You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walk.with.me #3: Want to see the world's largest collection of old windmills? Go to Kinderdijk!

in #travel7 years ago

I love windmills! I read an in-depth article a few years ago about Dutch windmills completely changing the landscape of the Netherlands to create usable land. I had no idea of their importance until then. The pictures you took are fantastic. I want to take a ride in the basket on the water!

Sort:  

Without the windmills, about 40% of the Netherlands would be submerged in flood water. The world really is a better place thanks to these windmills!! Holland is a really innovative country. As of the Global Innovation Index 2016 poll, they were ranked #9 in the Top 10 Most Innovative Countries. Other countries that made it to that list that hit close to our hearts are #4 the US (your motherland), #6 Singapore (my motherland), and #10 Germany (the country I live in right now). :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56905.43
ETH 2398.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26