You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another Fun Day in Vietnam. And I got a job selling coconuts!..

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

That looks like a great day!

I absolutely would jump at the chance to try out the guns. And you look like a good coconut seller.

My husband and I used to work with a man who'd been stationed in Saigon during the war. He got to know the daughter of the police chief and got married, then ended up navigating his wife to the hospital on the back of a motorcycle to give birth near the end of the war when Saigon was under blackout restrictions. He always loved the country and his wife's family, giving me the first glimpse into Vietnam as something except a war zone in the recent history books.

Sort:  

Lol, I didn't have any takers for the coconuts. I'll have to try again later LOL

I'm glad you got to learn about Vietnam from a local with first-hand experience. One thing I've noticed here is that the people are really open to talking about the American conflict and sharing stories about their families. It's been really nice to get their take on everything.

Congratulations @lturner! Each day I pick a random comment on my post to upvote and you won with this comment. Thanks for commenting on my post and sharing in the conversation here. And please tell @ironshield that I really appreciate the vote for witness. Thank you so much!!

(The upvote will be coming in the next 20 minutes or so)

Wow! Thank you!

I will definitely pass on the thanks. @ironshield still has a few witness votes left and is always looking for a good place to put them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41