Berlins Underground - Discovering the hidden worlds underneath the capital

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


Image Credit

As you already know I was traveling to Berlin last week. This time I discovered a super interesting sight: The Underground of Berlin!


Image Credit


Image Credit

Since 1997 there is a group of people that are specialized in discovering new underground treasures. Once new sights are found they renovate and prepare them to provide guided tours for the public. The group is called "Berliner Unterwelten e.V." (engl: Berlins underworlds) and celebrated their 20th birthday a few weeks ago.

The most famous tour is the bunker tour. You enter an actual bunker right below the Metro Station Gesundbrunnen that by the way this is also the place where you can get tickets and information for all this tours.


Image Credit


Image Credit

The meeting point is the selling office on the surface. From there you will be directed to some inconspicuous door right next to the metro, that you wouldn´t have noticed walking by.

Every tour includes two guides: One is explaining and answering questions and the other one is looking out for the people. He is responsible if somebody gets lost in the tunnel labyrinth. - So at all time they take care of you. No need to get afraid.

They told us that at every time of the 90min tour we could have been at the surface within 1 minute if we want to.


Image Credit


Image Credit

I have to admit that it is a bit scary in the beginning to walk through this tunnel system. The last time I went on an underground tour was in Edinburgh and that was really spooky.

This time the atmosphere was different. The guides where able to give us a very clear image of how these bunkers where used, how many people where in here and how the feeling was.

You also get a lot of background information about the world war and how the people managed their daily life in it. Both during the war and after. In the end you even get to see a little museum with things people used at that time, that where found in the bunkers and around the city.


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit

The bunker at Gesundbrunnen has several floors and is still very authentic. During the tour walking from one room to the other you can hear the Metro passing by and feel the wind of the ventilation system. It is hardly imaginable to be here hearing sirens and bombers, restrained with hundreds of people!

You get a very interesting 90min tour, that is offered in 7 languages: German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Dutch and Danish.

They already got more tours to offer besides the tour I just described. Click on the tour to get the full description of their website:

  • Tour 1: Dark Worlds: Experience WW2 bombing raids through the eyes of civilians
  • Tour 2 - From Flak Towers to Mountains of Debris: Explore the devastated ruins of a WW2 fortress
  • Tour 3 - Subways and Bunkers in the Cold War: Prepare for a nuclear war with the people of West Berlin
  • Tour M - Under the Berlin Wall: Hear the stories of the people who tunnelled to freedom.
  • Tour F -The »Fichtebunker« Time Capsule: Discover 130 years of history under one roof

Here a few impressions:


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit


Image Credit

For me this experience was a big highlight!! It is a shame that you are not allowed to take your own pictures during the tour. That´s why I searched you some from the internet, so you get a better idea from it.

In the end I will put you this link from the 20. Birthday of this organization and the official website link.
The video is in German though.. maybe you still wanna see it because of the impressions :) - I couldn´t find it in English.

http://www.berliner-unterwelten.de/en.html

I hope yo liked this post and I am always grateful for every Upvote, Follow & Resteem because you are supporting my world travel with it and I will be able to report you from all this places :)

For more pictures and German text click here / Für mehr Bilder und deutschen Text bitte hier klicken.

Cheers, Liz

Sort:  

Sieht alles sehr geil aus! Danke für die coolen Bilder :)

Hey wo warst du gestern? Hatten Munich Steemit Meetup ;) Wär cool gewesen dich auch mal kennenzulernen. Freut mich dass dir der Post gefällt. LG, Liz

Leider kommt immer was dazwischen... Ich hoffe nächsten Monat klappts :)

Das wäre cool! Ich versuch auch wieder da zu sein aber schaut eher schlecht aus... Schönes Wochenende dir!

Alles klar, dir auch :)

Love Berlin, one of my favourite cities in Europe. Great beer, great kebabs, amazing atmosphere, lots of historical places and one-of-a-kind vibe. What more do you need from a city? Great post!

Glad you like it!! The Kebabs are amazing and the vibe is special that is for sure ;) The beer is a bit better in Bavaria for my taste :D - have you been there often?

That is awesome! I love Berlin, have been there over 20 times and still can't get enough! following you right now!

Wow over 20 times?! Thats a lot! But you live around the corner :D Thanks my friend and thanks for the resteem!

Oh I didn't know about this wow thanks for sharing I will need to try this out :) I am living in Berlin at the moment great tip

Oh really? Nice!! Maybe you can also try out some of the other tours and let me know! I didn´t have the time to do more of them. I would love to hear about it! A shame we didn´t meet up when I was there :( ... Time passed too fast as always!

Yeah definitely I was thinking of doing a few planned tours so I can be sure to let you know all about it ... I know I hate that, so much to do with little time... It is a shame maybe next time ;)

Great! I am looking forward to your feedback! Yeeeah it is really a shame!! Well I am going on my travel soon... are you gonna be in Munich at some point? If not we just meet up somewhere in the world while my world trip haha. Have a nice Friday! Weekend is close :)

Oh travelling I look forward to your posts soon then on your adventures... I am staying in Berlin at the moment hoping to move to Spain so I will probably only be seeing the whole of Berlin whilst I am here Munich would be good though... Yeah I will keep my eyes peeled for where you will be next then! You have a good weekend ;) Just enjoying a glass of wine now :)

Wow nice, I think you should come by to Munich first ;) Its totally diferent! I will do some post about it soon. Where do you wanna go in Spain? Its interesting too!! Soo much to see and do over there!! I will follow your travels too!

Yeah I think I will since I am in Germany for a while :) Yeah Look forward to you posts then ... Want to return back to Palma De Mallorca lived there last year and my friends live there so it's the goal to move back again.

Wow that sounds great! I have never been there but I just heard great things about it ;)

Awesome! Thanks!

You are welcome :)

Communication is key so commenting in my eyes is the best response. Plain and simple.

@lizanomadsoul

Hey, I like your blog. Left you a few comments :)

Looks interesting. I didn't go when I was in Berlin... definitely next time! :)

It isn´t that popular yet but I really enjoyed it and I think there will be more and more people visiting! It is definitely something special, you should see it some time :) Glad you liked it. I saw that cervantes is organizing a meeting in Madrid soon, thats great! We just talked about something like that in Germany yesterday at a steem meetup. I am following you to see how it was :)

Yes, Madrid meet up next Thursday, should be fun! And good to meet some Steemians in person... and brush up on my Spanish! ;)
Definitely keen on going to Germany again. Berlin for one, but also Munich and other places. I'll certainly keep an eye out for Steemups (or whatever the term is) and other meetups when I'm back there... :)

Are there a lot of people coming by? The Munich Steem ups are taking place in the second week of the month... most likely. Really a fun group. We had one yesterday.. I am gonna write about it soon.

I'm not sure... there seems to be a few interested but I'm not sure of final numbers, so we'll see! Sounds like things are rolling in Germany. I've mostly seen Barcelona mentioned (in terms of Spain) since I've been on Steemit, so it was good to see Madrid is alive and steeming!

Yeah, Germany is big! Don´t know about spain though. I will keep updated about your posts to know more soon :)

Fascinating! Thanks for sharing! Upvoted and resteemed.

Wow thanks! That is really kind of you! I saw that you are a traveler yourself and you do great art!! I am following you! Let me know if I can do sth for you :) I am always happy to support other travelers.

thanks so much!

WOW, these picture look amazing! @lizanomadsoul

Hey there, thanks :) We weren´t allowed to take pictures during the tour so I had to find them on the web... The video shows more inside though. Glad you liked it :)

Wow - this must surely send a few chills down your spine

Oh yeah it did! Especially knowing that your grandparents had to live all that.. but it was really interesting. Something you normally just know from books. I loved it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64