Field trip to Lousã Mountains [Portugal] - Part 1 - Schist villages of Lousã [Gondramaz]

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

'Hidden between mountain slopes of leafy vegetation, the schist villages are one of our best-kept secrets.' [1]

They're called schist villages because this is the stone used in the construction of houses and for paving the narrow winding streets, which is abundant in the region.

Gondramaz village

DSC_5330_ed.jpg

Until relatively recently, the villages had been abandoned as the younger inhabitants migrated to towns with job prospects and the elderly population gradually passed away.

Nestled in the hills of central Portugal, you'll find a magical world, where times passes more slowly

Much of their charm is in the pure nature that you can discover on foot following the "Schist path"!

The 27 tiny villages, scattered across the Lousã and Açor ranges with cottages made of rust-coloured slate, are part of a project of sustainable regional development led by ADXTUR in partnership with 21 municipalities of the Centre of Portugal and more than 100 private operators.

As the main objectives of the Schist Villages Network are the preservation and promotion of the cultural landscape of the territory and the enhancement of the architectural heritage, many of the little houses have been carefully restored and rebuilt using traditional methods and materials.
Traditional arts and crafts have being renewed and promoted too.

Gondramaz

I went on a 1-day field trip to Lousã Mountains to visit some schist villages and more...

But for now, I'll share some photos and impressions of Gondramaz schist village.

When reaching the village it's possible to see fruit trees

DSC_5325.JPG

...oak trees (my favorites) or chestnut trees!

DSC_5326.JPG

Schist villages looks like this

DSC_5335.JPG

Beco' means alley and 'Tintol' is a portuguese jargon for red wine.

I went through the alley but didn't find any wine ;)
DSC_5344.JPG

DSC_5353.JPG

DSC_5371.JPG

DSC_5378.JPG

DSC_5393.JPG

and some particularities...

onions and bay leafs on the front door! (Why? I've no idea...)
DSC_5389.JPG

Umbilicus rupestris (penny-pies, wall pennywort, or in portuguese 'umbigo-de-vénus') on the rocky walls.

DSC_5357.JPG

The local chapel...

DSC_5364.JPG

The ancient 'washing machine'...

pjimage (2).jpg

and very narrow streets!!

pjimage (3).jpg
(It's not my best photo, but I wanted to catch my mother on the back without being noticed!)

Some art crafts (cool, aren't they?!)

DSC_5340.JPG

DSC_5342.JPG

pjimage.jpg

This must be the house of the craftsman!

DSC_5354.JPG

Unfortunately, it was closed, but at least I found a real cat in the village!

DSC_5356.JPG

Gondramaz surroundings

DSC_5380.JPG

The portuguese kale is now giving green sprouts, which are also great to eat!

DSC_5382.JPG

Plum tree flowers, so beautiful!

DSC_5352.JPG

DSC_5350.JPG

DSC_5383.JPG

The various shades of this rock mingle seamlessly into the colors of the natural landscape, and it is not always easy to distinguish them. But it’s worth a try.

DSC_5384.JPG

Can you see the small yellow spot?? Well, it's an invasive plant, Acacia dealbata. I'll write about it on my 'Field trip to Lousã Mountains [Portugal] - Part 3' post! (Stay tuned!)

DSC_5386.JPG

DSC_5405.JPG

DSC_5410.JPG

In the end of our visiting the sun was shining!

DSC_5406.JPG

What a great morning!!

On my next post ...

Field trip to Lousã Mountains [Portugal] - Part 2 - Lunch at Burgo's restaurant [Lousã Castle]

DSC_5449.JPG

Stay tuned​​!!


Sources:

[1] - www.visitportugal.com

[2] - www.centerofportugal.com

[3] - Aldeias do xisto


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Hello @liliana.duarte,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Great, feelin' honored! :)
Thanks!!

I'm from Coimbra :) Congratulations

Sou de Coimbra :) Parabens

@liliana.duarte holy moly!
I almost missed your tour!
Thanks a lot for sharing these wow pics!
Ancient washing machine eh? We had such in Asia - they rub the clothes with a net on a wood though not a beton

This tour isn't finished yet, I'll be posting part 2 very soon! Probably in the morning, now I'm sleepy! This ancient machine is an "artistic representation". This photo shows how old "washing machines" were built. They're not used anymore, that's why it is so neglected!

so beautiful pics and wonderful places!!! Thanks for share ^_^

You're so welcomed!! I'll show more photos of this field trip asap! :)

Very beautiful photos!

Thank you so much!! :)

Yaa, lá para trás era um pátio privado com uma valente mesa e churrasqueira. Eles é que a sabem!! :)

A monster post of pics! I do know my schists as I did geology for 2 years at university. A great post worthy of many $'s. Excellent work Lily :)

Yes...now that you mentioned, I probably went too far with the number of pictures!! I promise I'll behave on Field trip to Lousã Mountains [Portugal] - Part 2!! Thanks, I enjoyed sharing​ this photos & impressions:) You have schist in the UK too?

99% of the Highlands of Scotland are schist, but they are 300km North of me.
Don't worry - you can never have too many photos on Steemit :))

What a wonderful hidden gem on earth and your story felt like I am on this journey with you.

Oh, thank you so much! It was my intent to bring steemian fellows with me in this trip, glad you enjoyed it!! I have more to share...just need another 2 hours free to post it! :)

Great trip! Awesome place. Very nice photos as usual.

Great trip..but you'll rather like my next post. I can bet 5 steems on that!! ;)

Fantastic place! Great photo..thanks @liliana.duarte

Oh, so nice of you! Glad you liked it too :) These were taken with my Nikon D3300, your camera 'sister' ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64019.81
ETH 2644.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84