Field trip to Lousã Mountains [Portugal] - Part 2 - Lunch at Burgo's restaurant [Lousã Castle]

in #travel7 years ago

After a wonderful morning here we went to lunch at a regional restaurant, named Burgo. I've been there before (at work) and I know it would be a great experience again!

DSC_5449.JPG

I had to make a reservation in the morning to assure I had a table, but I almost lost it! We got lost in the way (GPS fooled us) and we arrived late. Fortunately, the owner had a plan B and it worked even better, he sat us on a (very) small table for 2, close to the window so we could enjoy the view.

From where I was sitting I could see...

the castle

DSC_5452.JPG

the river below

DSC_5451.JPG

and the river beach

Yeah, that's right, in Summer we can come along and take a fresh bath in the river!
DSC_5453.JPG

Luckily​ we hadn't to wait for the food, as they brought these amazing appetizers​
DSC_5456.JPG
(from the back to the front: chicken salad; 'peixinhos da horta' (fried green beans); broad beans; grain salad; chorizo and other smoked sausages; regional cheese; olives..and bread!)

This was too much for us both, we didn't finish it cause we wanted the main dish!!

We ordered Chanfana!!

It's a traditional goat stew, very typical in the schist villages, we definitely​ had to try it!!
DSC_5458.JPG

You know what? It was a hearty and tasty meal, served with green sprouts and potatoes!

DSC_5459.JPG

Washed down with local red wine and...

DSC_5462.JPG

followed by a honey and chestnut pudding and coffee.

DSC_5464.JPG

We had a lovely lunch!!


Considerations

  • It's an affordable restaurant (15-20€/person) and the quality is 09/10 (it should be closer to me)!
  • It's wonderful to hear​ the water stream!
  • The restaurant main door has a curtain made with cork stoppers! (Such a nice idea)
    FotorCreated.jpg
  • After lunch you can go for a slow walk and enjoy the views!
    DSC_5467_ed.jpg
    DSC_5471.JPG
    DSC_5476.JPG
    DSC_5492.JPG
    DSC_5504.JPG
    DSC_5505.JPG
    DSC_5521.JPG

On my next post ...

Field trip to Lousã Mountains [Portugal] - Part 3 - Acacia dealbata, a Sisyphus problem?

DSC_5565.JPG

Stay tuned!!


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

I feel like traveling with you :)

The best comment I would like to "hear"read" ;)

Eu nesse lugar com certeza iria tirar milhares de fotos :D

Eu tirei umas dezenas...ao fim de um pouco vês que é tudo igual/amarelo!! ;)

Não querendo tirar a magia do local, esta árvore amarela é uma grande invasora em Portugal, daí ter sentimentos mistos em relação a este sítio.

Much preferred the pics in this part 2 - the colours are much brighter than part 1! That restaurant looks stunning! What, no selfie at the end this time????

Sunlight helped too, in the morning was too cloudy!
No, no selfie this time or on the next time! I don't like that much.

Anything about ISO 200 is a struggle for colour in my estimation. Yes, the weather is a big plus - that camera lens loves the light. It's quite strange to think of how a camera sees - it sees very differently than the human eye in the way it works. If you can grasp that, your photos will improve over time. I look forward to part #3 soon - and a selfie!! ;)

Guess it will be a matter of time because I'm still learning how to work with her!! Part 3 will have at least one video that I need to edit first. No selfie, I didn't take more selfies in this trip!

Even the old ones like @halo are coming back onto Steemit now the price is rising again!

Vids do really well on Steemit! You should seriously consider more. Your more video photogenic than me too! Ha ha!

Any girl will do great on Steemit!

Are many beautiful places .... Beautiful photos, thank you for sharing them.

Thank you! It's the same region (Lousã Mountains). I have a mix feeling in this place, but I understand why it can be considered beautiful!! I will explain it better on my next post 'Field trip to Lousã Mountains [Portugal] - Part 3'in a couple of days! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11