Solo hiking Slieve Donard Part III

in #travel5 years ago


Steep eh?

This is part III, the final part of my hiking adventure. Here is the part I and part II

We are dreamers. We love imagining someday we will go and explore places. Some days never come. We were too busy. We did not have a group of friends to accompany us. We did not want to leave the comfort of our home. It is not the right time yet. Perhaps, next year. Excuses. All excuses while life goes by and our time slowly runs out. What will it take to make you go fuck it, just fuck it? Time doesn’t wait. Out the door, on to the adventure!

I did not have the company, I did not have the right gear, I did not have the full confidence that I know what I was doing or that I could do it even, and the weather wasn’t perfect either. So? I don’t care. I will hike the mountain. I am going! Don’t be silly as I was though. Sleep well before the hike, have a good breakfast fuel and wear better shoes, the kind that will protect your feet on rigid, rocky surfaces. I messed up all three of those since I was too excited and nervous to sleep, had cheese strings for breakfast and my hiking shoes were so uncomfortable I decided to switch to my regular gym shoes the last minute.

Every adventure is an experience we collect. It doesn’t have to be perfect. Sometimes those imperfections are just perfect.



Halfway down the Saddle. Should have saved these for the Boulder Sunday?

On my way back I took my time to capture some more details since I was a bit more anxious and in a hurry on the way up. Even though you barely can spot anyone else in these photos, the mountain was now crawling with other hikers of all walks of life and their four-legged companions. I greeted almost everyone I met, and even though they were just hellos and how are you’s, it somehow felt lovely as everyone seemed to be in good spirits, smiling ear to ear there on their mountain adventure.  



Definitely the Boulder Sunday material. Perhaps, giants got bored of playing catch?




The sheep seemed to enjoy the vegetation on the mountain. I could hear them happily ‘beee’ halfway up Donard by the rocks off limits to people. The mountain is mostly covered with heather, moss, and grass.





The Glen River

If you have ever played a game called Heroes of Might and Magic (I’ve mostly played III), the place reminded me of Rampart, my absolutely favorite town with creatures such as unicorns, centaurs, elves, dwarfs, dendroids the walking trees, and dragons. It matches almost perfectly. Where are unicorns, pegasus, and the golden dragons hiding? Come out, I want to pet you!







The Eagle rocks, one of the most dangerous parts of Slieve Donard





Strange rock formations





The fog seemed to get only thicker up there. I felt slightly sorry for people who were heading up at this point, but perhaps, they were pleasantly surprised as I was by the magic of it.





Can you imagine wind speeds in the valley to take down these powerful trees? Or, maybe some massive creatures decided to take the forest route this time?









Yes, very Rampart! ^^





Hiking Slieve Donard was one of the most amazing experiences in my life so far. A bit scary and challenging as well since I was on my own for most of the journey, but all worth it. I am beyond happy I got to do this and I am so grateful for the mountain which blessed me with all the magic and the beauty I got to witness out there.

Hope you enjoyed what I managed to capture, even though it is only a tiny part of it. Thank you for stopping by and reading!

Song of the day: The Birthday Massacre - Superstition

Sort:  

Awesome! You done well venturing out on your own!

It can be really daunting heading out into the hills on your own, particularly if you've never done it before.

The confidence it breeds once you do, though is priceless.

Great piece and fantastic shots

I’m so proud of you for taking this trip! I’m definitely guilty of holding back when there is an opportunity for me to experience something new and that’s mainly because I can’t find a partner to join. I love your imagination because I was searching for a magical creature to be found hidden within your photos.

Thank you so much! :)

I am so happy I actually went through with it because usually I am also procrastinating about things like this. Lately, I am pushing myself to say yes to travels and adventures more. When else if not now? Our time here is so short.

Oh my goodness look at all those beautiful boulders! :-)
What a fantastic hiking place @m31! The waterfall and
branches is so pretty, all your photographs are awesome!

Those boulders were so huge! ^^ It was so, so wonderful there and it still puts a smile on my face every time I remember being there.

Thank you so much @shasta :)

What an awesome trip and some great shots to go along with it, I feel like its the closest I can get to have taken the hike with you. Wouldn't mind having trails like this nearby, haven't been hiking in quite some time

Thank you! I took so many stops to shoot as much as I can of my findings. Took me a lot longer than the actual hike, but it was a great fun :)

Haven't been on longer hike for a good while as well. I was completely wrecked for days after, but so happy I did it.

Gorgeous~ SUPER GORGEOUS !!! OMG mei~ what a lovely post ! The photos are incredible * ___ * The way you frame them, the way you narrate, and gosh, your humour and your personality shone right through :D I was sitting at the office, feeling bleak and saturated, then I opened your post and now I'm smiling :)

I love that you gave that pep talk at the beginning too XD You are right, most of us let a lot of our inhibitions hold us down so we never get to do the things we want to do... We should brave imperfections and unreadiness. There will never be a PERFECT time to do things, generally speaking.... Aaah, I would like to be a bit braver. Like mei :>

PS. I played Heroes of Might and Magic series and I know exactly what you mean :D These are very RAMPART like, indeed ! My favourite was the Tower towns, cuz so magical and prettiful * ___ *

Aww! Thank you so much Spidey! Your comments are the best and I am really grateful to receive one from you! hugs You made me smile too! Also thank you for all the support! <3

I was giving myself that pep talk too all night when I was freaking out before going and not really knowing where exactly the path up there starts and all that fun and what if it rains, and what if I get stuck up there and what if my phone dies ect, but nothing was going to stop me, because it's adventure time and it's time to experience things in life no matter what the outcome will be.

Oh Tower was lovely as well! ^^ Ah good old days, I could play and play that game and never got bored.

You made good decision to take the challenge of hiking. I think very often when we want to do something we like to do it with someone and then it depends when those people have time and we do not know how fit they are and in what pace the journey will be. It is not often people decide to do what you did, but I am pretty sure your enjoyed it, you were there with your thoughts, your impression about the place and like may be me when I do something alone I chat to myself in my mind, you might be talking to yourself too. The people who we usually meet in such remote places are all happy that is true, they greet each other and very helpful. I am glad you enjoyed your trip and the photographs are beautiful :)

Oh absolutely! It was the best decision ever and I enjoyed every bit of my journey. Even the parts that scared me a bit. Fog scared me at the beginning, my poor form scared me too, but I got through it.

Funny you mention this. I think we all do it when we are alone. I was actually chatting with the mountain hehe

Thank you for your kind words! :)

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Wow, Thank you @elsaenroute and @travelfeed for enjoying my post and supporting travel content of the platform! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

An awesome trip and some great photography you have also shared here I must say

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78