What Can You Buy With 2000IDR (USD 0.14) in Indonesia?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Back when I traveled to meet @Joannewong, I was trying to wrap my head around RM(ringgit malaysia) which has lesser zero than Indonesian's currency IDR. I asked her a question, what can I get with the coin that I had which was 0.50 RM and so on.

Now,if you have never travelled to Indonesia, the bank note starts from 1000, 2000, 5000, with the highest 100000. And yes, you can be a millionaire in Indonesia with the current exchange rate about 1$= 14053.00 idr.

I am going to show you what can you get with 2000 idr equals to 0.14$ for basic necessities.

  • A pack of instant noodle

College students love this. However there are many variations and prices when it comes to instant noodle. The cheapest that I can find is this brand that fits the rate of 2000idr. This will help you survive but never take too much of this. There are healthy options out there.

source

  • 3 packs of small detergent

Again, there are many variations of this product and often each of them cost 500-600idr in a retail shop. This will be helpful if you want to save up instead spending your money on laundry service.


source

  • A pack of dishwashing liquid

Just in case you are settling down for more than a week and want to save up on a meal, you need this!


source

  • 4 waffers or small snacks

Snacking cheap with this wafer and of course there are many variations out there. This is just one of it.


source

  • Parking lot under the sun in any street or 1 hr in a shopping mall.

Better yet, just drive around with Gojek ( The Indonesian version of Uber).

source

The list are actually endless. Living in Indonesia is very reasonable and adjustable depending on how you budget your spending and your mindset coming to the country. If you want to relax and do shopping spree, that's doable but if you want to stay low while saving up for another long travel, it's also doable. I've been in the low and highs, trying all kinds of financial plan and now I guess I'll be sticking being very frugal.

What can you buy with 0.14$ in your country?

Find me on Be Awesome|

witness_ @ocd-witness.jpg

witness_@stoodkev.jpg

Macchiata.jpg

Sort:  

Here in expensive Finland 14 cents buys you pretty much only a lollipop.

@celestal, 14 cents will get me couple of lollipop :-D

I don't think you can get anything for $0.14 in Bulgaria. Maybe one candy 🍬 from the supermarket. What's the averages salary in Indonesia?

@irreverent-dan According to official's website, the average salary of Indonesian vary from 106 to 495$. That is actually explains why everything is rather cheap. 14 cents only for a candy that's expensive!

It is, but the average salary is also a bit higher :)

You can buy probably 3 grapes in Australia for 14 cents, or 1 cashew.

@holoz0r, grapes and cashew are more expensive here because it's something that's rare.

2000 idr is enough for sticks of cigarrette for me
heheheh

I can go To Paris, it is easy with that onl idr 2.000
but in form of photos only. lol

@ekavieka, confirmed I am going to Bali this mid June :-D, Can't wait!

This mid June.
nice, just let me know. .
ah, this Ramadan holiday?

Only a Chupa Chups candy. I can't buy anything else. Oh, goodness...

@solnam, I can get maybe 2 chupa chups candy :-D

wow, the rate of one dollar is so high there in Indonesia OMG. :) lol I can be a billionaire there for having some dollars

@atiqur, haha you can be :)) perhaps!

What an amazing post! LOVE IT! Love the thought, the product pictures, everything !!! [Ok, I'm a sucker for Indonesia, I think you that about me already - right???] I got a job offer for there recently but I declined because what they were paying wasn't even enough for rent.... logic much...?
Now, in Denmark you can't buy anything with 0,14 USD - with 0,30 USD maybe bread on offer at the supermarket? Also noodles as well sometimes. 0,14 USD is 1 DKK - Danish kroner - but not enough for anything. I guess a text message costs less (?)
In the other countries I've lived - France and Italy - plus the one I'm originally from - Greece - still very very few stuff, and usually on offer.

Amazing . I Like Your Post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33