Traffic the Venetian way

in #travel7 years ago

We spend one day in Venice during our summer vacation and yes, it is really a special place, but romantic?? I'm not too sure about that...

We decided after some googling to leave the var on the mainland and then go one stop by train to Venice.

The train was only 1,25€/person, but the parking was still several tens of euros for a day.

Then you might want to opt for a buss - sorry, boat to get to the other side of the city - but you can also opt for a walk over the four main bridges. Just remember to keep your GPS device charged :)

Note that everything that needs to move around in Venice moves around in a boat.

IMG_5846-1CS.jpg

Call for a taxi and you'll get -

IMG_6135-1S.jpg

This one at the 'Ponte di Rialto' bridge.

We did not opt for a gondola ride - there's not much romance in having hundreds of people taking shots of you :)

IMG_5861-1CS.jpg

Maybe next time really early in the morning :)

Here using Canon's 80D with the 10-22mm lens

Sort:  

Nice Pictures, never been but love travelling so mabye one day...
keep your blogs comming

Thanks a lot @heyitshaas,

I have a few business trips in my "luggage" too - I'll try to share some of my learnings...

Nice i will keep an eye out.
I travelled for 4years and looking into my new adventure right now

Thanks for sharing. Hearing now so many reports about Venice not being Romantic. So sad to hear! Also, some and many of the Gondola trips became rip off. Hope to visit Venice soon but I guess we'll have to lower our expectations ^^. Followed you :) We do travel vlogs on YouTube and would like to make some connections on Steemit! Please follow us back so we can be friends :) Looking forward for your posts

Thank you @shinidanitv!

If you want to get romantic - avoid the peak hours (well, 11am to 11pm I guess) - and you can get decent price on most of things (and services) if you just dare searching a little bit outside the main streets.

But just go there before it all sinks down :)

Thanks for the tip!! :) Yea we have to visit soon!!!

I read somewhere the gondola tour is about 80 euros...is it true ? ^_^

Hi @barbara-orenya,

We read that it can be up to 100€ - we didn't even dare to ask...

haha ! understandable ;-)

great pics, been to venetia as well...such an unique place :)))

Yes indeed - something you need to see/live.

And next time we might opt for a local hotel - gives one a chance to get up earlier and look at the places when it is less crowded - maybe even go into some place...

My Italian colleague is planning to go there in February - during the carnivals.

Most interesting topic @lundsten, Venetia has its own idiosyncrasies. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Always appreciated @photo-trail!

lol love it! I've heard many people say that it's not very romantic too :) Although I haven't been there yet. Lovely job photographing it. Really gives me a sense for what it's like there :)

Thank you @natashahall,

It is a place like nowhere else - but requires a lot of time - and money :)

Beautiful shots! I have never been there. It appears to be a photographers dream, even if it does make it less romantic for the people being photographed!

Thank you @melinda010100!

  • I would still like to get some early morning/late nigh shots of the place.
    Someday... :)

you're making steemit a great community with your content lundsten! keep it up!

Thanks a lot sire!

Gorgoeus shots Alf woooooooooooow, but I have to laugh at your introducion lol upv & rsd

Thank you Lena - I'm glad you enjoyed them - in many ways :)

Always a pleasure Alf 😊

Venice is one of my most favorite places - I am a hopeless romantic I have to say!
Following you

Thank you @sallybeth23!

  • likewise

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60543.19
ETH 3336.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48