New Zealand (Part 4) -TRAVEL BLOG- jumping off a bridge: "I will never do it again"

in #travel6 years ago

My final blog about New Zealand, and boy what a trip it was!

Not only the actual trip but also here on steemit!!
I would like to thank all the people that upvoted and started following me on previous posts, with a special mention for @travelfeed, thank you so much for the resteems, it is so incredible helpful for beginners on steemit like me!

Much more to come and i really hope all of you will enjoy my blogs about other countries aswell.

In this blog: bungy jumping at Kawarau bridge, Queenstown, lake Matheson and Mount Cook (Aoraki)

I always said i would never do this....bungy jumping!! But hey, you are in New Zealand, the land of outdoor activities and thrills....so i did it and no...i would never do it again!

When i went to Southern Island, the closer i got to Queenstown more and more people i met started talking about bungy jumping, always asking eachother: Are you going to do it??
Its really building up and actually you have no choice, you have to do it!
Location: Kawarau bridge, the World's First Commercial Bungy Jumping site. It's 43 metres above the Kawarau River, 20 minutes outside of Queenstown

I never felt my knees shaking so much standing on that bridge and i wanted to back out numerous times but i simply didnt want to be the loser of the day ;-) and after 6 attempts to jump i actually did it.
The most thrilling minute of my life and all i remember is myself screaming: Why the fuck am i doing this. It didnt matter anymore, i did it ....omg i did it!!!!

Worst thing was that i lost contact with the person that took pictures of my heroic act and so i dont have any prove i actually did it.These days i would definitely have used my go pro camera, i would have bougth one only for this jump but i simply didnt have it back then.

Earlier, on my way to queenstown i stopped at Lake Matheson.

New Zealand has tons of beautiful lakes but this was my favorite, there is a nice walk around it and it has incredible views with the snowy mountain tops on the horizon.

You should absolutely make a stop here, you will love the place!

Queenstown, an old mining town, the place to be for extreme sports, rafting, mountainbiking, zorbing, ski and snowboard..you name it!
It has about 10 000 inhabitants so it is a small town but with all the tourists its actually a pretty busy place. The nightlife was lively aswell, i was happy with that cos i needed to brag about my bungy jump ofcourse and with a couple of beers the story became more and more intense every hour.

As some of you (followers) know by now, im a hiker and there are some very nice trails around Queenstown.
Best one for me was the Ben Lomond walkway, a 5-8 hour trail depending on the weather i read. The weather was bad! Very strong winds and pretty cold when u get close to the 1748m summit. It was totally worth it, the views were amazing!

The drive from Queenstown to my last destination Mount Cook was a nice one, this is why this blog has 4 parts, this is why you never sleep while travelling in New Zealand, blink with your eyes and you are in the next dream:

Mount Cook was named after James cook who discovered New Zealand for Great Britain but it was actually a fellow Dutchie of mine named Abel Tasman that was first, the native Maori were not so pleased with his visit and chased him away ;-)

Mount Cook (highest mountain of NZ 3724m) is part of the national park Aoraki, 140 peaks higher then 2000 meters and 72 glaciers. A magnificent area for hiking and in winter times famous for its heli skiing ( a good reason to go back in winter time one day).

A must see on your journey to New Zealand!

tasman glacier is so beautiful in the sunligth!

This is where my blog about New Zealand ends, my blogs are nothing compared to the country itself! There is so much to see and to do, i used probably about 10% of my adventures to write about, all i can say is: Go check out the rest yourself!!

For the people that liked reading, please be so kind to resteem and follow me. I am not writing these blogs to make money (but an upvote is always nice), I am writing them to encourage people to travel and give them a rough idea about a country.

I have one more reason to write travel blogs, it makes me go back in time and relive fanatasic adventures, something that is very valuable to me! I hope you will be able to do the same in the future!

Thank you!

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap -45.029344 lat 168.658381 long New Zealand (Part 4) -TRAVEL BLOG- jumping off a bridge: "I will never do it again" d3scr)

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap -43.759440 lat 170.121118 long New Zealand (Part 4) -TRAVEL BLOG- jumping off a bridge: "I will never do it again" d3scr)

Note: All pictures taken by myself, except the first one, Kawarau bridge (downloaded from Flickr)

Sort:  

Improbable beauty.... Photos of the nature of the different countries are always very interesting to me. Thank you for excellent acquaintance with New Zealand. From what height have you jumped off?

thank you for your comment xandrell, its an awesome country if you like diversity! I believe it was 43 meters....i dont want to think of it again! hahaha

Just one word: incredible

Thank you @hefziba !

Awesome! I plan to visit New Zealand too, I'll have to check out these locations then :-)

you should my friend!! Cant skip this one!!!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 17:15:01
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=luckyme03200
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=new-zealand-part-4-travel-blog-jumping-off-a-bridge-i-will-never-do-it-again


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @luckyme03200,

Your post has been removed from TravelFeed.io after manual review by our team for the following reason: missing images

Since it violates our policies, your post has been hidden from searches on TravelFeed.io, but will remain visible when accessed directly.

To learn more about our policies, you may check them out here. Please contact us through our Discord if you wish to appeal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67