Chapter 11 Expats Making Chocolate in Costa Rica

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My husband and I are originally from the United States, we decided to move and live in Costa Rica. So, in 2015, we sold everything (house, furniture, and personal belongings) and moved to San Jose, Costa Rica. We had never lived outside the USA before. I’m posting some stories about our experiences during that first year. In 2016, we moved to Panama where we are currently still living.
My last post was about a great retreat called Rio Chirripo. Within minutes of Rio Chirripo Hotel is a small 100% organic chocolate business named Samaritan Xocolata. Samaritan Xocolata Canaan de Rivas, Pérez Zeledón, Costa Rica
http://www.samaritanxocolata.com

The business began in 2005 and was moved to this location in 2011. If Hollywood were making a movie about this business, they could not have selected a more perfect location, nesting into a mountain side. Tao, a co-owner of Samaritan Xocolata works in this small space, producing the finest chocolate I have ever eaten.

Roger and I signed up for her chocolate workshop (usually held by appointment on Tuesday or Saturdays). In total, it is a 2 ½ hour hands-on walk through of the entire chocolate making process. She purchases only local grown purely organic cacao beans from local farmers. She takes you through the entire process of fermenting, drying, peeling, toasting and the grinding of the cacao seeds.

The cocoa beans before and after peeling the skin off.

I was amazed at the number of steps there is to making chocolate. Tao hires local women to “shell” the skin off the cacao beans which provides income to these women that might not have the chance to work. In most mass produced chocolate processes the thin skin is not even taken off, just ground with the beans. It is bitter so to compensate most processes just add more sugar. Here, when you purchase 90% chocolate that is exactly what it is… 90% chocolate with 10% sugar, nothing else.


The beans are ground and produce this thick liquid of pure chocolate.

It’s not totally smooth after the first grind so it goes into a stone on stone grinder to remove even the smallest lumps. The chocolate is tempered in small batches and then molded into their final shape and flavors.

Tempering is the science part of making chocolate. It has to be at exactly the right temperature.

We decided to make almond bars. All the other ingredients used here are organic also.

The final product is cooled. Gloves are worn (body temperature will melt the chocolate) to remove any excess spill over, and to make the bar look perfect.

I happen to mention that my all time favorite chocolate is orange creams. Those are my “go to” chocolate; if I’m happy “go to” orange creams; if I’m sad “go to” orange creams. I have literally bought orange cream chocolates around the world. Tao said let’s make some orange cream chocolates. Now I am really happy!

I was totally confused when she took out a mold and began to fill it totally with 70% chocolate. OK, now I’m thinking how is she going to get the cream inside?

Tao laughs as she pours out the excess chocolate and leaves a coating on chocolate in the mold. The orange cream consists of white chocolate with condensed sweeten milk. Added to that mixture is the pure orange extract. After the molds have cooled we begin to fill the molds with the orange mixture. Then the chocolates are topped with a layer of chocolate to seal the cream inside. Cooled again, then we all try the end result.

These are not chocolates that you stuff in your mouth and eat. They are like a glass of very fine wine. Take a bite then let it sit on your tongue as your body heat melts the chocolate in your mouth, and the flavors explode.

Oh yeah they are that good.

Here are the links to my other "Chapters", I'd be honored to have you read them.
I truly appreciate all my followers!

Chapter 1--Moving to Costa Rica. Getting your life into 6 Bags of luggage
https://steemit.com/travel/@lindabasilick/moving-to-costa-rica-getting-your-life-into-6-bags-of-luggage

Chapter 2--Costa Rica ....Farmer’s Markets.... Ferias
https://steemit.com/travel/@lindabasilick/farmer-s-markets-in-costa-rica

Chapter 3--Costa Rica…How to figure out where a bus goes in Costa Rica in 2 steps
https://steemit.com/travel/@lindabasilick/chapter-3-costa-rica-how-to-figure-out-where-a-bus-goes-in-costa-rica-in-2-steps

Chapter 4--Costa Rica... San Jose Beautiful
https://steemit.com/travel/@lindabasilick/chapter-4-costa-rica-san-jose-beautiful

Chapter 5--American Expats in Costa Rica: When you have no one to talk to…. Are you forced to talk to your husband?
https://steemit.com/travel/@lindabasilick/chapter-5-american-expats-in-costa-rica-when-you-have-no-one-to-talk-to-are-you-forced-to-talk-to-your-husband

Chapter 6--Exploring Sarchí, Costa Rica........ Artisan Quint Town
https://steemit.com/travel/@lindabasilick/chapter-6-exploring-sarchi-costa-rica-artisan-quint-town

Chapter 7 --Train Crossings in Costa Rica
https://steemit.com/life/@lindabasilick/chapter-7-train-crossings-in-costa-rica

Chapter 7 (sorry I have 2 Chapter7)-- Learn Spanish the Hard Way: Wait until you are 67.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@lindabasilick/chapter-7-learn-spanish-the-hard-way-wait-until-you-are-67

Chapter 8--The First Day I Felt Like I Belonged in a foreign Country
https://steemit.com/travel/@lindabasilick/chapter-8-the-first-day-i-felt-like-i-belonged-in-a-foreign-country

Chapter 9---Costa Rica..An Adventure in Sightseeing
https://steemit.com/travel/@lindabasilick/chapter-9-costa-rica-an-adventure-in-sightseeing

Chapter 10----A wonderful retreat in Costa Rica. Rio Chirripo Retreat & Hotel. Magnificent!
https://steemit.com/travel/@lindabasilick/chapter-10-a-wonderful-retreat-in-costa-rica-rio-chirripo-retreat-and-hotel-magnificent

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Wow...@lindabasilick...

Thank-you so much for this post! It seems you've written another great chapter to your Kindle (KDP) e-book.

LOL...go to” chocolate; if I’m happy “go to” orange creams; if I’m sad “go to” orange creams.

This is one of those posts, where vicariously I have had an opportunity to experience something new: a private chocolate-making lesson. I'll bet these trumped Godivas.

Again, many thanks!

Btw, it's always fascinating to see how through the years, a married couple appears to take on a melding of sorts, where if you were to pick their spouse in a room, it would be easy because they have a unique likeness of sorts in features. Now, if you tell me the gent is a total stranger...lol...my theory becomes unfounded.

Again, thanks so much.

Peace!

oh @spiritalmatters you have done that thing you do so well...made me feel warm , fuzzy and valued. I hope you understand how deeply your kind words are received. I have to admit I do think about your encouragement to publish that e-book. See how you may have changed my life!
Roger is my husband of 41 years...so I guess we can take him out of the "total stranger" category LOL. You are the first to "see" our "melding". Since he is one of the kindest people I know, that indeed is a high compliment. Thank you again for you meaningful words! Peace

Awwww....You, too have the God-gift of transference of emotion in writing. :+)

Journeying with the same someone for 41 years probably makes you quite the marriage mentor...What a mega blessing!

No worries, you will know when it's time to upload the e-book.

Peace.

Thank you for sharing those awesome experiences.

I think you should do two pictures​ in a block, three look a bit strange because they are not in the same row. Also you can utilize <div class="pull-right"> or <div class="pull-left"> tags to place picture at certain areas of the blog.

This is just a suggestion.

Loved your post. Thanks

Thank you so much for those helpful hints. I did not know that. I need to do some research on formatting my posts. You are so kind. I appreciate your kindness

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33