SteemTrail – Why I Joined The TRAVEL Category Curation Team - Share Your Travel Stories - Follow Us @travel-trail

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

When I learned that @steemtrails was starting a curation trail for the Travel category at @travel-trail, I wanted to be part of it.

steemtrail.png
Image credit

Traveling and experiencing different cultures has been a big part of my life and I have lived in and traveled to many countries.

I'm looking forward to hearing your stories and learning about new, interesting places you've been to, people you encountered on you journeys and insights you can share.

Writing about my own personal traveling adventures would fill a small book, but I'll share a few with you here so you'll know a little about my traveling background.

The first time I traveled alone was on a flight to Paris, France when I was 12 years old. I met some family there and we drove down to Spain from France, through the Pyrenees mountains for an eight week adventure. Once I tasted the freedom of the open road I was hooked and have traveled ever since.

I've lived in New York City, San Francisco, Germany, Los Angeles, Cancun, Cabo San Lucas, Dominican Republic, Texas and Seattle.

Traveling for six years straight while touring in a band, we visited three-hundred, US cities per year, stopping everywhere except Alaska.

I've worked in Mexico for ten years as a closer/manager, selling timeshare vacations for a group of resorts. Every six weeks for the last ten years, us managers would rotate to another resort to manage and train the teams at each resort.

The resorts were located in:

  • Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Cancun, Mexico
  • Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

While working for this company as a sales manager, we got ample time to vacation and access to buy multiple airline tickets on any airline for $49 round-trip, world-wide, no restrictions and taxes included. Really, $49 RT! No catch.

Taking full advantage of the cheap flights, I spent weeks and sometimes a month visiting Costa Rica, Fiji, Hawaii, Morocco, France, Berlin, Crete, England, Frankfurt, Munich, Hamburg, Regansburg, Rome, Madrid, Barcelona, Nuremburg and Brazil...

OK, I'll stop. This isn't a book but you get the idea. I love traveling and meeting travelers so much, its put a permanent smile on my face and I have a lot of frequent flyer miles.

I've stayed in some of the fanciest, five-star resorts, couch-surfed cross-country, hitchhiked coast-to-coast, crashed at low-budget hostels and canoed through the jungles of Chiapas, Mexico, spending three weeks with the indigenous Lacandon tribes.

From ski trips in the Alps, foot-stomping grapes in Italy, swimming with whale sharks, climbing Mayan ruins, island hopping in Belize to visiting castles in Europe, I have done it all and still want to travel more.
That's why I'm looking for your stories, to learn about new places to visit and see. Travelers have the best stories and tips about traveling that you can't find in any travel book.

Share your stories of your adventures and advice about interesting places and people you have met along your traveling road with readers on Steemit, and if it's good and meets our guidelines, I may select it for @travel-trail and who knows, maybe we'll travel together some day or meet up someplace wonderful and share a drink.

idrinkforevil.png

Another big reason I joined the Travel-Trail team is to help new Steemians get noticed for great posts they have made about their amazing traveling adventure and to help them get a following on Steemit so they can get off to a great start. What better way to bring a community of like minded people together then to gather around common interests and share what we know about this great world of ours.

For tips on how to increase your chances of being selected by the Travel-Trail team see this post for our posting guidelines.

You can follow @travel-trail to get updates, meet other like-minded travelers and learn of new places you can visit, or follow me @luzcypher.

Happy Travel-Trails!

followluzcyphermanwithpic6ed18.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17