The mountainous Switzerland

in #travel6 years ago

20180912_182509.jpg

I had visited Switzerland once before. When I was eight years old and my mom and her husband at that time decided to actually go on a honeymoon. But it was not a regular one. We packed up the car and went on our way, driving all the way from Latvia to France through the South and back through the North. We slept in the car, we ate in the car, and we took a lot of photos that have been displaced since.

When I went to Austria, Jonas and I made the decision to make a road trip through Switzerland. You know, in Europe everybody is close to everybody and the Swiss Alps are right next to the Austrian Alps. So, we got into the car and drove to St. Moritz. I did not remember much of the city even though I had been there once before. Next to the recollection that St. Moritz was where wealthy people lived, I had not a single image in my mind of it. And I soon found out why. It is a regular looking town. Nothing like the small country of Monaco or the Vienna cathedral.

St. Moritz was okay but nature around it was so much better! So, I did not stay in the city for long. We drove through it and moved on, to explore more mountains and views. You should keep in mind that Kaunertal, Austria (where we stayed) is only 130 km away from St. Moritz but it takes more than 2 hours to get from one to the other. As soon as you reach the Swiss border, that has no passport control on a good day, the roads become a little interesting. They twist and turn around mountains, there are quite some roadworks that mostly do not stop you but just slow you down a little, and the speed of your vehicle will stay low as it is physically impossible to drive fast there. Unless you believe you can fly...

20180912_170549.jpg

The first place that we really visited was the Suvretta House. It was a boarded-up building that felt deserted. But the luxury hotel is supposedly open all year round (Don't quote me on that). It is just big on privacy. I have no idea why I was taken there, it was really not my cup of tea to look at a simple bock of a building. For, Jonas, he just wanted to show it to me because years back the infamous Bilderberg Group had a meeting in this high-end hotel and Jonas had been there to check it out at that time.

For me, I just did not like the vibe of the place. It reminds you of a haunted hotel. Something that would come out of the American Horror Story series. The exterior is very uninviting and the doors are closed. I guess that comes with privacy. Or bookings were down... Either way, not my cup of tea. But the views from the place were nice. As I was higher on a hill, I saw more of the surroundings.

My time here was short and most of this day in Switzerland I spent in the car, occasionally getting out to make some pictures and walk around. This was more of a road trip to us and I enjoyed it very much as, otherwise, this part of Switzerland is not very different from Tyrol, Austria. Both, the houses and the mountains were higher here so it was nice to look at things and wonder if I could ever climb them.

20180912_182747.jpg

The mountains in the Swiss Alps do look a little bit different from the Austrian Alps. You notice subtle differences that make the experience completely distinct. The water here was in a more crystal blue color, the roads mold around the base of mountains. There are many more liquids in general. Much more roadworks, too. But, in return, we did not encounter one bad road so they are doing it right!

The gas here is cheaper. Oh, and as the Swiss are not in the EU, they have their own currency. You can still pay with Euros, though. Just be ready to receive change in Swiss Francs and remember that they will likely decline to accept Euro coins. Just the bills are worth it! So stack up your paper or make sure to exchange money beforehand. Or... Just pay with a card. There, that is an idea!

I did not see anything that begged of me to be observed for a long while. We went to Switzerland, got to St. Moritz and then drove back, taking another way. That is the magic about road trips. Never take the same road twice and always try to drive in the light of day. I was home when it was after 10 PM but we still got to see many amazing peaks before the night took back its mantle.

20180912_184439.jpg

Here, next to the body of water, I made a flower crown. I saw these Latvian wildflowers and just could not resist. You usually make the crowns in midsummer but, as I did not get to make one there this year, I did it in Switzerland. I was very surprised about how the grass is the same here as in Latvia. The same weeds grow here and the same flowers. I guess the climate at the base of the mountains is the same as in the colder Latvia.

I can safely say that the second half of the trip was more impressive than the first. It was when we really stopped for some places and wanted to find a restaurant to fill our bellies. Right before dark and a few villages behind us, we started really thinking about it. My plan was to reach the Austrian border and then find a nice restaurant but we still checked out some menus in a couple of the villages. They were quite steep in prices although survivable if you went for a special event. We still went to Austria and had the best pizza ever, in a nice Italian restaurant that had the only kitchen left open in a whole town.

The price difference is striking although it is nothing new. Switzerland is known for its price tags. And their three different language regions. And the fact that they are where the money is at. Other than that, I know little about the country. I, unfortunately, had no chance to meet any locals and I can say nothing about their hospitality but I can confirm that the country is magically beautiful and worth visiting if you like high peaks and wonderful vistas.

20180912_195013(0).jpg

Traveling all over the place I have learned that every culture has their own rhythm. For example, Latvian grocery stores close at around 10 PM and work 7 days a week. German supermarkets lock their doors at 8 PM and are not open at all on Sundays as well as holidays. The same with restaurants. Gran Canaria, Spain, keeps restaurants open well into the night, you will have no problem finding an open kitchen at night. In Austria, the restaurants had their kitchens closed right after 9 PM. In France, they do not serve any food from 2 PM to 7 PM as dinner starts after that.

There are so many little things that change from country to country. For example, eating habits. That is a big one and you should always look it up when going to a place for a lengthy time, especially if you are a foodie.

Do you guys know what a very traditional Swiss food is? I have no idea about these dishes. How are the people? How were the roads when you visited? Are most restaurants pricier than average in Germany and Austria? What are your experiences and which are the best places to visit here? Tell me a story about your trip to Switzerland down in the comments, I would love to read one!

Capture.PNG
Here is the route we took.

It was a magically summery day when I was in Switzerland. The skies were very blue and the clouds scarce. The air there is crisp and clear thanks to the Alps. It is a great place to visit and there are so many mountains... For a person like me, that comes from a country where there are no mountains or even hills (just one, on the other side of my country), these peaks left a huge impression. I know because I have my memories, from childhood, when I was little. Of the mountains in front of us. Me sitting in the car and gaping at them.

The gallery


20180912_173013.jpg
20180912_174123.jpg
20180912_174220.jpg

The Suvretta House from another angle. And the magical blue in their water.

20180912_173021.jpg
20180912_151931.jpg
20180912_151944.jpg

The modern towns. The country. And the roads

20180912_171528.jpg
20180912_174103.jpg
20180912_174151.jpg

The Survetta house sign. The view we had all the way. And the couple of trees I caught while in motion.

20180912_174135.jpg
20180912_190733.jpg
20180912_181237.jpg

More, more, more! Hiding behind a shield of flowers. And when the sun starts to set.

20180912_182442.jpg
20180912_180122.jpg
20180912_185522.jpg

On top of the world once again. The odd house of the witch. And, yes, I am looking into the future!

20180912_184312(0).jpg
20180912_184411.jpg
20180912_182822.jpg

Bits of knowledge. As far as you can see. And the beauty of nature.


I wish you an amazing day. Today, tomorrow, and forever!
Linda.

Sort:  

Funny, it seems like half the people in my stream that are travelling are writing about Switzerland! I was there for work last week and have been there on and off during the past years, and it always throws me how expensive food is there. Eating out (when you are on tour) becomes quite a substantial part of your budget, and I also keep forgetting to bring the Swiss Francs that I have leftover from previous visits. Maybe in the not too distant future, they will accept crypto payments as well (although, that would still be expensive...). That would make things easier and not result in so much shrapnel...

I think the universe is telling us to live more like the Swiss by sending us there :D
The food is ridiculously pricey, sometimes picking up triple or quadruple from the prices in Germany. I remembered that from my childhood but it was still a shock to stop at a small village and see a menu that seems like it is going to eat you and not the other way around.

That would be something! If the Swiss accepted crypto!

Very impressive blog and you have excellent writing skills. I'm not that of a writer but I have some willingness to be one. The way you've praised the hills out there, I bet you're gonna love even more if you visit Nepal. It's such a beautiful country and full of excellent scenarios. I'm following you just because of your writing skills. I just loved it and want to learn even more from you.

Thank you! :) I mostly love every country I visit. Every place is different and unique and there is so much to see! I love to travel so... :D

Awesome Switzerland's photography.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 133 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65