Part 1: The Packing List Revisited After One Year of Traveling - My Backpack

in #travel6 years ago

After being on the traveler's trail and living out of a backpack for the last year it is time to review everything I am carrying with me.







First on the list... I am excited to talk about my actual backpack which is specifically the topic of this blog.

There are things about the pack that I really love and there some things about it that I would say are really stupid.


My pack is an Osprey 70-75 which normally sells new at around $300USD.
This one I bought used through Craigslist but the guy only used it for 2 weeks in Europe therefore
it was in Like New condition.
I paid $150 for it.





And the backside...





When I began my journey about a year ago I posted a 5 part blog describing exactly what I am carrying for the next couple years through Latin America.
PART 5 My Packing List: What I am Bringing On My Epic Journey Through Latin America
The Part 5 post contains links to the previous 4 blogs.


For a little catch-up about me and my journey you can visit the following link.
Love's Epic Journey Through Latin America: Where Did Love Go?


My specific backpack is no longer on the market but
here is an Amazon link to view a more recent model that is comparable.
Osprey Aether Backpack





One year later here is what she looks like...
It's only packed with some pillows but you can see she ain't as pretty as she used to be.





Reasons I like my backpack...

  1. It has a lot of space. It's a 70 - 75 liter capacity.
  2. I like the secret center exterior pocket. I keep flat things like my journal and tarot cards.
  3. Adjacent to the secret pocket is another zipper that opens up the body of the bag. Very nice to get to the middle of my pack without having to unload it from the top then take everything out to get things from the bottom.
  4. The straps are all sufficiently long and buckles are all smartly placed.
  5. Easy access side pockets, one for a bottle or thermos and one that has a zipper closure.
  6. Everyone always freaks out about how heavy my pack is. They usually stop whining when I remind them that this 53 year old woman wears it and walks uphills with it on. Then I reveal that when the pack is actually on the body, it is so well made that it is really pretty comfortable. People have actually lined up to put it on so they can experience what I am saying and they always agree with me. It actually feels pretty good.
  7. Osprey backpacks all carry a lifetime guarantee, no matter how old it is or how many owners it has had.





    What I do NOT like about my backpack...



    A. When I think about what I don't like about my pack the first thing that comes to mind is the side zipper pocket and...

    B. The convertible top pocket/lumbar pouch with the insufficient zipper placements. When the pack is not being worn it is placed so that the front is facing upward to access the front zipper leading to the pack contents. The opening to the lumbar pack and the side pocket are then facing downward, underneath. If I open these pouches then everything falls out. Plus, I can't see inside unless I flip the bag over. Consistently this is an inconvenience. This could easily be fixed by just adding another zipper to the opposite/top side. The zippers that are currently present work well when the pack is on my body so I would not eliminate them but just add more zippers.

    C. The broken zipper on the lumbar pack needs to be repaired. I don't use that pocket anymore. If I repair it while I am on the road then I forfeit Osprey doing the repair, ever. If I send it back to the USA with my friend to drop in the mail for me then I am taking a risk of the pouch not being returned to him in time for it to be brought to me in the foreign country I am currently at. The repair return could take up to a couple of months.

    D. smaller pockets for smaller things built on the inside of the pack would be very nice.


    The plan is to write several more blogs about what I'm carrying with
    me and my experience with those things over the next few days.

    Therefore,


    I invite you to Follow me,
    check out my past blogs and
    continue learning about my very unique journey.


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    Keep Following.


    I got many more fun-believable experiences,


    and amazing photography,


    I'm serious!


    My stories are continuously unfolding as I continue my unique journey south.



    Your UpVote, Follow, Repost and Comments support me to keep the...


Sort:  

Few of us really know the ins and outs of backpacks, which are obviously an important factor when traveling, especially as you do. Great review.

I'm surprised you haven't fixed that zipper issue. Even though it would void the warranty, you would have traveled well with it for a year already. Excited to see what you still have in your pack.

I have considered hiring a local Latin to repair the zipper but it has just not been a priority. I don't seem to really miss the pocket. They always want to use a poor quality zipper. It feels to be more of a hassle than I want to deal with and when I need food or a bed the expense of the repair feels very low priority.

The actual field use of the pack is what teaches what one needs in a good backpack. I chose this one the best I could with my minimal working experience. When people ask me where I live I point to my backpack.

In total the pack has 4 zipper pockets, that's including the broken one. Then there is the spandex pocket that is designed to hold a water bottle. It's really not enough pockets.

Grateful for your continued interest and support, @everlove.

I am sending you love while I drink my morning coffee.

Hugs and steamy Steem to you.

I had a Steemy cup in honor of you this morning. I LOVE pockets!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80