Soaring above clouds in Gran Canaria

in #travel6 years ago

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.24.56.jpeg

There is an island somewhere in the Atlantic Ocean. It stands proud and tall. It is a sight to behold. I look back at it, through a child's eyes. Yes. This was the first place I traveled to, and yes, it took my breath away back then. The times have changed. The people have changed. The politics, the economics, the living, and doing. But the nature of the island. The rocks, and caves, clouds up high, have somewhat stayed the same.

Gran Canaria used to be a huge spectacle for tourists. Like Ibiza now, in summer. I remember being five. My mom was holding my hand tightly and dragging me behind her. There were so many people it was mind boggling, I could not wrap my head around it. Now, the only time I see so much people is when the Carnival comes around. People dance, and they celebrate. It has both good and bad. But it only happens once a year, in February/March, for a week.

I do not regret the island not being a party paradise anymore. What used to be oriented towards young adults getting smashed is now for families and grandparents. At first glance, the island looks kind of boring unless you are here to lay in the sand and catch some sun. A lazy holiday is great here. But there is another side to the floating rock in the middle of an ocean. The side that you can explore. The mountains and the forests. The rocks and the hidden water places. The island is the ideal place to go if you are looking to hike and spend time in nature. The air up is crisp, the views breathtaking.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-14 at 01.00.01.jpeg

The overnight hike


Let me start at the beginning. I guess that is the best place of them all. Recently I went for an overnight adventure. Following the path of a river, finding wild mangoes, and sleeping in nature, just like that. With no civilization around. With the internet gone. With obstacles that convinced me that people did not pass through these places often. If at all.

There was this one spot that had no trails of any kind. No structures or waste. It connected two sides of a riverbank that seemed untouched by human hand. There were no human-planted trees or shrubs. Just me. Bare. Connecting with the world around me.

I had a bottle of water with me. Food, a blanket for the night. It was an interesting thing to do, especially because I had not camped for a long while. I followed a path form Tauro, Gran Canaria to Las Filipinas. Mostly the rivers guided me but I also had to hike up a hill and walk along a stony path carved in the rocks. There was a road. There was a house, a dam. I even got naked and swam in a natural water body.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.33.14 (1).jpeg

The funny thing is, I do not do these kinds of things very often and even though I was prepared, I was really not. The next day I reached a road and a town. My feet were tired and I needed water but the grocery store was closed for lunch, so my journey brought me back downhill. Lucky for me, a decision to hitchhike was made and a lovely woman picked me up. Why lucky, you ask? Because the road down turned out to be twists and turns and it would have taken me until the next night to get home.

There was also no bus on the way and the closest grocery turned out to be kilometers away so I was pretty satisfied for getting home with the woman who brought me almost to my doorstep. I gave her a pair of wild mangoes as thanks and wished her the best. She was an amazing person.

At this point, I was starving and thirsty so I sat down in a bar and ordered some food that was not great but had to do. It was better than nothing and I was hungry as a WOLF! The point that I am making is that there are many, many trails to explore in Gran Canaria. You can drop off grid easily and still be just a kilometer away from civilization. There are some places where people just do not go. They are not dangerous, just not so well known and quite hidden between hills. So stack up on supplies, come over, and let us go for an adventure together!

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-14 at 01.00.00.jpeg

If you have been to a tropical island already, you might know that they are hot. Very, extremely hot. And hiking in the afternoon is just mad if you are not protected from the sun. That is why I moved along a riverbank encased in high hills that kept the sun at bay. For the most part. You need a hat and water. You should go for these adventures in late autumn or winter. Summers are just too heavy.

You should also start either early in the morning or late in the afternoon when the worst heat is over. Do not, ever, forget about yourself and your health! There is such a thing as walking too much. It happened to me when I climbed that mountain in Austria. My legs almost gave out on me at some point and it was not cool to walk for the following days.

I would also say that you should pack lightly if you do not hike often. The added strain of kilos takes even more energy from you. Start with shorter distances. Maybe a day hike if you have never camped before. You see, ever since I was little I did these outdoorsy things so I know them. You need someone with you who knows how to build a tent. It seems ridiculously simple to me but there are people out there who are not able to do it without help. I have met at least one and let me tell you, thank whoever that I can build one in the dark.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-14 at 00.59.59 (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-14 at 00.59.58.jpeg

The hills and the mountains


Another day during my holiday here, in Gran Canaria, I went on a different adventure. To the middle of the mountains. Where Rocque Nublo is. Where you can see Tenerife, the other island, from. Where the wind is blowing and where the air is really crisp. There you can find pine trees and fallen cones. Catch a glimpse of birds and get lost in the views. Even howl at complete strangers that you can't really see. Yeah, I did that. We got into a howl fight.

The trip to get there was fun but I must warn you, you need a car or any other transport. Unless you are a seasoned explorer that is used to walking a lot and sleeping in a tent every night. I am not yet ready for such an adventure. And, keep in mind, there is a lot of going uphill from the beachy towns to the highest point of the island.

My trip took me from Maspalomas to the top this time. On the way, I saw many beautiful sights but what really caught my attention is something that I have no photo of. There was a man and a woman who I guess was his wife. With a stall set up on the side of the road. They were selling many self-made things. From home-made marzipan to almond marmalade. Yeah, you heard that right. I had never heard of the almond thingy.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.26.00.jpeg

Not only were there many delicious things but I had also stopped at the side of a volcano that had erupted a couple of years prior. I never knew that Gran Canaria had active volcanoes. Even if it is tiny and resembles a baby more than a grown-up fire spitter. I had never even heard of it!

I love the island. When you strip all the ugly and tacky-touristy away. But I love the rocks the most. I do not know why but you know that feeling? When you feel free. Like flying. Like there is nothing and no one that can stop you? Yeah, that is how the heart of this small, round island makes me feel. Like I am on top of the world.

I think the island is also the place that makes me long for travel. All the time. I want to see the world and I want to live it. I want it to make an impact on me before I leave an impact on anyone else. I don't know. It is a majestic and humbling feeling at the same time. I have no way of explaining it.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.24.53 (1).jpeg

There are many places to visit when you are here. Tejeda is a wonderful town with a couple of local restaurants that cook exceptional Canarian food. The highest point of the island is very popular because of the view it offers. The header image of this post was taken there.

You can soar above clouds here and the weather is nice. Not too much heat, not enough rain. Many places to stop at and have a lunch. There are tables and stools every couple of hundred meters. There are caves. Some have seen human touch. Others are laying hidden and provoke your imagination. What if the journey to the center of the planet could start in Gran Canaria? What if there are people, gnomes, fairies, living underground? I have that spirit. I love to dream.

It rains here more often as well so I would bring a raincoat. It is a bit chilly so I would wear pants instead of shorts. But if you intend walking a lot, shorts are not such a bad idea after all. If you dare, you can get off the trail and go naked. I do not have the courage, yet, but maybe one day. After all, there are not that many people that could see you.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.33.17.jpeg

I found these wonderful pups along the way. One of these days...

The gallery


WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.33.14.jpeg

During the hike. Before finding a road and catching a car.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.33.13.jpeg

A closer look.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.24.52.jpeg

If you look close enough, you can spot me.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.24.50 (1).jpeg

That little ball in the distance is the highest point of the island.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.24.53 (2).jpeg

That rock is Rocque Nublo and that mountain far away is Tenerife.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-12 at 22.24.53 (3).jpeg

Soaring above those clouds.


Have a great day. Today, tomorrow, and forever!
Linda

Sort:  

I've got a cousin that spent the last 6 years of his military career at the USAF base in the Canaries. I'm not certain which island it was on.

He and his wife loved it (the reason they stayed for 6 years). Their kids were all teenagers and got a lot of lessons from Mom and Dad.

The kids are now all out of college (two of the three came to the states for school) and Tim is teaching ESL in Italy. They have lived a good life, it seems.

Thanks for a beautiful look at a beautiful place.

There is a military base in Gran Canaria! It is right next to the ball built on the highest point of the island! Maybe that is where he was!

Yeah, I lived here for a year but the climate is not for me. I like my cold and in Summer it gets excruciatingly hot. I do however love to stay for holidays. Or come to clear my mind for a couple of months. My aunt has lived here for around 20 years so I always have a place to stay.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 474 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Dear @lindahas,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Sure! Feel free to include the post :)

Nice, @lindahas thanks :) Steem on, looking forward to read more of your stories.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest, curated by @itchyfeetdonica. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lindahas
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=soaring-above-clouds-in-gran-canaria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great post! I will surely one day visit Canary!

You should if nature is your jam! :)

Many people have proposed me to go to Canary - as a must! 😉 & not only because the nature...

Why else? :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48