchange, intentionality, positivity, and building connections with those around us. I will also most likely post about food, music and whatever else I find interesting! I hope you find it interesting as well!

Peace

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! I hope to hear a lot of what you are doing over there. And see some pictures of that wonderful place!

Congratulations @maddieo1122! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @maddieo1122! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60