A visual tour of Johannesburg, South Africa

in #travel7 years ago

"Is it safe?" was the question on most people's lips when I told them I'd just got back from Johannesburg, South Africa. I was recently asked if the entire continent was safe, in fact. These questions always make me sad, because I know the industry I'm in (the media) is part of the problem.

Joburg has had a hard time in the media – TV documentaries and breaking news have all played a part in demonizing this city where the vast majority of its residents live in peace. There was a time when I too wondered if it was safe, when some South African friends of mine told me I should avoid it if I planned to visit their country.

But this summer (or winter, if you're going by South African seasons) I did visit, and I can say for sure I never once felt threatened or unsafe. Of course, my experience can't be the torchbearer for all, but over 100,000 people visit Joburg from the UK each year and most without incident.

I came away from my visit wanting more. I had just two days there and was enraptured by the positivity, forward-thinking and creativity I experienced. For a little taster, here's a visual tour of the area's I explored:

Maboneng

maboneng-8.jpg

This is Johannesburg's cool quarter. It's an old industrial district, half of which is still made up of derelict, run-down factory buildings and warehouses. The other half, though, is a buzzy, creative collection of independent shops, cafes, cooperatives and a backpackers hostel.

Street art & graffiti

maboneng.jpg

maboneng-2.jpg

maboneng-3.jpg

maboneng-4.jpg

maboneng-5.jpg

maboneng-6.jpg

maboneng-7.jpg

maboneng-9.jpg

maboneng-10.jpg

maboneng-11.jpg

maboneng-12.jpg

Food & drink

maboneng-14.jpg This is a Spanish bar on Main St.

maboneng-15.jpgAlso in the Spanish bar.

maboneng-13.jpgGrilled fish in Arts on Main – a cooperative with food stalls, fashion pop-ups and more.

maboneng-16.jpgThe Living Room – the best place in Joburg for a sundowner. You know it's cool because there are cocktails in jam jars!

maboneng-17.jpgHere's the sunset view.

Soweto

This area of Johannesburg is perhaps the most interesting. It's a challenging place, as its history is intrinsically linked with apartheid and even today some still live in difficult conditions. But it's also mightily uplifting and, with the former home of Nelson Mandela among its many landmarks, an essential stop in Johannesburg. I didn't take too many photos, as I was to engrossed in listening to our excellent guide.

For a more in-depth look at Soweto, read my recent article here. Below are some of the few shots I did take:

soweto-2.jpg*This was our ride through Soweto. A tuk-tuk from Lebo's Backpackers.

soweto-3.jpgSakhumzi restaurant serves a selection of traditional South African dishes in a buffet set up and has an outdoor terrace on Vilakazi Street – the most famous in Soweto.

soweto-8.jpgNelson Mandela's House, where he returned to from prison and his wife was kept under house arrest. Now it's a modest museum dedicated to his achievements. It's small but inspiring.

soweto-7.jpgOne of the bricks in the wall of Mandela's House. I feel like this one sums up Soweto in one word.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lottiegross to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Hi. I would like to see new photos travel guide.

Hi @luckysteem, what kind of travel guide would you like? I'd be happy to oblige if I can help! Did you want to read a guide to Johannesburg?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88